We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous stay in mountain facing Chalets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champagne Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Champagne Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Champagne Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Photo Competition
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous stay in mountain facing Chalets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A beautiful stay. lived in mntain facing chalets.very clean. breakfast gr8[were worried after reading online reviews] chefs on hand to advise and assist. Facilities marvelous and child frendly. The therapist in the Health center outdid herself. a super massage.

Room Tip: mountain facing- views spectacular even at night.even through the clouds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
74
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Champagne Castle and had an amazing time. The hotel is stunning and situated at the foot of the Drakensberg Mountains. There are many hiking trails that are right out the doorstep of the hotel. We stayed in the fully catered section of the hotel and that was fantastic. The food was delicious and we loved the convenience of it. If you notify them the night before, they will make a pack lunch for you to eat on a long hike. Wonderful! The grounds are beautifully kept, and we had fun sitting by the pool and playing badminton. We will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of 5 spent a lovely 4 nights at Champagne Castle in one of the Chalets. These are tremendous value for money, really large living area, very adequate kitchen, two excellent bedrooms opening onto the lawns and an upstairs attic room which our boys loved.

The hotel has maintained it's old style charm and yet is still very well maintained and the grounds are kept in great condition. The buffet restaurant is good and the staff were very friendly and attentive to us especially when we had a massive storm and complete loss of electricity during dinner one night.

The majestic Drakensburg is clearly the reason for coming and the hotel is perfectly located for many really world lass hikes right from your doorstep. We also were impressed with the trout dams and caught a couple on each of the three days we fished. There are a lot of good local options for outings for he kids which we enjoyed especially the raptor display and of course the excellent Drakensburg Boys Choir, truly worth making an effort to get to.

Perhaps some of he other reviewers came with different expectations, but for us it was a very memorable family holiday which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is situated very well at the foot of the mountain -- the views are amazing.

We stayed in a chalet that was self catering and that sleeps 6. It was good value, clean (apart from the flies which I am sure they are going to address) and pretty well appointed. One can choose to have meals at the dining room too which is buffet style, very 80's, but the staff were very accommodating with regard to dietary requirements (thanks).

The gardens are well maintained (apart from the area around the tennis court which needs some work) and the staff are reasonably friendly.

Guided walks/hikes are excellent.

The mini farm that includes rabbits, sheep, chickens and horses are a great idea, especially for kids. Horse riding is available at an extra cost. It was too cold to swim, but the pool looked enticing. There are two golf courses down the road, none in house.

If you are after a relaxing holiday with stunning views, I would recommend this place. Its kind of old fashioned, but I think this is probably to its benefit. A few issues, at minimal cost, need addressing which could move this from a 4 to a 5 star place.

I would go back.

Room Tip: Chalets are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went here expecting a reasonable meal. Boy were we wrong. The setup was a buffet style(which is typically fraught with perils)

All the hot meals (meat and veggies) were cold, and way overcooked. The salads were soggy and the desserts were inedible.
The final coup de grace was the cheese board with, clearly cheese past its maturity(even the blue cheese) with little flies all over it

The only good thing on the menu was reasonably freshly baked bread.

For the money this was an expensive meal in SA as well.
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

how lucky we are to find this place...the scenery was breathtaking...i took so many pictures...the food was excellent - it was buffet style - and the service outstanding...we took a guided walk through a nearby forest and saw a San painting on one of the rocks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location is stunning, fantastic views of the mountains from some of the rooms but also from the bar and the pool.

I would give mixed marks to the staff at the reception. Some were helpful and gave clear and precise information. Others just rattled down sentences that they appear to have learned off by heart. The hotel has shop with souvenirs and other basics that you might need (painkiller, sunblocker, mosquito repellant etc.). They also sell stamps.

Our room was in block three (first floor) and had lovely view from the balcony. The room was large with a comfortable bed, a couple of chairs, a TV that you could only really watch from one side of the bed :-), a hairdryer with a cable that was too short, no mini-bar (something I found particularly strange). The same-day laundry service was appreciated but I the clothes didn't always smell freshly washed. I find it ridiculous that they only was clothes at 60 degrees cent. This made it impossible for us to get most of our things cleaned. There is some complimentary sherry in the room but why did they bother to replace the glasses if they weren't going to refill it?

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are a buffet affair (though you can also also for packed lunch). The food was fine. The grilled food, the salads and the deserts were the highlights. The vegetables, pastas and other items from the self-service section were more mixed. Drinks service during the meals was fairly slow. I also found it slightly annoying that they want you to sign the cheque after every order even if you are eating. Apart from that there is a good selection of drinks.

The guided walks were good. Try and go with Wonderboy. He is a fantastic guide. It is a pity that the hotel does not have information about other walks. They hand you a basic map with walks that you can start from the hotel but there is so much more in the area.

The Drakensberg Boys Choir School is close by. Try and go to their Wednesday afternoon concert. It is awesome.

The place has a lot of potential. Rather than making up silly rules (i.e. collared shirt for dinner) it should focus on getting a few of the details rights: helpfull staff at the front desk, refill tea/coffee in rooms every day, knock on the room door before going in, making sure all staff know the difference between red wine and white wine (this was quite amusing), making sure the plates at the buffet are clean.

One thing I did not understand is they the hotel needs to keep so many birds captive. They did not look happy in that very small cage.

It was a nice stay but I would probably try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champagne Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.