We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean view restaurant with nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Restaurant

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ramsgate Beachfront | Lot 223, Ramsgate, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mosbach, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great ocean view restaurant with nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A great place to go and have a relaxed layed back lunch dinner or just a coctail on the bar on top of the restuarant. Went together with my parents and we had very nice dinner. The menue is standard South African but absolutely OK for a ocean view diner. I liked the outdoor patio where you could sit.

The atmosphere is relaxed and layed back, the food is great with nice portions that will not let you go hungry.
Fantastic is the XXL Fish fillet. Its supposed to be 500g, and its a mighty chunk of boneless fish. Good value for money and well prepared food.

I will be back the next time in SA!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welkom, Freestate
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Five Star Prawn Curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Brilliant location right on the Beach, literally a hop-skip-and-jump from the sands of Ramsgate Beach! Outdoor seating the best if the weather is good. We have visited this Restaurant several times and never been disappointed...the best seafood on the South Coast! The Restaurant is not visible from the main road so be careful not to miss it...it is located behind the famous Waffle House so just follow the signs, you won't be disappointed! Even though we were there on Valentines Day and they were fully booked we didn't wait long for our food and the waiters were friendly and offered good advice on the menu and the daily 'specials'. The wine list offers a wide and comprehensive choice. This restaurant is a popular venue for both locals and holiday-makers so be sure to make a reservation if your visit falls 'in season'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It does the trick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Brilliant location, very friendly and helpful waiters. The food is good, they have a very good wine list and the ambience was second to none. Would love to go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seafood at it's best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent "home cooked" seafood... Located behind Margate beach a great family destinations. Roof top is a really cool bar.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“the best kingklip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this area is very busy at this time of the year and we only wait half an hour for our food. The location is perfect right at the beach.I had the best kinglip in ages, grilled to perfection and so tasty. i was impressed with the service,after being here one week, soffering in restaurants where they take hours to bring the food.it was so nice to go to this place for our last dinner. thank you, finally i had a decent dinner without any complaint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.