We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prim'Hotel Bagatelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Prim'Hotel Bagatelle to your Saves list
Prim'Hotel Bagatelle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin Les Bas Jardins, 51530 Dizy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dizy
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A real find in the Champagne region. Excellent staff, filling and well priced meals and breakfast that just went on and on with numerous choices. Room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. Bathroom was equally well maintained. Place was full as it was grape harvest time when we were there but this did not seem to phase the staff who went on being very helpful each day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
36
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Believe the other reveiws. This is a very nice hotel. We had a triple room which was in the roof. It was very spacious and very comfortable and clean. All the staff were friendly and the restaurant was good - frequented by locals. Please do not be put off by its location. It is on the edge of a retail park, adjacent to a busy road junction but you don't notice as the front is shielded by trees and the road is quiet at night. The proprietors care about this hotel and it shows. We were on a short break visiting champagne houses and the location of this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend in Epernay as part of an annual TVR Car Club holiday. The Prim'Hotel Bagatelle did not disappoint. The welcome was warm and the rooms were well appointed and very clean. the value for money is great and the breakfast is spot on. I'd certainly use this hotel again as the cars were safe and the parking was great.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a fan in the room and ceiling windows to help with any heat. Very clean bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of our holiday travelling back to the UK. I was a little dubious having read the comments on Tripadvisor about the location being on an Industrial estate. My worries however were not justified. It can't really be described as an Industrial Estate but more of a Retail Park. The Hotel however is well screened and once in there you can sit on the terrace at the front and you would be unaware. So if you're just passing through it makes no difference. The Hotel itself is a bit like a Novatel or something like that but with very friendly and hardworking staff. The room is basic but cramped. This is due to the enormous bed which is more than a Kingsize - and it was very comfortable. The shower was great and the bathroom fine, although the fittings and decorations are a little 1980s.

All the reviews on Tripadvisor bestow much praise on the food. I think that this is because of the quantity rather than the quality and we found it slightly disappointing as a consequence. It's quite a complicated affair with a mixture of buffet and ordered main course. Both of our main courses were disappointing. Chicken was dry and a 'T bone' steak was quite tasteless (hard to imagine). However, the staff were running around like headless chickens working their fingers to the bone.

You definitely get the feel that you are at somewhere like a 'Butlins holiday camp' at the refectory and the same is to be said for breakfast. People gorging themselves at the buffet and it is not pleasant to see.

However, for the cost it is good enough. As usual however, the cost of wine is what pushes up the price. It was astonishing that, in this wine producing region that you could not buy a locally produced bottle of wine - and there was a choice of only 3 white wines on the menu!

Although good value, I would not stay again, as I would stay in Epernay itself which about 10-15 minutes away in the car and there is a lot to see and do. Although some comments on this site say you can walk, i think that it is too far to walk after a meal and a bottle of wine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a stopover at the Premiere Classe in Epernay on our way south, so having the car the restaurant at Prim'Hotel Bagatelle at Dizy was very near, perhaps closer than going into Epernay itself. We normally find that eating at Logis hotels is a good experience and our evening meal here was a pleasant start to our holiday. We had good food at a reasonable price with friendly, efficient service. We can certainly recommend the restaurant but would not know about the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very much one of those 'does what it says on the tin' places. This is a stopover hotel, but it's not a bad choice if you don't want to stay in nearby Epernay.

Certainly better than the nearby Campanile, on the basis of visits to each, and much better than the terribly disappointing and considerably more expensive nearby Grains d'Argent. Location a bit grim, in a corner of an industrial estate round which a motorcylist spent hours perfecting his high speed driving. But parking is good and seemed secure enough.

Particularly good beds; large, almost out of proportion to the rooms, comfortable. Rooms not so large, as I've noted, with working space difficult to use - but it did for a night. I wouldn't have wanted to spend a second there, but it isn't that sort of hotel. Maybe a bit shabby? Also quite noisy, but so are all the three hotels mentioned; all suffer from nearby busy roads.

Breakfast was good. We didn't eat there otherwise, but plenty were doing so. Epernay is a forty minute walk, which we enjoyed. Ay (by canal towpath) a twenty minute walk. Both have restaurants.

And the price? €75 including breakfast, for two - good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

. It's not a great location but the very friendly staff and great food in the restaurant make up for that! Rooms are comfortable and beds are king size, extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prim'Hotel Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prim'Hotel Bagatelle

Address: Chemin Les Bas Jardins, 51530 Dizy, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Dizy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dizy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prim'Hotel Bagatelle 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prim'Hotel Bagatelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prim'Hotel Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.