We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Awesomeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakensberg Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Drakensberg Sun Resort to your Saves list
Drakensberg Sun Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R600 Central Drakensberg | Cathkin Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Total Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I must say that this resort is one of the best. It's excellent whether you going to relax to feel the tranquility of the place or to go all out for an adventure as there are many activities to fulfill your desires.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    103
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
124
81
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I booked a "Superior" room with the idea that the room will give us a comfortable edge above a "Standards" room. I was very disappointed when I walked into the room and saw the small size of this room. I said to myself: "How small is a Standard" room then?". The finishes in the room is aged and the one cupboard door is basically falling from the hinges and does not close properly. Other than the small size, the fixtures seemed average and not of Superior quality. I feel I over-paid for the room and should have rather opted for a Standard room and saved some money.

The staff is very friendly and competent. The reception was warm and help was at hand with the luggage and getting us to our room.

The food is of high quality and every time we could indulge in delicacies to the point of over-indulgence. Well done to the restaurant and kitchen staff for efficient service and excellent food.

The lobby area is comfortable, but the smoke from the fire-places do tend to hang in the air. Maybe check the chimneys if they are extracting the smoke properly. The hotel needs some maintenance and touch-up here and there for the amount of money you pay to stay here. The face value is just not what it should be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My two girls aged 5 and 11 had a wonderful time and enjoyed all the activities which kept them busy and outdoors staff were great, the grounds were well amintained, wife and I have a great time too food was great, rooms were clean and neat

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel and resort situated in the Catkin Peak area of the Drakensburg. It's great service coupled with the superb ambiance of a mountain resort was an excellent place for a weekend getaway. It caters for couples and families alike.
It's quaint Eco spa also assists in relaxing its guests whilst rejuvenating you.
Well worth the recomendation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

1. there is no lift in the resort. I have a slipped disc and struggled up 3 flights of stairs more than 5 times a day
2. the walls between rooms are thin and besides hearing everything that our neighbours discussed, they could hear us and complained to the reception
3. the shower was so small and cramped that I could not move and almost fell out of the shower twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed every moment!!Staff were great!! Grounds beautiful !!! Food was great!!! Loved the boat trip,surrounding area etc.Loved the snow and we do feel very BLESSED !!

Will definitely go again!! Thanks !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was not impressed with the attitude of the reception staff including management. One of the Food & Beverage Managers asked if we were guests at the hotel when we went down to dine and it surely wasn't in a "nice" way. As a guest of the hotel that statement of his didn't go down to well with me. This is one of the many problems we encountered with the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600 Central Drakensberg | Cathkin Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakensberg Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.