We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Viljandi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Viljandi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Viljandi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartu 11 / Lossi 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Lahti
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our Estonian road trip took us to Viljandi and after reading reviews here we booked this hotel. We got a room in the 4th floor, it was spacious with a good bathroom and a very good shower. The breakfast was exceptionally good even with sushi (have to say we didn't go with that ;) and all other stuff that belong to a good European hotel breakfast.

Overall service, room, location, breakfast and everything in this hotel was very good and the value was outstanding.

Room Tip: Upper floors are ok. Traffic isn't a problem and a hotel can not blamed if there are birds makin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst on a motorcycle tour..
The hotel was easy to find .
The staff were extremely helpfull.
The quality of the rooms and hotel was superb and certainly lived up to the "Grand Hotel" title.
We were provided with private parking at the rear of the hotel which was covered by CCTV.
Plenty or restaurants locally at excellent prices if you choose not to eat in the hotel.
The ruins of the castle are a 10 minute walk away and well worth a visit.

In summary. Highly recommended accomodation at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we booked (6) were found to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived in Tallinn by ferry and made the short-ish trip down to stay the night here as Tallinn seems to have a reputation for Stag parties and some unsavoury local practices in exploiting same.
The staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and well appointed, and the location of the hotel is such that a very pleasant walk to the ruins of the nearby castle/convent, can be made easily. The whole town seems pleasant and quiet, and an evening stroll or ramble seems a safe and pleasant affair.
Wi-fi signal was good, (something that people seem to very pre-occupied with these days), and the breakfast was fine.
I did not try the hotel restaurant as we went out into the town to eat.
Parking is easy as someone else has said.
The morning fruit juice did not seem overly watery to me, (as someone else has said).
I would recommend this a a place to stay to any of my friends that had cause to visit Viljandi.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the less likely you are to hear noise from the street, if there is any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're staying in Viljandi, this is the hotel to sleep at. The rooms are avarage to large in size, and are comfortable. The building is old, but seems in good shape. The breakfest and and lunch is also decent.
Without being exclusive, the hotel is definately worth staying at.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We picked the Grand after looking at other Trip Adviser reviews. We stayed one night on a Friday on our way from the western islands to Tartu. The Hotel is in an imposing 1930s building and initial impressions were good. Our third floor room was at the back of the building and was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. The twin beds were too soft for our liking and not very supportive. There is no air conditioning. In the day time the room was very quiet, but later a nearby nightclub played loud music until the early hours of the morning. Closing the windows did not help as the base rhythm went straight through the building. Not a restful night's sleep! Breakfast was OK, the fruit juices are watery; there is the usual selection of hot and cold foods. The fruit and nuts for cereals had been left uncovered from the night before <shudder>. There was excellent fresh bread and yogurts, however, and the Reception staff made us a decent latte. Waitressesing was a bit offhand.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Grand Hotel is not in a pretty building and can be a little tricky being found because of the one way streets. But hey, that's part of the challenge of travelling!
Once you step inside, the hotel is well presented and the lobby spacious. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was well presented, clean and comfortable. In fact, I couldn't really fault the room, given the very reasonable price we paid.
There is a secure hotel carpark at the rear, as well as a paid car park in the front (which is free from 1600-0900). The hotel is beside a casino. Beside the car park out the front, are some shops and an interesting water feature and the remains of the city medieval wall, and a fairly decent cafe/bar.
The hotel is excellent value but was let down by a very poor breakfast presentation, otherwise I would have given the hotel an 'excellent'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

You can't beat the location in the center of this beautiful town in southern Estonia. Although I stayed just one night in the middle of winter, I had great service from the front desk. The room was average size, but decorated modestly in art deco style to match the hotel decor from the inside. If you like art deco you will like the subtle details of this original building. Good parking across the street as well. Breakfast was a modest buffet and came with the room. The bathroom was good size and the bed was comfortable. A small TV won't distract you much from getting out and exploring a nice town with a great ruins of the castle walking distance away. Booked online directly with the hotel the same day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Viljandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Viljandi

Address: Tartu 11 / Lossi 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Viljandi County > Viljandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Viljandi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Viljandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Viljandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.