We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Lino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Da Lino
Vilvoordelaan 42, Zaventem 1930, Belgium
02 7200108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 restaurants in Zaventem
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mexico City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After a unsuccessful first attempt, I tried some of the food and desserts from this restaurant and I have a great experience.

The menu is good but the food is great. Try the pizzas, pastas or even the desserts accompanied by a cup of coffee.

The menu is in French and Nederlands, but you can speak your way in English.

You should make a reservation on cold days since the place was packed the first time I tried.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    12
    28
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tervuren
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“One of the finest Italians in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times, the first time was some 10 years ago. I remember that the waiter recommended a very good (but expensive) wine and I never forgot that. Since 2011 I went back at least some 10 times, with my wife and kids and many times with customers. Never ever was I disappointed. It is not really cheap but there are very low budget options. Great wines too. Ideal for business lunches and an evening out with your partner for a lovely dinner. Reservations recommended.
On sunny days, book a table ahead or you will not find a spare table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we wanted to eat pizza, but on Saturday pizza is not available. So we opted for linguine with Astice (22.90 euros !). The linguine were overcooked, completly missing salt and full of water. The astice and the sauce had no taste at all. After expressing our disappointment
to the waiter, the only reaction received from him was : "ah!"

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you want to eat here, book in advance; the food is fabulous and the staff and ambience make it a fine dining experience. Looking forward to my next visit to try some different dishes! Highly recommended if you want a true taste of Italy in belgium.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Book ahead, since this is a great place for both pasta and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is not easy to get in to this restaurant without timely booking, because it is well visited by locals and business people. Fortunately, you can always come for a take-away pizza!
Parking is in a (rather busy) street, so can be a bit of a challenge.
Kids are welcome, as in most Italian restaurants.
The restaurant has two parts (even doors): pizza and the rest (where you can also have a pizza). We sat in the main restaurant, and were welcomed by the friendly owner.
Both pastas we tried were very good: a home made large ravioli with spinach and cheese topped by a heavely nut sauce (highy recommended), and the very small tortellini with ham and cream. Pasta prices were not cheap (16 euro on average), but worth it. The pizza was (of course!) very nice and tasty, for those who like thin crust.
We had an excellent wine from Sicily, recommended by the owner.
I will definitely come back here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Lino also viewed

Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Da Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Lino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.