We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anema Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anema Residence to your Saves list
Anema Residence
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Vourvoulos Beach, Vourvoulos, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at Anema Residence and would recommend to anyone. The booking procedure was very easy and although I had reservations about paying a deposit to an overseas account it was fine, all very professional and reassuring. Maria was extremely helpful and answered my many queries before we set off. We were met at the airport and taken straight to the villa which is only a 15-20 minute drive. We arrived about 9.30pm and we had water, wine and fruit awaiting for us on arrival. Maria also made us a snack each as we were hungry which was so lovely of her.

I woke in the morning to a bright sunny day and was totally blown away at the beauty of the place, we were in Livas Villa which was just perfect for us, the sun deck is fabulous and very relaxing. i had slight reservations about privacy due to reading reviews, you will see an occasional gardener, maid etc but on the whole it was very quiet. the villas are in a secure gated community so there is no passing traffic and Maria's children were absolutely fine, no noise from them and very polite. Breakfast was buffet style in a communal room, it consisted of cereals, freshly baked bread, cheese, meats, Greek yogurt, honey and you can choose to have freshly made omelettes, bacon or eggs if you wish. There was a daily local dish too which was a lovely change, my favorite was spinach and feta filo pie - a real treat for breakfast!

You get a hire car as part of the booking which was there when we arrived, each villa also has parking space so it is very easy. We spent 40 Euros on petrol and that lasted a full week of touring every inch of the island. The roads are pretty easy to navigate although a little scary at times! All the car parks on the island are free so it really proved to be a cost effective way of getting around.

We swapped villas half way through due to our late booking so moved to Levante. This villa was just as lovely and they were very relaxed about us moving over at our own pace.

The villas all have BBQ areas, coal and firelighters are supplied and replenished each day. we had 3 BBQ evenings, meat and fish are easy to buy and very cheap so it helped to budget and was very relaxing sat on the terrace with the lanterns lit.

Location wise the villa is literally a 5 minute drive from Fira. We asked for taxis on 2 nights so we could go out for a drink and were offered a lift on both occasions. Taxis back are 9 euros. you can reach any point of the island within 30 minutes it really is quite small but there is lots to explore.

As sunset is on the Caldera side we decided to wake up for sunrise and we had a direct view from our villa it really was worth getting up for so peaceful. Sunset was around 8.15pm so there was never a rush to get in and changed and get to Fira or Oia.

The weather in may is warm but not hot hot. It was averaging out mid 20s, when the wind stopped it felt very hot. we had one very windy day and one raining day, you will also need a jacket for evenings if coming in may as the Caldera is so high up it gets a little chilly.

All in all we had a very relaxing, calm, stress free week. Nothing is too much trouble for Maria she really is a lovely host, has very good advice about where to go and what to see and made us feel very welcome. We will be going back, its just a matter of how soon!

Room Tip: We saw all villas and all were equally beautiful. As a couple, Livas was our personal favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at Anema for a family wedding and having read the numerous positive reviews and seen the wonderful photos had very high hopes! We were not disappointed

As we were quite a large group we hired all five villas, each was beautiful, well appointed and with great sea views. The BBQ and outdoors area in the two larger villas in particular were great for gatherings.

The hospitality was first class, we are lucky enough to have travelled a bit and have never had such a positive experience, from providing our little boy with dinner on the first day to the beautiful breakfast and endless advice, always done with a smile, made it really feel like home from home.

The only slight caution is that the villas are a little remote, which does have the benefit of being away from everything but does mean you are around 10 minute drive to Fira, bit further to Oia. This was not a problem for us as cars were included and we had enough people happy to drive.

As for the wedding, again as you would expect could not have asked for any more.

A truly all round great experience and would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Before booking our week-long stay at Anema Residence we spent a long time reading reviews of various hotels and villas on the island of Santorini and this small collection of beautifully designed villas stood out strongly. Upon arriving late at night (having been collected from the airport despite our flight being 45mins late), we were stunned and delighted to find our villa looking just as beautiful as it had done in the publicity. In fact, it was even bigger than the photographs had portrayed, a bright, expansive and extremely well furnished apartment with its own deck and pool, dining area and barbequeue.

Due to the late flight arrival we completely overslept the next morning and having rushed down to the lovely and quaint breakfast area I found the co-owner Maria with a glowing smile telling me not to worry because we were on holiday and asking what she could do to help us get set up and what we wanted for breakfast. Our own hire car was delivered without any fuss - a perfect little getaround for the winding lanes on the island.

