We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you'd expect for the very cheap price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne

Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne to your Saves list
Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RN 44 Route de Reims, 51520 Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre, Chalons-en-Champagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“You get what you'd expect for the very cheap price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Would never have found it without a sat nav!! VERY small rooms and en suite too close for comfort if you want any level of privacy when attending to your 'needs'! Noisy traffic throughout the night. Wouldn't want to spend more than one night but when tired from long drive from South of France just glad of a clean bed. Told to use Campanile nearby for evening meal (15% discount) but when we got there full with large, pre-booked group - very disappointing. Walked to another nearby Restaurant (no discount) and had good meal. Found over-hanging bunk-bed oppressive! Help yourself, as much as you could eat, basic breakfast in clean, airy room.

Have never seen such dreadful, old towels.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor and park car in front of your room. All rooms will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
26
15
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's cheap, it's right on the RN between Reims and Nancy, and it's cheap. Did I mention that it was cheap? Because that's about all that's going for it. Beware the pervading smell of smoke and piss that was a common theme to all rooms, the threadbare towels, the filthy carpets and the itinerant lorry drivers heating up pots of whatever it is they eat on the communal walkways right outside your room. Mmmm - l'enfer, c'est les autres!

Room Tip: One as far away from the road and everyone else as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fairly typical of Premiere class with the dreaded bunk bed above the double bed. Small room.
We stayed there on route and because it was next to Campanile where good meals are served BUT not in this case as they the restaurant was full for a party which we wre not informed of at reception. Poor service. Went to a restaurant near by and served by grumpy overweight waitress. Food average so no tip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a booking for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

As with all Premiere Classe Hotels that I have stayed in, it's cheap has en suite shower/toilet and has free Wi-Fi. The common theme on this one is that the rooms seem to smell a bit smoky which we noticed also but that aside for €38 for a family room then no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very basic, very small room, tiny window etc - but you must bear in mind the price, which was the lowest that I was quoted in the area.
Lots of parking.
Convenient for the RN and autoroute.
Despite the 'No Smoking' sign, the room stank of smoke.
Breakfast was only E5 but it was poor value. I suggest that you go elsewhere for it.
They gave me a 15% off voucher for the Campanile next door, where we ate dinner (OK, but there are other, better options nearby, I was told by another guest)

Room Tip: I dont think there are any 'good rooms', they are all the same and very basic. However there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We thought we would try this hotel so that we could get some sleep on our trip to the Alps. It was good from the point of view that you can self check in for a late arrival. The negatives were ... The room stank of smoke, the sheets also stank of smoke, there was a constant sound of vehicles on the dual carriageway behind the hotel (the bed may well have been located on the dual carriageway for the sleep we got), our friends staying in another room actually found an old cigarette stubbed out in the mattress. To be honest when 6am came we were desperate to leave. We will not be trying the budget hotel option again! It is a shame as the staff were so friendly when we booked.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We had requested a ground floor room, with three single beds and non smoking. On arrival we were told there were no ground floor triple rooms left (although we had booked more than 4 weeks in advance). It turned out that only about 6 rooms were occupied and the car park was virtually empty so not sure we were told the truth. The room we were given, although it had a no smoking sticker on the door, absolutely stank of smoke and it was horrible. You could smell and taste the stale smoke. We all woke up in the morning with coughs and couldn't wait to leave. Hotel was very cheap but the breakfast was poor value for money. Nothing much left at 8.30 am when we went in and the staff shrugged and said there was nothing more. OK for a short stop over but nothing more.

Room Tip: Argue if you are given a no smoking room which smells of smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne

Address: RN 44 Route de Reims, 51520 Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne > Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champagne Saint-Martin-Sur-Le-Pre, Champagne-Ardenne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premiere Classe Chalons-en-Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.