We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes Inn

The Three Horseshoes Inn
Allensmore, Hereford HR2 9AS, England
01981 570329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Allensmore
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Three horseshoes is a country pub and restaurant with three rooms available from £45.00 per night including breakfast. We serve home cooked food from our varied menu from 12.00/9.00 Mon/Saturday, 12.00/8.00 Sunday. We also serve Sunday roast from 12.00 on Sundays. We also have a outside garden area with a barbecue for those sunny days,real ales are available from the bar and a friendly welcome awaits you
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

lovely building and gardens and great location but the food was average i had the chicken and aspragus and was well over cooked. service was good

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

went twice in february both times the greeting was good and the service very good, the menu has been revamped the first meal was excellent the second time average presume it was a different chef.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will Never Return!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Worst meal me and my partner have ever had, all the meat was over cooked the chips were really greasy, and to finish of I had the worst chessecake I have ever had. Theses people have know idea how to run a restaurant, they didn't even offer to give us any money off our bill, we didn't eat hardly any of it, and the staff should really check with customers 2 minutes after they have had there food that everything is ok. We won't be going back to this placed again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian C, Manager at The Three Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
I have just read your review, I am very sorry you had a such poor experience. Had I been aware of the problems at the time of your visit I am sure we could have done a great deal more to rectify the situation. In the meantime we have taken on a new head chef and normal service has been restored, again really sorry you had problems. If you visit again do please get in contact as I'd like to make amends.


Best wishes
Sian Crowther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been a few times with Family, What has happened????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Over the years, I've been to this little pub a few times whilst visiting family in the area. I went before Christmas and the food was above average which for the price wasn't bad, however we went last Saturday and I have to say it is one of the worst meals I've eaten (and I've eaten out lots), the chicken had obviously been cooked for 10 hours as it was so hard and dry, the steaks were ALL over cooked (there was 6 of us), chips greasy and peas old and discoloured. I think it was a new chef as the waitress said so, I'm not sure where he was from but I think Mc Donalds would not of employed him or her as a cleaner. Its sad to see this pub get let down by a bad chef. I'm sorry to say that we will NOT be visiting this pub again for a long time. The service on the other hand was pleasant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian C, Manager at The Three Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for responding to my message, please email us direct to enable me to send an attachment.
Regards
Sian Crowther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Localish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We pop in here from time to time and have never been dissapointed with the staff or food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes Inn also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Kilpeck, Herefordshire
 
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.