We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse and Farrier Inn

The Horse and Farrier Inn
Dacre CA11 0HL, England
01768486541
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dacre
Price range: $9 - $18
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Love this place for a quick lunch while touring the lakes, great beer and delicious food. Must try for tourist looking for a nice place with good food and service!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“walking lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Called in for lunch after finishing a walk. Seemed quite a dark pub which I suppose made it more authentic. There was a nice open fire. I dont particularly like dogs where I am eating and the little dog in the pub came and sat on the seat next to me. The lady behind the bar came and took it off but I never saw her wash her hands after picking it up. I had a lovely soup and home made olive bread and my husband had a cheese and ham toastie. The food was very good but I would have felt happier if the dog incident had not happened.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Consistently good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't eaten here for a couple of years but had a good lunch with pleasant service. The view of Blencathra from the outside terrace is stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub with fab food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent friendly service, great local pub atmosphere and beautiful food including real food for kids...what's not to like?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Although not in the most glamourous of Lake District locations, this is a lovely pub (and does have lovely mountainous views). The interior is cosy, atmospheric and well kept. The staff were very pleasant, accommodating and welcoming. All four of us enjoyed our food, which was excellently presented and reasonably priced for such a tourist orientated part of the country.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Farrier Inn also viewed

 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to The Horse and Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse and Farrier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.