We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nautica Blue

Save Saved
You added Nautica Blue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nautica Blue
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Box 85106 | Fanes Bay, Fanes, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fanes
Killie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hotel good but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had 7 days at Nautica Blue beginning of October. Had a room with private pool right on the shore line, away from the noise. Room furniture consisted of two large white leather armchairs and two small settees in lounge. Bedroom was huge as was the bed, ensuite large shower cabinet, toilet, two sinks and a jacuzi bath. Went through large french windows onto balcony, small settee and two chairs and table plus two sun loungers with matresses and the pool at the side of the building, about 10 feet by 30 feet, a metre and a half deep. Accomodation could not be faulted, no problems with hot water etc or any plumbing disasters.
Food..... lots of choices but mostly luke warm. Helped myself to soup from the large soup kettle, found it to be cold and the girl serving told me to put it in the microwave ! ! ! Lots of salad stuff and lots of local greek stuff.
Bar......... What can you say..... run out of most things about ten at night. Asked the barman if he could make me a Bloody Mary. Answer was yes and no. Yes he knew how to make one but he did not have tomato juice, Lea and perrins sauce etc etc. Just had the basic bottles of vodka, rum and the cheapest Greek brandy available. Nothing like Baileys for the ladies etc very very poor selection (if 5 bottles count as a selection), ended up at the local supermarket buying a couple of bottles....
Staff were pretty good, helpful etc but when you complained all you got was "end of season" although the school holidays in Scotland were the following week followed shortly after by the English school holidays, Take it the season ends at the end of July.
To sum up, place is nice enough with all the facilities, possibly a lot better if you go in June or July. If they manage to sort out the catering and the stocking of the bar, it will be a great place to go to.
Ladies went to the Spa to be pampered. Closed....... End of season ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! 1

Room Tip: Although a bit more expensive, go for the rooms with the private pools. Sit on the beach (rocky) fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    177
    128
    88
    81
See reviews for
281
220
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at nautica blue for 2wks from 22nd sept 2012. We went not expecting a great time after reading the reviews but came back chilled and suntanned which is all we wanted . We found every review was true good and bad yes they ran out of some spirits most nights yes it was hit and miss with the hot water yes sometimes the food could have been better and yes they loved the French however the staff were always polite amicable and helpful we never had to fight for a sunbed and there are parts where you could go into sea without seaweed its isolated but cheap to hire a car if u feel u need to . All in all its not 5star but you get what you pay for and we didn't pay 5star prices and we did alright

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonis_blue, Director of Sales at Nautica Blue, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We strive to satisfy the expectations of our discerning clientele by offering a wide array of accommodation to meet every budget. Despite the reviewer being shown several options within their budget and indeed in the next category of accommodation; sights were set on some thing higher at no extra charge, which we were unable to offer. Our hotel is set in 70000 sqm of mature colourful Mediterranean ground, with 250 rooms located directly on the waters edge plus 40 suites with private pools.
We feel sure that readers will trust their own judgement about the Nautica blue hotel experience and we welcome any queries that may arise from the above review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

the best holidays that i ever had.i never believe to the others reviews before seeing.the hotel was wondeful,the staff very polite and friendly,the food always hot and different every day.me and my family i believe that we had our best holidays.i recommend to every body to be there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited the Nautica blue for a weeks holiday 22nd sept 2012 worst holiday we have ever had, its not catered for English people, catered for the French, food disgusting,cold & it just looked like slop in trays & the same through out the day,we were all inclusive & had to pay to eat out all week, entertainment in French so you couldnt understand it if you wanted too, most of the staff were rude, no time for you if your English, its in the middle of no where, we hired a quad to get away from there, the first night we were there it was that exciting we were in bed for 730pm, the only thing it has going for it is our room was nice & kept clean, the rest of the complex wasn't at its best shabby & a smell of drains in the air, the bar had run out of spirits most nights.
From Bev & Les from the wirral

Room Tip: Over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonis_blue, Director of Sales at Nautica Blue, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We thank you for your real and unexpected review!
We consider your experience at Nautica blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

If you are sensitive to smells, DON'T come near nautica blue! It was built just near a sewage pipe spilling it's valuable stuff all over the shores, so not only you can't enjoy the beach , but you get the "aroma" when opening the porch or having dinner.

The service was horrible. When I came to the room TV didn't work and I has no plug for the bathroom. It took them 24 hours just to send someone for the tv and 2 days to give me the f***n plug!
When I called reception they responded rudely when I said that yesterday no one came to fix the tv. She said :"every day is a new day" ..sounds not bad for a country in a crisis.

The blond lady at the reception ,well I've been to Greece before , but she is really something ! If you are a service oriented traveller , avoid this place.

Hot water is not always available, especially not in colder parts of the day, realy not suitable for a 5 star hotel.

Hotel staff are doing their best to amuse , but they will only help you if you speak French (luckily I do), but mostly they amuse themselves with having small sexual oriented provocations with old ladies and women in general , which I find inappropriate.

