We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What butterfly?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Farm

Butterfly Farm
46 Fascadale, Ramsgate, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ramsgate
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What butterfly?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very poor! Not catching to the eye and the entrance to the place makes you feel like turning around. Not as good as described in the Southern Explorer... Not at all!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Went there during Dec with kids and didn't feel it is worth the drive not entrance fee. The variety compared to other butterfly farms is small, craft shop stocks Chinese items similar to cheap flea market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Butterfly Farm. We learned a good bit and saw some great stuff. We were there on a cooler day, which limited our experience but you can't always control nature. Would definitely recommend this for kids, especially on a warm day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tranquil and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. My wife and I went a few hours before dusk and the butterflies were settling down so they said we could come back the following morning to take pictures when they were more active. You can spend as much time as you want in the sanctuary. They also have a short, informative video that answers all the basic questions you might have and shows you the variety of butterflies there are. A great stop-and-smell-the-roses activity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Butterfly farm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good presentation by Cheryl but wrong time of the year and very few butterflies present.Need to visit in the summer months when butterflies are plentiful and I am sure will be impressive

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Farm also viewed

Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
Port Edward, KwaZulu-Natal
 
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Southbroom, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.