We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk to your Saves list
Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raamweg 10, 5431 NH Cuijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuijk
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for visiting the Overloon World War 2 museum, the hotel offers you a package deal for one night stay including breakfast and dinner and entrance tickets to the museum. The hotel is a nice place to stay, convenient located next to the interstate A73 and just about 30minutes away from the Overloon museum. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, the breakfast buffet is great as well as for dinner. Very friendly people at the hotel check-in desk as well as for the other hotel staff.

Room Tip: Take a room located on the inner back side of the hotel, there's also a small inside (not covere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bovenkarspel, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We live in The Netherlands and have stayed at many van der Valk Hotels around the country and have always found them good value but what a let down this time. We arrived Friday afternoon and was greeted by the gentleman at reception who was helpful and friendly and we proceeded to our room which was as we had seen on the website and was comfortable although cold and no amount of playing with the control would get any warmth into the room, bed was very soft so wan't looking forward to a nights sleep in it, we went downstairs to have a coffee which took an absolute age to finally get served with one coffee and one beer the waitress asked 3 times what it was we wanted (this was done in Dutch as we speak Dutch) we returned to our room to get ready for dinner after a nice hot relaxing bath, we proceeded back downstairs for dinner at 7pm and was sort of shown to a table for 2 it was more a case of there's a table for 2 by the window over there where she pointed us in the direction of and we sat down and waited and waited before anyone came to ask if we would like a drink or to give us a menu finally we got the menu and made our choice from a very uninspiring choice then we waited another 20 mins before they came to take the order and ask if we would like a drink then we waited again and was brought a bowl of salad and a plate with 3 little bowls of various sauce no explaination as to what sauce was what and finally a drink, finally at around 8:30 our main courses were brought out to us as we were not having a starter, but husbands steak from his mixed grill was over cooked and my calfs liver was hard from over cooking and the meals had so obviously been left to sit for sometime under the warming lights and had continued to cook there as the meat juice that had leaked from the meat had dried up. We finished our meal and when the waitress finally came with the bill she took the money and my husband had to ask her for the change upon which no tip was left, We were very disappointed but got the feeling that no one was really interested, Breakfast saturday morning was cold scrabbled eggs cold bacon and cold cocktail sausages on a cold plate only warm thing was the rolls and the coffee that trickled out of a machine to say I would not stay at this particular hotel again is an understatement.

Room Tip: away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed for only one night on business - was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and its ensuite facilities. All the staff I came into contact with, including housekeeping, were pleasant and spoke brilliant English! But it was the receptionist , Daphne, who most impressed. When I left a treasured scarf in the room, it was found and returned by post to me in England. Now that is great service - thank you Daphne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location
The hotel is located close to the motorway and just outside of Cuijk. It is only a 5-10 minute drive to the city center of Cuijk where you find some shops and restaurants. There is also a restaurant on-site but we didn’t check it out.

Room
The hotel is a very big complex so we had to walk along several hallways and up and down stairs to reach the breakfast room. Fortunately, there was a second car park nearby so we didn’t have to carry our entire luggage. Parking was free of charge.
The room itself was very spacious. It featured a big double bed, two armchairs, one chair and a big writing desk where two persons could work with their laptops simultaneously which was very welcome. The tea making facilities were appreciated, too. Furniture was modern and in good condition. One front of the room consisted of windows so the room was conveniently lighted from outside as long as the sun was up. After sunset, the lamps were not sufficient to really lighten the room. One window could be opened to access a terrace with a view to a small creek.
The bathroom was huge with a separate bathtub and a spacious shower. Everything was very clean. Room service changed the towels every day even though I didn’t put them on the floor but intended to re-use them.
Wi-Fi was free but could only be accessed after allowing plug-ins.

Breakfast
The breakfast room was spacious. Most guests seemed to be on business and had their breakfast quite early. The woman who prepared the scrambled and fried eggs was adorable; her high spirits were infectious. The fresh orange juice was very good. You can choose from some cereals, a good choice of breads and croissants, pancakes, eggs, fruit salad, cheese, salmon, sausage… I have had much better (tasting) breakfasts, but it was absolutely okay. There should be something for nearly everybody. But be aware that I didn’t spot any special lactose- or gluten-free dishes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When you go to the room at night you hope that it will be prepared, cleaned, etc don't you? In this hotel it's not sure. We stayed during one week and two nights we had to claim for the service to arrange the room, renew the bath towels, etc. Incredible ¡¡¡

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room was small, functional, clean. The room included both a large tub and a shower. Beds were a bit soft for my liking, but, most people wouldn't mind. The hotel staff were professional, spoke English, and were good representatives for the company. The rooms were airconditioned, parking is free and plentiful, and they have a lift (elevator) for upper floors.

The breakfast was absolutely great. Full European breakfast including eggs, bacon, pancakes, croissants, fruit, etc....... Only complaint I can come up with is that they have two coffee machines, but, only turned on one of them, leading to a bit of a backup waiting for my morning brew. We were so impressed with breakfast that we had dinner here two nights. The buffet dinner on Saturday reminded me of a nice casino buffet in the states

If you need a budget option, McDonalds is about 300 meters from the hotel. Also of note, the hotel is near very nice biking options and walking areas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stay here just one night. The staff is incredible friendly and give a very personal good service. I just have some points which are opportunities to improve.

In the breakfast it is important to indicate allergy warnings like: milk products, nuts, etc.

There are no options for dairy free. They offer me to bake a bread without milk but it never came to my table.

The shower in my room 215 had black spots. I did not want to use it so having a spotless tub in the room as very good.

In the other hand in had a ver good room seize. Internet working very well and almost no noice from the traffic in the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk

Address: Raamweg 10, 5431 NH Cuijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Cuijk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Der Valk Hotel Cuijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.