We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet but a bit of a trek to Central Paris!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil to your Saves list
Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Avenue Aristide Briand | Porte d'Orléans, 94110 Arcueil, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arcueil
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet but a bit of a trek to Central Paris!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel twice first time to visit Paris to celebrate my 30th back in March 2012 although we'd visited beginning of April 2012 and second time for my partners 30th this October 2013!

On our first visit and this visit we enjoyed staying at this hotel it is very clean, beds are comfortable, staff are great and speak great English much better than our French (particularly mine). By no means is this a luxurious hotel but definitely worth what you pay! The only real downside to this hotel for tourists is that it's a bit of a trek to the centre and by that I mean it isn't right by a Metro station although there is a bus stop right outside which takes you straight to the station in about 5 minutes and the metro ride to cite station is bout 10 to 15 minutes, this distance did mean that we couldn't just pop back to the hotel throughout the day so once we left in the morning we were out all day till time for bed! The good thing about not being in the centre is that the hotel is so lovely and quiet and the three nights we were there on both visits we had decent nights sleep.

I have seen on other reviews that people have said the area the hotel is in is seedy etc however to me it is just like any working class area in any town or city having said that on our second visit when returning back to the hotel late at night when getting the bus by the station there was a gang of drunk lads at the bus stops which made me uncomfortable and unnerved me especially when waiting 15 minutes for the bus to leave!

The hotel is above a shopping centre which includes a super market which comes in handy and there are restaurants and cafés in the area however we didn't try these apart from the Paul's bakery in the shopping centre and a local bakery which is about 5 minutes down the road if you turn left when you come out of hotel (well worth trying the croissants here as they are amazing and not a bad cup of coffee too and very cheap). Didn't try food at hotel so can't comment but coffees in room not very nice at all however the first time we went I don't remember them being this bad also maid seemed reluctant to leave tea, coffee, milk etc as only left enough for one person and when we left a note in both French and English requesting these items we still only got enough for one, again on our first visit they were a little more generous with these items!

Bathrooms in rooms are good too first time we went we had a bath and shower second time just a shower but water nice and hot although could fluctuate at certain times and they also provide hand soap dispenser and head/body wash dispenser! Rooms have aircon but these are quite old machines and are not very affective on both visits we were very lucky with the weather with Paris experiencing hot weather for the times of year! Rooms also had TV's but no English speaking channels!

Would we return for a third time? Maybe not but only because of distance from centre if it was closer to the station then maybe we would have, however I would recommend if people don't mind the distance or are there on business!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath if preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    87
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
35
43
8
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good hotel, very clean with good staff, who speak excellent English...much better than our French! The hotel is very quiet as it is a distance from Central Paris. The distance is a major downfall for tourists as it took at 10 minute bus ride (bus stop outside hotel) to the metro, then about 10 minutes on metro to get into central Paris. Not a major journey, but made it hard to nip back to the room during the day. The journey was also annoying after a full day out.
The hotel is above a shopping centre, but this is very quiet an d closes early. It is very convenient though, and prices food goods and service but the hotel work out much cheaper than the tourist places within Paris.
Las time we stayed here, we had no problems at all. This time the maid seemed very reluctant to leave us coffee, sugar and milk even when we requested it, both in French and English. Why have hot drink making facilities and not provide the coffee? The one that was left was cheap and didn't taste great. Ween des up using the Patisserie down the road, and the Paul's in the shopping centre.
Read reviews about water not being hot etc. but we had no trouble with this whatsoever. Water was very hot, though did fluctuate between hot and cold during certain times of the day. We had a bath last time, which I was looking forward to, though his time we had a shower and the water fluctuation was a bit of a pain!
All in all a great stay, but just quite a distance from tourist parts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel, but very basic. Location is a bit out of the centre for me and I would not recommend for tourists who are sight seeing Paris. Typical campanile, I always feel they try and look cheap, and this hotel, in particular the restaurant and rooms, feels cheap. However room is clean, staff are pleasant, and as a stop off point for business men spending a night to visit nearby I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are small as always in France but clean. Everything you need is there (Wifi, Tea maker, bath, free parking, etc). The only complain is the noisy street in front of the Hotel, so make sure to ask for a quiet room. Staff at the reception was very friendly and took notice of my comments.

Room Tip: on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel does not live up to the usual Campanile value and service. Sunday morning - no hot water to wash with; restaurant littered with used breakfast trays and no one to clear them. Sunday evening - no hot water to shower with after long day sight-seeing (after enquiring we were told to wait 20 mins for it to heat up), told that there was no bread to accompany meal, had to wait 1.5 hrs to get meal, 1hr to get a drink, tables not cleared after guests had left restaurant.
On questioning the wait we were told to 'go down the road'!
Two saving graces - the rooms were spotlessly clean, and the young inexperienced waitress did her best in bad circumstances.
We have been using Campaniles for 25 years but would think twice before usIng them again. We would certainly never use this one again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

great stay...........
The hotel was excellent value for money, free wifi, the was room was clean and modern, we had a comfortable nights sleep and all staff were helpful and welcoming.
would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, considering the nightly rate (45 euro's). 10 minute walk to train / metro station which takes you straight into the heart of Paris in under 15 minutes, 36 minute drive from Disneyland. Nice neighborhood that looks and feels safe even later at night. Heard no street noise or anything in the room.

Free parking is a big plus to this hotel, and it's right above a big supermarket (Cora). Room is small, but clean, and the bathroom facilities were perfect. Breakfast would have been 9,50 per person per day extra, so we skipped that and chose to get bread somewhere.

Would definitely recommend for a short stay in the Paris area, especially if you want to do the Paris / Disneyland combination like we did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil

Address: 73 Avenue Aristide Briand | Porte d'Orléans, 94110 Arcueil, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Arcueil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arcueil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d`Orleans - Arcueil Hotel Arcueil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Paris Sud - Porte d'Orleans - Arcueil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.