We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick trip to goldcoast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Palms Resort to your Saves list
Bay of Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coolgardie St, Elanora, Queensland 4221, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Feb / March 1brm Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
30
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Expected more!! Ground where poor need maintaining a lot better. Bathroom stunk had to shut the door just so it didn't stink the room out shower was crap!! Room wasnt very clean looking either. Did like the view of the lake and the fact there is a shopping centre close by but for a little extra I could have stayed in sufers paradise which is what I'll do in future I think..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you expected more. We are often praised for our gardens and grounds so your comment's about being poorly maintained comes as a surprise. Had you mentioned the problem with the shower or the the appearance of the room we would have attended to this straight away. We find most issues can be rectified straight away if they are brought to our attention. Once again thank you for your feedback good and bad it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bay of Palms is excellent value for money. We stayed here for 12 nights and paid less than what we're used to paying at shabby backpacker hostels and we got a very nice bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. The pool is nice and there was a TV with a DVD-player in the room as well as a stove-top, mini-fridge and a microwave. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Pines shopping centre is just next-door.

The only thing that would make our stay better would have been if the room had been isolated a little bit more. At two nights during our stay someone lived in the room next-door and I could literally hear them burping and farting through the adjacent door which I guess is there to make the rooms more flexible if you booked for a larger family or something? But for the most part this wasn't an issue as I'm sure the staff tried their best to book people away from each other.

All in all, excellent value. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to see if you can get a room that doesn't have a door that leads into an adjacent room as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Bay of Palms and although your home is a long way from the Gold Coast we hope to see you back next time your in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Where do I begin!! My boyfriend and I loved this place!!
We were extremely happy with the rate, the staff were VERY helpful through the whole booking process and stay. We had NO trouble with our room, the stairs did suck at the end of a long day at the theme parks but there's no reason to complain about them! The room was comfortable, not the hugest room but we didn't plan on being there all day, everyday, we had theme parks, zorbing and numerous other activities to do during the days.
It was great they had bbqs for people to use (we didn't, but we were on holidays, we didn't feel like cooking!!). The vending machines were GREAT to have nearby when we got hungry late at night. The bar came in handy, was SOOOO relaxing getting a drink and sitting by the pool. Loved that this place was literally right next door to the Pines Shopping Centre, we got to know the subway girls very well, we went in there everyday! The Coles in there shut earlier than we're used to but as long as you know, it's ok.
The only down side about the resort (apart from leaving) was the joining room. It didn't bother us having a joining room but it was the people in the next room that annoyed us, 6am and the fella was coughing his lungs up every morning, it was horrible to hear. The only other down side was a run in with a rude family with a VERY foul mouthed 10 year old son but that was on the last day and we weren't going to let them ruin our day!! Be careful with the dryer in the laundry, it shrunk a couple of our things but oh well!
Overall, we loved this place and can't wait to come back. Loved that this resort was close to so many attractions we were going to!!
Thank you for your hospitality, we will be back!

Room Tip: Joining rooms can get noisy, so if you don't like hearing someone's phone conversation, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feed back. We appreciate both your positive and the small negative aspects. Unfortunately all rooms have an interconnecting door - this is a great advantage over the school holidays when most rooms are used as a 2 bedroom apartment however it can have its down side when the rooms are used as a 1 bedroom apartment and a studio room. In quiet time's we try to ensure bookings are spread out to eliminate the chance of getting noisy neighbor's - once again we hope and trust our guests keep others in mind when they are early risers or night owl's. Thank you once again for your feed back we look forward to seeing you both back at Bay of Palms in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only wanted a budget accommodation for 2 nights and the reviews seemed to be okay for this place.
Unfortunately, we were very disappointed by the poor quality of EVERYTHING at this "resort".
Starting from the room which doesn't have aircon (few rooms have it and you have to pay extra), the pool was dirty and some people were not only drinking in there, but also smoking... and I was 32 weeks pregnant at the time, thank you!
All in all a bad experience also because the bathroom was terribly old and not well maintained. We also found hair on the floor and on the sheets...
For the price we paid, it was certainly not worthy!
Hope this helps...

