We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic but expensive for this level” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie

Save Saved
You added Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RN13 Rond Point Andre Malraux, 50470 La Glacerie, Cherbourg-Octeville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in La Glacerie
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Clean, basic but expensive for this level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This review is for the main Ibis, not the budget Ibis next door. Booked a twin room for myself and my adult daughter, arrived and was given the key for a double room. Changed without any problem but wasn't a great start. The room we were then given was right next door to the restaurant so it was a little noisy when they were setting up for the morning. Basic room and very clean but missing obvious touches, for example no plug socket next to the mirror so my daughter struggled to see what she was doing using hair straighteners before we went out for dinner. No tea/coffee making facilities but there often isn't in hotel rooms in France. No additional lock on the door so cleaning staff with a key could enter in the morning when we were still there. Breakfast was standard French - croissants, bread, coffee, juice, yoghurt, fruit. It was all perfectly clean and comfortable but I felt that 100 Euros for B&B was pretty expensive for this level of hotel. I've stayed at much smarter hotels at this price so was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
50
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We missed the Ferry. I have had some bad experiences with european hotel standards so we followed the signs for the Ibis just because we recognised the name. The signs were easy to follow and we found it quickly. There are two Ibis hotels a comfort and a budget.. We chose the comfort because we had a one year old with us. The receptionist was great finding us a family room and baby equipment. We had dinner for the two nights because the food was so good and some drinks in the bar. Breakfast was continental and loads to choose from. The room was comfortable and large. No complaints.

Room Tip: Family rooms are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very new Ibis budget hotel. - everything new, clean, modern, functional, not unattractive interior design. Convenient location when heading south out of Cherbourg on pretty much any route... right on outer edge of town.. Certainly not a charming location - sandwiched between two dual carriageways and next door to a DIY store, but I chose it for the price and convenience.... Nearby Auchen supermarket (10 min walk/3 min drive) to purchase food/drink (microwave at guest disposal in reception) if you do not wish to utilise the neighboring Ibis Hotel restaurant. There are also chain restaurants nearby. My room actually had a (very) distant sea view, and overlooked the rear (generous) carpark which was a little noisy during the night due to late arrivals chatting (I always have to sleep with my window open, so I ran this risk knowingly). I would definitely stay here again if arriving on a late ferry and wanting to sleep before driving south. Breakfast was perfectly adequate for price paid - most importantly as much coffee (from machine) as required!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A typical Ibis with plenty of parking. The staff were all very helpful and kind. The rooms are standard, comfortable and very clean too. The food in the restaurant was good and so was the breakfast. There is a Ibis Budget (old Etap) being built at the back but there was no work being carried out (maybe because it was August?). The hotel is a 10 minute drive from Cherbourg and the ferry port. There is a supermarket across the road which consistently over the years we have found to have the cheapest petrol/diesel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ibis hotels are well known to offer basic clean accomodation at a modest price.
This was no exception.
However the staff were exceptional in the service offered, the food was simple/basic but of good quality and value for money.
Thoroughly recommended if you need overnight accomodation for the ferry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie is ideally situated on the outskirts of the town (N13) and provides a perfect stopover for those who are travelling to and from the Cherbourg ferry port.. Although on a main road, the hotel is not noisy. We were checked in by a very pleasant young lady who directed us to our room which was of a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The en suite was also a pleasant surprise. Only downside was the view of the building site outside the window. It would seem that they are proposing to expand the number of rooms. However, work seems to be slow and we saw no signs of any work being carried out whilst we were there.

You can purchase a good quality evening meal and a buffet breakfast at a very reasonable price.

Good value for money budget hotel with pleasant staff and offering better facilities than some higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie

Address: RN13 Rond Point Andre Malraux, 50470 La Glacerie, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville > La Glacerie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in La Glacerie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cherbourg hotel is close to the motorway and a shopping centre. The Cité de la Mer, the ferry terminal and the railway station are only 5 min from the hotel. It has 71 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, a meeting room, free closed parking, a bar with a terrace open 24/24 and a restaurant. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless Internet access. A golf course and a tennis court are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie Cherbourg-Octeville, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.