We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in wonderful old inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage of Content

Cottage of Content
Carey HR2 6NG, England
01432 840242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Carey
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food in wonderful old inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Cottage is a wonderful old inn with original beams and the opportunity to stay overnight, should you wish. It's quite difficult to find, but worth the ffort. The food is lovely and the menu is imaginative and well prepared. It can be a bit pricey and a little pretentious but it all tastes good and definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite country pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch at the cottage just before Xmas, the food was exquisite! I had the sea bass that came out just as I like it served, as a proper fish, not messed with, it was cooked to perfection! on our table we also had the cottage pie that was thoroughly enjoyed and the game crumble that i haven't seen served anywhere else in herefordshire! Our meals came with a side of mixed vegetables to share between us, I would say the portions would seem small for some but with such high quality food you really cant complain! The staff were lovely and gave the beautiful country pub that cosy welcoming feel it should have!
We will most definitely be returning!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We're locals and this pub is handy for a specific walk we do with our dogs. They allow dogs in (if not too busy?) but we kinda felt once we were in that they weren't particularly welcome. In itself that's understandable, many places won't allow dogs at all.
However, the food was a tad disappointing. I had a curry and it was served in 2 'patties', having been put into ramekins and upturned onto the plate, not a huge portion. I was still hungry afterwards.
We also stopped here a few times in the summer, mid-walk to sit outside and have a beer and I can't really put my finger on it but the lady behind the bar just doesn't seem particularly interested in welcoming new customers. It wasn't terribly busy, but I didn't really feel welcome or valued as a customer either time. No eye contact, no smile.
Maybe it was me, other reviews look pretty good and the Cottage has a good reputation. We'll give it another go before we make a permanent judgement.
On the positive side, this is a lovely building.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked in for a table of six on a busy Saturday night, for a birthday. The building is great, all exposed beams and stonework, and the open fire in the bar was ideal having just come in from a fireworks display.....

Right from the off, the staff were very friendly and efficient, getting us seated with drinks in next to no time despite a busy bar. The selection of local ciders was very good too. The menu was fairly brief but varied and it took me a while to decide between two or three favourites for a starter and a main. Every course was fantastic - a special word for the desert, which for me was a chocolate pot with bailey's cream which I could have eaten two or three times over.

Despite what was obviously a busy night for the staff, they kept things running perfectly and it made for a really great night out. One of the best, locally.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a lovely evening in the Cottage of Content with some friends of ours while we were on holiday in Herefordshire. We had a delightful meal of a high standard - we all ate a different meal including a vegetarian and we were all impressed. We did book and it is not the easiet place to find, we used sat nav, lots of single track roads but it was worth it and we would reccommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage of Content also viewed

Hoarwithy, Hereford
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Cottage of Content? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage of Content, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.