We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz to your Saves list
Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz
Parc d'Activite des Longeray, 74370 Metz-Tessy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Metz-Tessy
Yorkshire
1 review
“poor quality hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel needs major renovation. The room smelt and the bathroom dirty. The picture on expedia was not the hotel room we were given. Booked for two nights but left after one night. When we told staff why they didn't bother. Took pictures of bathroom showing mold.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel A, Directeur at Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Cher Client,
Nous vous remercions d’avoir partagé votre avis lors de votre séjour à l'hôtel Campanile Annecy Nord Metz Tessy.
Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris la peine de nous informer de votre mécontentement.
Au nom de toute notre équipe nous vous adressons nos sincères excuses pour cette prestation qui n’a pas répondue à vos attentes.
Le confort de nos clients est une priorité.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre établissement
Très Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    27
    25
    9
See reviews for
13
34
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexley
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on our way to and from Italy. Kettle and tea/coffee provided in our room. Our room was clean with a good size flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.The continental breakfast was fine. Baguettes, sliced bread for the toaster, hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, fresh fruit etc. The coffee was very nice. I can't comment on the evening meals as we arrived too late. Our bathroom was clean and modern with lots of hot water. The staff were very friendly. If you're looking for a good value hotel without the frills of a 5* hotel then I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: On speaking to other guests at breakfast nobody seemed to have any complaints and I would think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I haven't been in a Campanile in France for probably 20 years and so this was an opportunity to wander down memory lane and see what I had been missing for all that time.

When arriving at this convenient location just off the auto-route next to Annecy airport and half way between Geneva and Chambery the style and layout was very familiar, unfortunately that's where the pleasant reminders ended.

The room was very dated and poorly maintained with ragged holes in the ceiling. The bed was extremely old and uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean but very tired and the towels were thin, ragged and extremely small.

I was looking forward to the extensive buffet centred upon a poached salmon which always used to be the highlight of a Campanile visit years ago, but is unfortunately no longer provided. Yes there is a buffet but it offers very meagre pickings now. I chose an entrecôte of steak and found it to be as tough as old boots but the accompanying French fries were lovely.

The proprietor was very personable, he spoke good English and went out of his way to make things as best that he could - I think he sensed that I had made a mistake choosing Campanile. Five starts for his efforts both at reception and in the restaurant!

Breakfast was a further let-down and at the end of the story I was glad to be back on the road.

Yes, I agree that memories are always 'rose tinted' (it never rained during school holidays...) and my tastes and expectations have changed over the years but I still have a good grasp of value-for-money and good-or-bad. In this case I have to say it was more bad than good and so the overall review is 2 - Poor.
Perhasp it was a bad location or, as I suspect, it's the formula that has been downgraded.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Metz-Tessy hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel was very typical of the Campanile Group of hotels. It was basic, clean and the staff were friendly. Dinner, which was not included in the price was quite expensive for what you got but this was set off by the reasonable closeness of that beautiful city - Annecy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you won't miss multiple star downtown accommodations and their spacious lobbies where a trio band is playing for late happy hours, and you don't care about 24 hour room service or the chocolate mint on your pillow at night, then a very unpretentious professional reception awaits you at the Campanile Annecy-Metz. As you enter the one desk reception lobby, a sweet woman named Lora with a captivating smile goes out of her way to make sure you will get the same good service and contented sleep as you would at a four or five star hotel. You already appreciate the very professionally trained and supervised staff as they are eager to offer ample information about the splendid surrounding area, especially the City of Annecy with its lake and old town. The sleeping quality is very good and the rooms are clean with large bathtubs to welcome you after a day long walk between the water and the green. Although situated next to a busy airport, your room is sound proofed thanks to double doors that assure that you won't notice even a hum.The hotel is constructed (as are all in Savoy) of wood and other materials that show the age of the building and gives it a special charm, although the wooden rails around the structure could use some minor repairs on their mahogany-like new brown paint. Foodwise, you can start your day with a generous breakfast buffet that features an assortment of viennoiseries, croissant, and fresh bread plus ham, cheese, crepes, juices, etc. at the restaurant adjacent to the sleeping quarters. For lunch and dinner, it offers a variety of dishes from the region and elsewhere and is moderately priced. For under 20 dollars you can have their "Parfait de Charolais" which is a good size beef tenderloin served with potatoes and green vegetables, or you can have their nine dollar cheese plate assortment, "aux quatre fromages" (of four cheeses), including Cantal and Conte. For drinks, try the young (2010) Mas de la Source wine of Languedoc, a good deal for 14 dollars. Thanks, but no thanks, to the car valet, the door man, the elevator operator, and the room service staff, I am enjoying a good no frills stay at Campanile. Thank you Mme. Stephanie Cuisinier of the Campanile family for suggesting this very cute and accomodating hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel A, Directeur at Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Cher clients,
Je vous remercie de nous avoir fait un retour concernant votre séjour au Campanile Metz Tessy.
Merci, je vais partager vos compliments avec mon équipe.
Votre retour en tant que client nous permet tous les jours de nous améliorer.
Notre priorité étant la satisfaction de nos clients, nous sommes toujours très heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié le Campanile Metz Tessy dans son ensemble.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre établissement.
Très cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This Campanile is just off the A41 North or Annecy in a convenient location for the Autoroute. The design is a per all Campanile hotels with an accommodation block and separate restaurant. The room is dirty and poorly maintained. No plug for the sink or bath, toilet doesn't flush properly and the air conditioning doesn't work and the room is too hot with the window closed, too noisy with it open. Furniture is damaged, black mould growing on the tiles behind the bath. It feels a very tired building, long overdue refurbishing. The wireless internet is free but terribly slow. Breakfast buffet barely adequate. At €71/night, it is expensive and poor value. There are much better hotels for this price.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel A, Directeur at Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous avons pris bonne note de votre avis.
Merci d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire, l'avis de nos clients est une source d’amélioration constante.
Votre retour en tant que client nous permet tous les jours de nous améliorer.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement dans notre établissement.
Très Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Room was basic but OK, tea making, good shower, no fridge , friendly reception, plenty of free parking, breakfast was quite ok
It was a 5 min drive to city centre from Annecy Sud but near a main road.
It was all you need for a standard hotel on a road trip. This was better standard than previous Campanile

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel A, Directeur at Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Google Translation
Cher clients,
Je vous remercie de nous avoir fait un retour concernant votre séjour au Campanile Metz Tessy.
Merci, je vais partager vos compliments avec mon équipe.
Votre retour en tant que client nous permet tous les jours de nous améliorer.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre établissement.
Très cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz

Address: Parc d'Activite des Longeray, 74370 Metz-Tessy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Metz-Tessy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Metz-Tessy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Annecy Nord - Metz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.