We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burlesque Cafe

The Burlesque Cafe
957 Marine Drive, Ramsgate, South Africa
+27 39 314 9886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visiting the South Coast/South Africa after four years, what an unexpected delightful surprise to find a Restaurant with such an amazing variety of food so different in selection and presentation compared to other Restaurants. The colourful setting, the friendly and excellent service and the very well priced menu are not everywhere to find. This kitchen serves food you normally find in Top Class Restaurants in Germany.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Atmosphere AND Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

One of its kind on the Hibiscus South Coast. Perfect venue whether sharing a meal with friends, celebrating an occasion or wanting a romantic evening out. A selective menu catering for any palate. The chicken livers, Vicky's pasta, meze platters are a few of my favourites, desserts are always varied and so beautifully presented. Enjoy the fact that wine glasses, dishes are always different, always look forward to seeing the table settings. Fresh flowers always!! Portions more than enough, never go home hungry. This is THE best restaurant and a gem - FINALLY!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Brilliant meals!
Fabulous fine dining experience
If you are looking for something special that can be a couples night out or as a family visit, I can highly recommend this establishment

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were surprised by how excellent this was, considering how small the town and restaurant is. This would stand up proudly against the competition in London where we are from. The decor is so cute and quirky, the service was attentive, but most remarkable was the food which was superb. I had the lamb (beautiful) and my boyfriend had the fish which he says is one of the best fish dishes he has ever had. This was our first evening in Ramsgate and our most memorable. We look forward to returning here next time we're in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The style and decor compliment the food. It is always something to look forward to; for when your meal arrives, it is as if though the art work on the walls has been transmitted on to your plate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burlesque Cafe also viewed

Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Burlesque Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burlesque Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.