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee to get aircon in your room! Request a ground floor room if you have mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. As advertised we are a 3 1/2 star budget Resort, we do offer air conditioned rooms and Deluxe / Executive rooms on request, had this been requested at the time of your booking or on arrival this could have been made available to you. The Deluxe rooms have been fully refurbished, unlike our standard rooms however they are around $5 - $10 per night more expensive. All linen is supplied and cleaned by a commercial laundry should you have not been happy with the cleaning of the linen this could have been rectified straight away.. In regard to guests smoking in the pool area, we do advise guests on arrival of our smoking area's however without being advised of some one breaking the rules we are unable to be on watch all the time. Our pool and spa is cleaned and tested daily to council regulated standard's however with so many people in the pool area over this time of the year we spend a large amount of our time keeping check on papers and rubbished left behind from other guest. I am sorry you find drinking by the pool offensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batemans bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Value at convienient location,safe/friendly,very clean,great staff,easy access,close to shops and petrol station.Not 5* but great value for money.Cant think of more to say so just using upn characters to comply with the stupid ( minimum 200 character rule)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review - we look forward to seeing you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visiting rellies on our Gold Coast holiday, we needed a spot nearby to stay for a couple of nights. Bay of Palms was conveniently located for our purposes, both close to family and right near the Pines shopping centre (walking distance, great for grabbing groceries or a quick takeaway coffee). Rates were reasonable for the holiday peak travel, our room was large, and the mini fridge was a big help. Everything was clean when we arrived, washing up detergent and cloths for kitchenette were supplied; we were missing a bathmat but the folks at the front desk fixed us up as soon as we mentioned it. Overall the room itself was well suited for our needs. Parking is available onsite, open not covered. The pool and barbecue areas looked great, although we didn't have time to try them out. We did go for a stroll around the lake that is just out back- beautiful views, nice walking track around, highly recommend it if you've got time. I believe the Bay of Palms offers canoes for hire as well, wish we'd had time to give them a try. It's only a short drive to Palm Beach which is fantastic, soft white sand, fairly gentle surf, definitely worth the trip!

There were a couple of downsides to our stay though. The bed was on wheels on tile floor so if one of us got up or laid down again while the other was sitting against the back, the whole bed shifted away from the wall (not as noticeable when you're laying down). Also the bed itself was a little uncomfortable for me. Our biggest issue however was that our room had a shared door with the room next door. And our neighbors were NOT quiet, particularly late at night and early in the morning. While I obviously wouldn't hold Bay of Palms responsible for the people in that room choosing 10pm until well after midnight both nights to have top-volume conversation or a screaming baby that was up late and woke us at 6:30am both mornings, I do think that they should look into better sound-proofing for those rooms with shared doors. Also we could see their light shining through around the door and made our ceiling lights appear to glow even when turned off, very disconcerting til we realised it was because their lights were still on. To be fair, since the noise issues occurred very late each night (and we gave our neighbors the benefit of the doubt after night #1), we did not complain to the owners about the noise next door so I can't say what they may or may not have done to rectify the situation. However the resort was full when we were there so it's not as though we could've simply been moved. But the lack of sleep was certainly an issue for me so you may want to consider asking for a room without a shared door even if it means paying a bit more rather than risk noisy neighbors- well worth it in my opinion!

Bottom line: decent place, good location, friendly owners, ask for a room that doesn't share a door!

Room Tip: Request a room that does not share an adjoining door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review - I am sorry to hear about your noise problem. We have made every attempt to sound prof the rooms as much as possible however this becomes very hard when they are also used as 2 bedroom apartments over the school holiday periods and these door are opened up for family's. We hope this will not stop you returning to the Bay of Palms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Palms Resort

Address: Coolgardie St, Elanora, Queensland 4221, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Elanora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay of Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Palms Hotel
Bay Of Palms Resort Gold Coast/Elanora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.