We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A killer hotspot for diners with children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Mariadal

Chateau Mariadal
Kouterweg 2, Zaventem 1930, Belgium
02 7214208
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 64 Restaurants in Zaventem
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A killer hotspot for diners with children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Château Mariadal is a Zaventem landmark situated in the municipal park: for the past 60 years or so, it has housed a tavern/restaurant. In recent years, the current owners added a fancy veranda to the back of the ancient structure, offering a view on the park's children's playground. In addition to this, when weather permits, a large terrace adjacent to mentioned veranda allows for outdoor eating.

Most of the staff are settled; they've worked for the establishment for several years. Albeit somewhat boorish, the quality of the service is reasonably average.

The quality of the food is variable, from downright disappointing over acceptable to just above average. You'll make the better choice when you stick with the seasonal offers on the menu.

The place sometimes resembles a kindergarten: it is a hotspot for couples, young and old, with young to very young, sometimes insufferably unruly children. Avoid if you want to have a quiet, undisturbed meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    49
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Food fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

So is the service, but let me start by telling you about the food, the menu is unpretentious easy to read and to follow,, the staff are both helpful and knowledgeable the food is prepared to a high standard it is excellent in terms of taste and value, great atmosphere just one negative and that is the music just too loud and unfortunately not my taste, so beware if you decide to play music, then just keep it at background level, the chances are you will please more people and I guess that is part of the formulae, overall though this restaurant is good well worth a visit...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went here with my book club group. The food was good, wait staff very attentive. We wanted to sit out on the patio but weather did not permit it. Will come back when the sun is shining. Outside had a place for small children to play. Nice setting for parents with kids who want to relax and have a drink or meal in the summer heat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A restaurant in disguise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The restaurant is actually called a "brasserie" which could indicate a cosy, less pricy place where you can eat and drink.
Brasserie Mariadal however serves excellent food in a stylish way in a high quality environment. It is rather a more than average "restaurant" disguised in brasserie clothes. Also the prices are higher than what you would expect in a brasserie.
We were with five people and decided to go à la carte instead of taking the menu (54 € drinks included).
The choice of the starters was varied. Going from Italian carpaccio, to Spanish ham, to Flemish croquettes and even Japanese sashimi. Everyone enjoyed his/her starter.
The main courses were also of high quality except for the tuna which was overcooked and too salty.The wine card is extensive and "restaurant" priced! We took a good Brouilly for 29€ a bottle.
The desserts again were a delight. A chocolate pastry called "moelleux" was particulary appreciated. You cut through the pastry and a delicious melted chocate runs into your plate. Also the raspberry dessert was complimented by two people.
Overall an enjoyable, high quality dinner but highly priced.(277 € for 5 people).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Funny reading reviews how everyone's opinions vary and it is true that each experience is personal. I ate in a group of four and we had an enjoyable meal. We always try each other's dishes so had quite a varied tasting menu! All the food I tried was good and I particularly enjoyed the tartare clic-clac which is flash fried steak tartare. It is quite expensive and the service was pretty slapdash but I still had a good time and would try again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Mariadal also viewed

Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Chateau Mariadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Mariadal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.