We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price - but no restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue de l'Ill, 67118 Geispolsheim, Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good price - but no restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is a good budget hotel for those travelling to and from Italy and Switzerland. The rooms are a decent size, well equipped and clean. The bathroom has a very good walk in shower. Breakfast, although a little sparse, is included in the price (we paid 91 euros for the 2 of us). Most importantly (for us) the car park is secure. However there is one issue - THERE IS NO RESTAURANT. There used to be when this was a Novotel - but now there is nothing. Seeing that the hotel is in the middle of an industrial dessert this can be quite an issue. There is a restaurant at the nearby Camponile - but that's it - get there early and book that restaurant if you don't want to go hungry, or to drive into Strasbourg.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car park so that you can check onyour car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    91
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
33
16
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We needed a stopover for our road trip. This is a budget hotel, with an enclosed parking in a very quite neighborhood with no restaurant options close by. A car is a must to stay here.

The room was large by budget hotel standards. Simple decoration, comfortable beds, clean. Nothing to complain about. Very basic breakfast included. The staff was very friendly.

There is no restaurant onsite, but there are plenty of options within a 5 to 10 minute drive.

Great for a one night stay

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teford
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

very good, good breakfast, a bit out of the centre but ok if you have a car. this is the second time we have stayed here, the room is an ok size and clean, the staff are helpful. a cheap alternative to the centre of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was rather small for four people, but this is an budget hotel and I didn't expect more.
The staff were friendly and despite being close to the motorway, the rooms were not noisy.
Parking area is convenient if you are driving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

the worst hotel in my entire life ! the room was not cleaned, old, dirty ! The hotel has not been remodeled since it opened. The room smelled like someone had been smoking. The matress and linens were filthy dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Kascnov,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I have sent you a private message to better understand what happened during your stay. In any case, I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay in Strasbourg.
Kind regards,
Natalie B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geispolsheim hotels

Zwevegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This year we left late for Austria and didn't make it to our normal overnight stop in Germany. We called in late but had a good room (modern ex-Novotel) with free locked parking place. Quick check-in/-out. Breakfast included for 99€/ni. Definitely a good alternative.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The room had modern appeal and was very clean BUT we were presented with paper cups for tea and coffee. There was one light switch for all the lights in the room. Beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. Plenty of free parking. Typically an Express hotel. What was awful however was the dinner. The chicken pasta meal consisted of a chunk of reheated and over cooked chicken with a lump of pasta that was able to be picked up as a solid mass. Avoid eating there at all costs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear AussieRoamers,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for the food served during your visit did not live up to your expectations. We constantly strive to provide the best accommodation and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg

Address: 5 Rue de l'Ill, 67118 Geispolsheim, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Geispolsheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoomsThe 77 fully renovated, spacious, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with beautiful modern bathrooms with showers, offering you all the comforts of a four star hotel at an affordable price. The rooms have two large twin beds or one large double bed and a sofa.Events roomFor the organization of work days, room hire, drinks-buffet receptions or show-room events, our 100m² of adjustable lounges with three fully equipped rooms, all on the same level, with natural light and air-conditioned can accommodate up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geispolsheim
Novotel Hotel Strasbourg Sud
Geispolsheim Novotel
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg Geispolsheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Strasbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.