We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean Front View!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selana Suites

Save Saved
You added Selana Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selana Suites
Chrisopigi 84003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Chrisopigi B&B and Inns
San Diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean Front View!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not sure where to start... pictures don't do it justice... Upon your arrival (20min from the port) you see the beautiful view from the cliffs... then you arrive and get escorted to your room by the friendly staff. The rooms are spotless clean, with nice bathrooms and nice white contemporary decor. We had room #8 which is a nice big room with a couch area and a nice big bathroom with tub, on the lower floor which opens out to the pool area. Room #4 above us is one of their smaller rooms, no couch area, small bathroom with no tub, but it has a private balcony. Breakfast is more than a continental but not a huge buffet. You have a beach minutes away by foot or drive 5 minutes to Platys Gyalos, Apollonia is 15 minutes, Kastro is 20minutes. I guarantee you won't be dissapointed!!

Room Tip: Request room Number #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

In June we (Greek/Scottish Couple) spent 5 memorable nights in Selana Suites which was perfect retreat from the minute we arrived. We booked through Thesaurus Travel (Jana) who organised everything and couldn't be more helpful, I would recommend using them as they are fantastic. Selana suites is family run and you are taken care of the minute you arrive to the minute you leave and if you are like us you won't want to leave! The accommodation itself is tranquil and offers the most beautiful Aegean sea views and overlooking the small church at Chrisopigi. A short walk takes you to the beaches (there are a number of them close by) and there is also a great taverna beside the sandy beach. We hired a car to see the Island which is worth doing but we loved the fact that you didn't need to go far as Selana and Chrisopigi is the perfect place to stay. The accommodation itself is of a very high quality offering a modern style which is immaculate and comfortable in tranquil surroundings. Irini and her family are really friendly and make sure your holiday experience is special and memorable attending to your every need. Breakfasts are plentiful where you can sample the lovely homemade spinach and cheese pies as well fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, pastries etc and you can enjoy breakfast with the beautiful views. We loved Sifnos and Selana Suites and will definately be coming back in the future as our holiday here was perfect at every level.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but if you budget allows go for Classic or above as you have a separate lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This July, I took my youngest son, aged 13, travelling around Greece for three weeks. Through a wonderful American website (http://www.greektravel.com/) I found a travel agent based in Sifnos (http://www.greecetravel.com/aegean/) who was a godsend. Jana helped me plan every detail of our trip. She was thorough, efficient, friendly and, best of all, had the local knowledge to shield us from time wasting delays as we travelled across the mainland and to several islands. Her recommendations were all valuable, but her very best decision was to book us into Selana Suites in Sifnos. It was heaven.

ON a hill overlooking the beautiful Church at Chrisopygi beach, Selana Suites is small, relaxed, comfortable and elegant in its simplicity. We were welcomed by Ireni and her brother Adonis, who manage everything except the kitchen, which is the province of Chirsula, the talented, warm and attentive matriarch of this family operation.

As a surprise to my youngest, my partner and two older sons planned to meet us on our second day in Sifnos so that we could enjoy a rare family holiday together. Ireni, Adonis and Chirsula were all in on the secret, and played along to ensure that Cole had the shock of his life when the guys finally arrived. Chirsula made a beautiful dinner for us. Organic local lamb, vegetables from her garden, everything freshly and perfectly prepared. It was wonderful. We could have stayed forever. They were the best hosts you can imagine.

I've been home for a day and I miss Irini's perfect Freddo Cappuccinos, I miss the gift of freshly picked figs that Ado would so kindly plop into our greedy hands as we sat by the pool. I miss Chirsula checking with us every so often to see if we could be tempted by one of her many homemade delicacies. I miss waking up to the perfect view of the endless blue Aegean, and swimming everyday on a different beautiful beach in the clearest and cleanest water I've ever seen. I miss the cacopheny of the night sky, so busy with stars. I miss the chance to hear Ado play his bouzoukia.....