We hadn't aimed to spend our week sunbathing and being completely lazy but the villa - and its wonderful hosts - we so idyllic, peaceful and well-provisioned that we simply had everything we wanted. When we ran short on food or provisions, or wanted to visit the beautiful sights of the island, Maria was on hand to give us guidance and we simply jumped in our car parked alongside the villa.

This is a beautiful set of villas which are as perfect as they look and sound in the publicity. The price was definitely worth the experience. The location - on such a small island - was away from the bustle (which we wanted) and had an ocean view we loved. However, the most impressive thing about this location was the service and treatment you get - 5* in every way. Two examples: we wanted to have a night out in the bars of Fira, and upon asking how we could get bus/taxi to the town and back, Maria simply said that she'd drop us in town at 8pm. Perfect. When we mentioned that our flight time home had been moved back to midnight, Maria told us not worry about checking out on time and to relax (effectively an extra 1/2 day without question).

Santorini is a beautiful island and Anema Residence is the perfect place to stay, in every way, unless you want a postcard view of the Caldera (which is a 5min drive away), or you don't like tranquillity (which this location has in spades).

Perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Livas" villa which is ideal and spacious for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our 3rd visit to Anema and staying again in 'Livas' residence.
Nikos and Maria are quite exceptional, their friendship and care knows no boundries, their twin children Christos and Georgia are wonderful kids, always with a kind word and willing to converse with good English.
This year we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary, with much help from Maria and Nikos over the months leading to our visit to this magical place, for that we are deeply grateful to them.
Maria chose the Church for us, distributed our invites, and laid on a Grand BBQ the following day (2nd Oct) which was attended by all the guests. I have said it previously, but nothing is too much trouble for these (treat you as family) hosts. Needless to say we are returning in early September 2014. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Each Residence varies in size, but all are beautifully appointed, and each one with it's own po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Maria and her family are the perfect hosts. Villas are spotless and perfect for that getaway holiday. We left feeling totally relaxed and will definitely return. A bit away from the beaten track, but hey, who wants to be amongst the crowds of tourists and day trippers when you can have peace and tranquility. Having a hire car included gives you that bit of freedom too.Thank you Maria for a truly magnificent time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Anema is definitely the best hotel in whole Greece, we are honeymooners and tried different ones and this is why we recommend you to stay in it:
* Private pool, BBQ sets, amazing interior and exterior, extra-ordenary architect, clean rooms, kitchenette and a lot more this villa offers
* Romantic spot,
* big enough to have a bbq dinner with friends
* They give you a car for free the whole time of your staying
* Someone picks/drops you to your arrival/departure spot
* Internet speed is high
* 3 mins far from a simi-private beach
* 10 mins far from Thira City Center (where you shop, eat, club, dance....)
* Owner and staff are amazing, friendly and helpful, the owner even plans your trip, what to do and so on (:
The owner name is Maria, you will love her, she will help you with everything.
I would definitely come back next time to Anema

Room Tip: I picked Zephyros One-Bedroom, it's at the end of the villas and facing the sea, you will love i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just got back yesterday and miss it right now. The MOST AMAZING experience ever. Santorini is beautiful, but staying at Anema Residence was such a special experience. Very quiet and peaceful. Maria and her Husband Nikos were the best hosts felt more like family than a guest. It was for our 10 year anniversary and Maria made us a beautiful dinner on our patio with candles all over. Sunrise every morning from our bed, perfect pool, clear blue skies everyday. Poppy who cleans is wonderful so fresh and nice everyday when we got back from seeing the sights and she is so awesome. I am crying as I write this as it was so hard to leave such amazing people and such and amazing place. There are not enough words to say.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anema Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anema Residence

Address: Vourvoulos Beach, Vourvoulos, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Vourvoulos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vourvoulos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anema Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anema Residence of Santorini is a 6000 square meter property overlooking the Aegean Sea and stunning views of the islands of Anafi and Amorgos. Located in the Santorini countryside and surrounded by vineyards and farms, and only 300 meters from the black pebble beach of Vourvoulos. Its panoramic position offers views of the surrounding farms, fields and the sea, offering a true feeling of nature and serenity.On the 3000 square meters is located the house of the owners and 2 adjacent guest houses.On the remaining 3000 square meters is located a beautiful private villa, with 2 adjacent guest houses. This villa can be rented all together or separately. Each house has a separate entrance, private pool and parking.Anema Residence is a new unique private villa in Santorini in terms of size and style, perfect for couples or a group of friends looking for spacious areas, large gardens with fruit and olive trees, comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Anema Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anema Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.