We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter and more relaxed than Tallinn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Viljandi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Viljandi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Viljandi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartu 11 / Lossi 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Viljandi
Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quieter and more relaxed than Tallinn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived in Tallinn by ferry and made the short-ish trip down to stay the night here as Tallinn seems to have a reputation for Stag parties and some unsavoury local practices in exploiting same.
The staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and well appointed, and the location of the hotel is such that a very pleasant walk to the ruins of the nearby castle/convent, can be made easily. The whole town seems pleasant and quiet, and an evening stroll or ramble seems a safe and pleasant affair.
Wi-fi signal was good, (something that people seem to very pre-occupied with these days), and the breakfast was fine.
I did not try the hotel restaurant as we went out into the town to eat.
Parking is easy as someone else has said.
The morning fruit juice did not seem overly watery to me, (as someone else has said).
I would recommend this a a place to stay to any of my friends that had cause to visit Viljandi.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the less likely you are to hear noise from the street, if there is any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're staying in Viljandi, this is the hotel to sleep at. The rooms are avarage to large in size, and are comfortable. The building is old, but seems in good shape. The breakfest and and lunch is also decent.
Without being exclusive, the hotel is definately worth staying at.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We picked the Grand after looking at other Trip Adviser reviews. We stayed one night on a Friday on our way from the western islands to Tartu. The Hotel is in an imposing 1930s building and initial impressions were good. Our third floor room was at the back of the building and was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. The twin beds were too soft for our liking and not very supportive. There is no air conditioning. In the day time the room was very quiet, but later a nearby nightclub played loud music until the early hours of the morning. Closing the windows did not help as the base rhythm went straight through the building. Not a restful night's sleep! Breakfast was OK, the fruit juices are watery; there is the usual selection of hot and cold foods. The fruit and nuts for cereals had been left uncovered from the night before <shudder>. There was excellent fresh bread and yogurts, however, and the Reception staff made us a decent latte. Waitressesing was a bit offhand.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Grand Hotel is not in a pretty building and can be a little tricky being found because of the one way streets. But hey, that's part of the challenge of travelling!
Once you step inside, the hotel is well presented and the lobby spacious. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was well presented, clean and comfortable. In fact, I couldn't really fault the room, given the very reasonable price we paid.
There is a secure hotel carpark at the rear, as well as a paid car park in the front (which is free from 1600-0900). The hotel is beside a casino. Beside the car park out the front, are some shops and an interesting water feature and the remains of the city medieval wall, and a fairly decent cafe/bar.
The hotel is excellent value but was let down by a very poor breakfast presentation, otherwise I would have given the hotel an 'excellent'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

You can't beat the location in the center of this beautiful town in southern Estonia. Although I stayed just one night in the middle of winter, I had great service from the front desk. The room was average size, but decorated modestly in art deco style to match the hotel decor from the inside. If you like art deco you will like the subtle details of this original building. Good parking across the street as well. Breakfast was a modest buffet and came with the room. The bathroom was good size and the bed was comfortable. A small TV won't distract you much from getting out and exploring a nice town with a great ruins of the castle walking distance away. Booked online directly with the hotel the same day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I like this hotel. It is in the middle of the nice and cool city. Very nice sightseeing also near the hotel. Example: shopping centre, statues and the famous Viljandi wrestling hall.

Room Tip: Tell them that you are wrestling fan, because the wrestling is the main sport in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I spend 3 nights in this hotel visiting rally Viljandi. Hotel building is old - if I`m not mistaken in 1936 and rebuilt in 2002. The location is in the city centre. I have the 3rd floor room - very nice room the first from the lift. Room is not big, but clean, 2 towels, tv and wifi. Also there was a computer at the reception for use. The restorant at the hotel is also fine, there are many kinds of vine available, breakfast are standart for Estonian hotels. At august 2009 there were avalable smoking rooms and sauna. Next rally will live there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Viljandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Viljandi

Address: Tartu 11 / Lossi 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Viljandi County > Viljandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Viljandi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Viljandi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Viljandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Viljandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.