Pros:
The rooms are nice, looks new.
Food was average +.
Good place if you want isolation for tourists beaches like Ixia.
Good if you are a Retired French.
They have nice studios with private pool (of course they cost much more)
Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked 2 weeks holiday at Nautica Blue through Thomas Cook (TC), and were assured that it was a 5 star hotel, although the TC rep in the Hotel claimed that TC did not advertise it as 5 star ??
Our son and family booked with Travel Republic for the first week of our hol.
On arrival late at night we found that our son did not have a room, the hotel was overbooked and he was to be sent to sister hotel the Ocean Blue (Oceanis) for 2 nights.
As it was late we offered our room to our son and kiddies, and we went to Oceanis (please see my review of this disgusting hotel under Oceanis Hotel). We had no sleep that night.
After much argument we were offered a room at Nautica the next day.
Our friends who joined us halfway through the holiday also fell foul of the overbooking practice used by Nautica, they travelled with Sunshine. Due to our experience of Oceanis they refused to go there and were ,after much stress, offered a room at Nautica.

The Nautica clearly operates an overbooking practice as the names of visitors are on the list and the bookings were accepted by the hotel.

The Hotel , bedrooms, staff and surroundings and very good indeed, in our experience.

The food was disgusting and we all had tummy upsets, in fact my husband was hospitalised on our return to UK with Gastroenteritis due to the food at this hotel.

The hotel is predominantly French and they do get preference, although we were told by our rep that they too fall foul of the overbooking practice.

This Hotel is not even close to 5 or 4 star. Our experience was the worst we have had, and we are experienced travellers.

Complaints will be filed by our party, with Thomas Cook, Travel Republic and Sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonis_blue, Director of Sales at Nautica Blue, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Nautica Blue in September 2012, having been recommended the hotel by our travel agent as they have been a rep there. We booked for two weeks all inclusive as our honeymoon.

The staff at the hotel were lovely and were very helpful and friendly.

Positives
- fresh towels each day
- Food was nice on most days, although sometimes fairly average. Plenty of salad, and the deserts are lovely!!
- Swimming pools are clean and appeared to be cleaned regularly
- Staff were all very helpful, polite and happy.
- Air conditioning in the rooms is nice (and free!!)
- safe available for 2euros per day
- there is a shop selling water on site, but the stock of other food items are very limited
- Our rep Sam was lovely, very understanding of the problems we had

Negative
- The bathroom plugs are very difficult to remove, and had to be taken out by my partner with her nails in both the rooms we had. Other people we met on the holiday also had this issue, and also had problems with the baths flooding water.
- the only drinks served in the food area for lunch and dinner time were soft drinks and alcohol, no tea or coffee which was a bit of a disappointment.
- We arrived on the Wednesday and didn't have hot water for nearly a week. We complained to reception staff (i think it was on the Friday), as the water wasn't even a little bit warm and we were showerng in cold water. We were told that the water was heated by the solar panels and to try at different times of day. So over the weekend we kept on trying for hot water with no success. On the Monday we had finally had enough, and were close to tears when we complained to our holiday rep. The hotel then managed to sort out hot water to our room for the Monday night but that was it. We were moved room to the other end of the resort on the Wednesday (due to a different complaint) and had plenty of hot water for the second week. I am aware that other people in the block we were in also had no hot water for their entire holiday.
- There were ants in the rooms, but seemed little we could do about this.
- On the 7th day of our holiday, having been awoken by strange noise in the night, we woke up to find mice droppings in our room. We complained to reception and were given the option to move room. Others with the same problem weren't moved room.
- As we were on honeymoon we had requested a double bed. The first room we were in had twin beds, however when we moved we were relocated to a room with a double bed. On asking we found out that there was only 10 double bed rooms in the whole place.

Other
The bus ride to Rhodes Town takes around 45 minutes to 1 hour. Its fairly cheap at 3 euros each way per person. The buses are a bit hit and miss as to if they will turn up or turn up on time. It takes around 15 minutes to wander to the nearest bus stop, but this stop is only used for 3 outbound buses a day. The other bus is around a half hour walk in the sunshine, and is located at the nearest shops.

NOTE: The nearest cash machine is a bus ride away, so make sure you have enough cash with you!!

We really wish we could have written a better review as the staff were all lovely, but unfortunatley the hot water and mice droppings really ruined what should have been our fantastic honeymoon.

Room Tip: There is a quiet pool which is better to be located near. Rooms near the fields report mice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaneMare, Director of Sales at Nautica Blue, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review of your stay at the Nautica blue hotel and like to apologize for the inconvenience. Your comments about the hotel will be taken in to consideration when we assess our renovation programme throughout the winter but we shall not be altering the style of the hotel. The Nautica blue village hotel is unique and the setting is one of the most beautiful through out the Aegean. We would look forward to welcoming you to Nautica blue for another holiday if you find yourselves in our part of the world...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nautica Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautica Blue

Address: Box 85106 | Fanes Bay, Fanes, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Fanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautica Blue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 25 kilometers from Rhodes city center, the Nautica Blue holiday village is situated on the Fanes coast, directly on the beach, surrounded by gardens and with spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. Laid out to resemble a tranquil fishing village, the 70,000-square-metre resort is designed to reflect the local architectural style, while boasting the most state-of-the-art luxury holiday accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Nautica Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Nautica Blue Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautica Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.