We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chalets are great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champagne Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Champagne Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Champagne Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Photo Competition
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Auckland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The chalets are great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed in the self-catering chalets. These are large 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom units. Well stocked with items to look after yourself. Views are fantastic. Great walks locally. A very pleasant spot overall. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
74
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed in one of the self-catering chalets, which was beautifully done out, but with a few really obvious cock-ups, like really poor lighting in the main living room and a very inadequate set of kitchen utensils. However, our overall impression of the chalet was very positive.

For any foreign visitors, you really, really should add the Drakensberg to your Cape Town & Kruger itinerary and I think it is certainly much better than the Garden Route. This area is UNESCO World Heritage for a good reason.

Unlike some other reviewers, we thought the buffet in the main hotel was actually rather nice, so maybe the management have got the point, although the table waiting was admittedly very perfunctory.

The views are simply amazing - when you can see them! We didn't realise that November was after the start of the rainy season and on some days were surprisingly cold for summer and couldn't see any mountains at all. But when the clouds cleared, the views were absolutely wonderful (and it was hot). Apparently April and May are the best times because there is still daytime warmth but the rain has stopped. The self-guided walk we did was really easy to follow and a real highlight and the birdlife and plantlife was really good.

In spite of what sounds like a few disappointments, we managed to have 5 wonderful days, with one of the highlights in the area the guided Bushman painting walks ("King Steve", ask at information) and the nearby zip slides. The boys' choir performance was rather turgid in the first half but the second half (African) was electrifying and world-class entertainment.

A good tip for better value out of the December/April holidays is to call up a just few days beforehand and negotiate them down as there is plenty of capacity. We compared it with the nearby Drakensberg Sun, which we thought looked better and which arguably has a better location, but they were quite a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The location is lovely with the main restaurant, deck and pool looking over Champagne Castle and surrounding mountain peaks. Get a room with a mountain view: it is truly rewarding in the mornings. The included buffets are large and not particularly spectacular but certainly very filling. Breakfast is not bad. The hotel has guides for walks and hikes which is very useful. They also have a spa and massage centre which I never used but my mother seemed quite happy with. Also, the grounds are enormous so you never feel particularly crowded in, even during the busy season.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I made a mistake on the booking, which the reception staff sorted out very quickly on our arrival. We were taken to our room, which was great. While we were there we went on a guided walk and one by ourselves, both of which were fabulous. We also went horse riding - very entertaining and the views were spectacular. You MUST book a massage, they were brilliant, but they have very limited availability. The real let down of the hotel is the terrible food. You can do buffet well, Champagne Castle doesn't. The whole food experience is a disaster, from room service - wait 30 mins for cold toasted sandwiches with a side of cold chips, to the dubious food on the buffet - dishes that you have not seen for years and a deep love affair with synthetic "cream", to the surly waiters. It is like entering a poorly run timewarp. We complained to the manager - he acknowledged the problem, made lots of excuses and I suspect if we went back in a year, the same problems would exist. This is not a cheap hotel and frankly I would expect better. My advise - go self catering.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Between high mountains in a very nice valley.
Optimal as a start point for hiking.
The great view to the champagne rocks are seeable at every location on the hotel area. Nicely and testy restaurant with good service. The price is for South African relations expensive but for European OK.
The rooms are clean and have enough space.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

champagne Castle is a quaint and peaceful hotel with the most amazing views of the Drakensberg Mountain. We had a lovely stay there. The room was nice and spacious and comfortable and we had lovely views from it. There was lots of amazing hiking around the area and we went horse riding through the mountains which I would thoroughly recommend. The restaurant is nice and the accommodation includes all meals. So there was plenty of food and we felt like stuffed pigs by the end of the stay! The food was very good though and consisted a large buffet for all meals. The hotel was very quiet. I would recommend it for people looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway, however if you are after a lively nightlife this is not the place for you. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I recently spent my birthday at Champagne Castle Hotel as a treat from my wife. We felt immediately at home when we arrived and were offered lunch even though we were allmost at the end of the serving session. We had a ice cold bubbly with our lunch and were then showed to our rooms. The complimentory choclates were a treat with the birthday wish card. We enjoyed our stay tremendiously and the food was magic. I was even offered the recipe for the oxtail stew after I complemented the chef for a magic dish. The rooms are very spacious and we had a magic view of the mountains. What impressed us is that all the guest are relaxed and chatted amongst each other as if they were old friends.
Thank you again for a lovely weekend and we will for sure be back.
Regards
Abel & Tish Mayburgh

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champagne Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.