We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella d'Italia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stella d'Italia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella d'Italia
Piazza Roma 1, 22010 San Mamete Valsolda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We were shown a room next to someone's balcony. We asked for a room with a bit more privacy and were told, even though we had booked and paid in advance, that this was the room and if you don't like it you can leave. We have never experienced anything like this in our extensive travels. There is no car parking, it is left in the piazza, and will tell anyone who is interested not to book into this hotel. They refused to refund our money even though we never used the room.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smamete, Proprietario at Hotel Stella d'Italia, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Vernon,
We are surprised to read your review one year after your arrival to our hotel.
Anyway, we would like to explain to other readers some of your observations.
Hotel Stella d’Italia has 31 lakeside rooms and 27 balconies.
Looking at a hotel picture you can see how rooms and balconies are displayed.
You may have not noticed it, but the hotel disposes of a private garage with 17 spaces.
It is not hotel policy to charge room in advance and you had never prepaid for your stay.
You were charged of one night stay at the time you decided not to check in the superior room you had booked, as it was considered a late cancellation.
No other room option was given simply because hotel was fully booked.
Kind regards
HOTEL STELLA D'ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a bit of a rainy spell. We didn't have a chance to eat at the beautiful gardens or swim in the lake but you can tell how lovely that would be. The rooms are large with wonderful views of the lake and the common areas are very conformable. I have to say the food was just average for what I have had in italy. The breakfast was ok and dinner was average. The town is very small so plan on spending most of your time at the hotel. For me 2 nights would be enough. I would go back just for the views through.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms overlook the lake but I think I would choose a room high up just for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We planned to stay at this hotel for 2 days, but ended up staying 4. This place is truly paradise in every way. Our room overlooking Lake Lugano was lovely, the dock over the lake for hanging out and swimming was perfect, and the meals were terrific. This hotel has it all in a really classy and understated way. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Comfort room have air-conditioning if that is important to you. Internet is touch-and-go, but this p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely magical views and right on Lake Lugano. The owners are fourth or fifth generation Italians and were delightful -- making this friendly family run restaurant and hotel (full of old world charm) a real treat. We so enjoyed our breakfast out on their lovely, flower covered patio area right on the Lake. I just wished we had more time to sit in the sun on their waterfront dock and had been there one month later (June?) to see the roses in bloom that covered the entire length of the patio trellis. Gorgeous garden! We were on our way to Lake Como and only were able to stay one night here, but next time, we'll make this our destination spot for sightseeing in the area. I'm going to try to put some photos up on my life coaching web site www.findstrengthinaction.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights with my husband’s parents in early June. We were so impressed with the scenery! It really is right on the lake. And the patio area is (tastefully) covered with greenery and flowers. The lobby, lounge, bar, and dining room were spacious and nicely decorated. The decoration in the rooms was not much to speak of, and the double bed was just two separate singles pushed together, but the rooms themselves were decent size and clean. Our pack-n-play fit next to the bed just fine. The bathroom was spacious with lots of counter space and a shower/tub. Knowing we had a baby, they gave us a slightly larger room. Our parents’ room next door was the same setup, but about 2 feet shorter. The balcony was a couple chairs, a table, and an amazing view. We were on the second floor.

There was a bus stop nearby, and a boat picks up at the hotel once per day, but I would recommend having a car, as long as you don’t mind driving narrow, curvy roads. They had free parking. The hotel is a 20 minute drive from the town of Lugano, but there are small restaurants dotting the edge of the lake in both directions. We also found a good pub across the street. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good, but pricey. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: The second floor view was great! The third floor might be even better, but probably not worth payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way down to Tuscany. The welcome was very friendly, we were invited to have lunch on the veranda overlooking the Lake and it was lovely. The room was excelent, yes a little dated but full of character and wonderful views over the Lake. Dinner was also superb and I couldn't fault anything. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

View from room and grounds is fabulous. Very serene. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Food quite decent. For the price, it is exceptional and I don't know where else in Lakes region you can be right ON the water like this. Rooms a bit spartan, but clean and nice. Free parking available too. Cannot recommend more highly. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Stella d'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella d'Italia

Address: Piazza Roma 1, 22010 San Mamete Valsolda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Como Province > San Mamete Valsolda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in San Mamete Valsolda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic hotel on the Italian shores of Lake Lugano belonging to the same family since 1910. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stella d'Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella D'Italia Italy/San Mamete Valsolda
Stella d Italia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella d'Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.