I guess I'll just have to save my pennies and go back again some day.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with family, I think any of the rooms would be fine. But if you're loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently stayed at Selana Suites on Sifnos. I seriously recommend this family run business, that welcomes their guests in a warm hospitable way and is serious about making your stay unique. The resort is very clean and the rooms are decorated to a high standard with the emphasise being comfort. I was most impressed by the peace and quiet. An ideal place to relax and take in the wonderful views of the Aegean and the pretty Chrisopigi Church. A couple of good taverna's situated on the local sandy beach. The hotel offers a very plentiful breakfast including different types of sweet and savoury pastries, eggs, bacon, yogourt, fruit, juices a variety of different coffees and lots more. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be back when I get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited Sifnos for vacation this August and we decided to stay at Selana Suites for 5 days. This place is a dream. It is recently built, I think two years ago and the location is unique, probably one of the best sites in Cyclades islands. It is very close to the beach of Chrisopigi, one of the best in the island. We were looking for a place to relax as we have a very busy life and our choice to stay in Selana Suites was the most suitable. Everything in this place is in complete harmony with the character of the island, elegant, sophisticated. Our room although it was on the ground level, close to the swimming pool, had the quiteness we needed. It was very nicely decorated, with a minimal style, all white and modern. It was also very spacious and made of high quality materials. The bathroom was also very spacious with all details carefully selected. During night the place is like a planetarium, you can see millions of stars in the sky and you can hear the sounds from the sea. We were lucky to have a full moon in one of our nights and no words can describe this experience: the moon coming up just behind the monastery of Chrisopigi, rising from the sea. The view to the Aegean Sea from our balcony was magical. Breakfast was delicious and with a great variety, it was a pleasant surprice as it was much more than continetal breakfast which their category is serving. It really worthed getting up early to have breakfast and start our day. Many of the items served were home made by the owner Ms. Chrisoula, like the spinach pie and the cream pie is something not to miss. It is also worth mentioning that the owners are truly warm and caring, very happy to assist and make our vacation an amazing experience. We will definately return next year as the combination of Sifnos and Selana suites is a succesful one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in Selana Suites in July of this year. We have been coming to Sifnos for many years now and it is our favourite Greek island - we have visited many - and Chrisopigi is our favourite spot so we were delighted to find this lovely new hotel. It has spectacular views over the bay and the famous church on the rock and when the moon is full, it is especially magical. The hotel is family run by an old Sifniot family and they are passionate about their island and do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has been built in simple, tasteful style in keeping with the local vernacular architecture. There are a variety of different sized rooms, according to your budget but they all have lovely bathrooms, are kept spotlessly clean and all have a wonderful view. We stayed in the double rooms upstairs with its huge terrace and when we sat out the evening it was as if we had the place to ourselves. There is a small but nice pool with a great view over the sea which was a huge bonus for our kids but equally you can walk down to sea to swim in 4 minutes.

Breakfasts were excellent and plentiful and we also ate dinner a few times which was absolutely delicious and to be highly recommended - proper Greek home cooking and a good selection of wines. And we were always greatly entertained by our lovely hosts Chryssoula and Thanos, the owners of the hotel and the wonderful Irini, their daughter who who keeps everything running so smoothly.

We loved our stay there and we will definitely return next year. A very special place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

A unique view with the Chrisopigy Monastery and Faros on the backdrop of the Aegean,
you cannot describe the feeling that in brings especially at nigttime with the moon reflected on the sea.
The hotel is modern, very good quality, great Cycladic arhitecture, Santorini like, better in reality that on the internet site ( not common).
Good quality of service, we were a little concerned after reading one of the previous reviews but everything was perfect, the owners take good care of the guests, even if problems arise they fix them fast.We had a problem with the air conditioning they took care of it when we were at the beach and plugged in a card in the main switch in order to cool the room properly in our absence.
Good breakfast, no way they are counting the croissants, the opposite, in fact they ask you if do not want more or to taste their delicious fruits from their own garden. The only minus should be more tables outside as it can get crowded and you cannot get seated if more gusts are coming at the same time.
The only downside is the road to get there by car, narrow, no visibility but as we were told, is a public one so the hotel cannot do smthng about it.
Many thanks for Mrs. Irini for her professional handling of the guests, fast and comprehensive replies and good advice about the island.
We definetely recommend and we ll tell our friends about this charming hotel on a very beautiful Cycladic island still unspoiled arhitecturally like others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selana Suites

Address: Chrisopigi 84003, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Sifnos > Chrisopigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chrisopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Selana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selana Hotel Sifnos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selana Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.