We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolham Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Retford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolham Manor
Save
You added Bolham Manor to your Saves list
Bolham Way, Retford DN22 9JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Retford B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Bolham manor is a beautiful place with great hosts - Pam and Butch, they were really helpful and informative about the surrounding area and really made us feel at home. Its located perfectly to have a rural feel but just a 15 min walk into retford. Would recommend no.5 restaurant for a meal especially if you like seafood as has a great range. The turks head is nice for a drink of real ale and is immaculate inside. Slightly further away is welbeck estate with a small gallery, farm shop, garden centre Etc in its grounds which is good for a damp day, we did a beer and cheese tasting course at the artisan school of cooking in the welbeck estate, definitely one for the cheese lovers as portions werent shy! Need to pre book these courses. All in all great base with a heap of activities to do nearby...or maybe just drink wine in your own dedicated living room which we did!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding for 2 nights and have to say Pam and Butch were very very warm and welcoming. We had our 11month old little girl with is and they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The house is lovely, the rooms spacious and full of character and the breakfast most excellent. Thankyou for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Have just stayed for one night at this delightful house. Pam and Butch made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than staying at a B and B.
Butch drove us into town to a (recommended) restaurant, now that's service.
The room was spacious and comfortable, the facilities excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.
All in all we had a lovely visit.
Thank you both.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsbottom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is how guest houses should be. A beautiful peaceful home with lots of character and charming hosts. Thank you Pam and Butch for making our brief stay very enjoyable. Superb breakfast - and thankyou for the apples, which helped to make a delicious crumble.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

An elegant home with stunning gardens a quiet setting and perfect hosts.
From the moment that we arrived Pam and Butch made us feel very welcome breakfast was excellent and Butch kndly booked a fantastic restaurant in Retford for our evening meal. Retford town is just a 15mins stroll from the garden gate. If ever we are in Nottinghamshire again we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My partner, sister and I had the most marvellous, all too short, stay at Bolham Manor this weekend! The hosts are charming and very attentive and helpful, and the bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious too! The manor house is a lovely and elegant home, with glorious gardens, full of colour and a delight to look at, especially at this time of year. I wish we could have stayed longer - but will return, hopefully next year. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elloughton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I had stayed at Bolham Manor before and were so impressed we came back to stay again. We normally don't stay in the same place twice! Nothing to compare this B&B with in Retford if you want quality, friendliness and comfort. That is quite a compliment to Pam and Butch the owners of this magnificent house and stunning gardens - they have just been accepted as part of the NGS and rightly so as you can easily spend as much time as you wish relaxing amongst all the lovely plants in the formal and wild gardens with plenty of garden benches provided to rest and soak up the idyllic setting.
.
Incidently, check out the wonderful Majestic Theatre in Retford town centre. What a magnificent theatre all run by volunteers and with top quality acts always on the bill. Retford town centre is a pleasant 10 mins or so walk from a private gate at Bolham Manor. You have a very country house atmosphere at Bolham Manor, yet within minutes you an be in the town centre, so you don't need to take the car if you want to sample the local hostelries. We cannot recommend Bolham Manor highly enough. We will certainly be returning again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chinese Room which was very comfortable with lovely views across the garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolham Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolham Manor

Address: Bolham Way, Retford DN22 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bolham Manor Retford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolham Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.