We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel in a grand location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palace de Menthon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palace de Menthon to your Saves list
Le Palace de Menthon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   665 route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in a grand location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is in a prime spot on the shore of Lake Annecy, with great views looking down the lake towards Annecy. The building retains the grandeur and style of a pre-WW2 grand hotel.

Positives: great location, comfortable rooms, and the lakeside restaurant that served decent food in a great location.

Minor issues/notes: 1) our room had a very large walk-in wardrobe, which was great, athough as we were only staying to nights we didn't want to unpack all of our luggage... but this meant there was little room for the cases. 2) Getting the luggage to the room from the car was also a bit of a hike - there is no lift access direct to the underground car park, only a staircase - so we needed to move the car in order to drop off luggage at the main entrance. 3) the corridors have minimal natural light and therefore depend on electric lights, which ony come on if you push one of the timer switches that are dotted along the corridor. However the timings are only for a limited time so it is common to be plunged into darkness when walking between the lift and our room - why can't they use automatic sensors?.

The one real gripe I have is that the lounge was not open in the morning. This might not normally affect visitors - there is a separate conference centre and we got the impression that such business users were the focus of the hotel's attention during our visit (we were asked to move seats in the outdoor drinks area to allow a group to be seated). However, on a wet morning if you want to sit somewhere other than your room you are directed to the outside restaurant area.... which when we asked there for a coffee it felt as though this was not normally done and special arrangements had to be made.

Room Tip: if you can't get a lake view (it looks like most do) then teh back of the hotel appears to face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    128
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
67
173
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

An absolute gem of a hotel - we attended the most beautiful wedding here recently, and the lake made a perfect backdrop for the ceremony. Great views over Lake Annecy aside, the hotel itself is lovely. Nice, well ventilated rooms, a lovely pool set beside well-maintained gardens, a good breakfast spread in the gorgeous dining room made for a very nice weekend indeed. (A minor hitch at breakfast as the coffee machine ground to a halt, but the charming restaurant staff made up for it by fetching fresh brew from the kitchen)

The only downside was the slow process at check in and check out, and confusion around whether or not breakfast had been included in our room rate when booking online. (We were certain it was included, but check out staff insisted that was not the case. We found out later that we were not the only couple to have had this discussion upon checkout, so clearly there was something wrong).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
363 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights in one of the suites. Extremely good deal for 130 euros per night. This hotel is beautifully located at the lake with stunning views. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The room's minbar was a but disappointing with just a couple of drinks. Make sure you have a good condition as you need to climb quite some stairs from the main gate of the property to the main hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I had a wonderful time staying at this hotel for 6 nights. The service was good, the food was great, and the views were spectacular. Everything was clean and the landscaping was beautifully manicured.

Room Tip: The views are spectacular, so don't go cheap and get a room without a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris,France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Suites are large, comfortable and overlooking the lake.

Service friendly .

Also good for events upto 200 people .

Parking places limited when hotel is full , we got the last one !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel sits in a majestic setting overlooking the lake, with spectacular views from our room! The grounds are impeccable, and includes convenient parking, though the guest drop-off is a bit intimidating due to the narrow drive. The main restaurant is one of the most memorable restaurants we have ever dined at. It is a bit of a walk from the main building, but well worth it. It is set in a sturdy tent, with exquisite, Moroccan decor. The music was provided by a live DJ playing Euro / ambient music. We complimented the DJ and he volunteered to mix a cd for us! The food was just as amazing.

This hotel is a bit of a drive from the city center, but you can't beat the views along the way. It's a nice drive to circle the lake, with another great restaurant just across the water with nice outdoor seating and the best potato dish I've ever had (a French custom dish, I was told, similar to au gratin). My only reservation from assigning 5 stars is because the decor throughout the hotel is quite dated and in strong need of an overall updating. However, the rest made up for that. And, a complimentary daily breakfast is always a perk!

Room Tip: You want a lake view! We had a corner room with spectacular views of the mountains out our side win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed there two nights with my girlfriend and it worth the money...
Haven't tried the restaurant but rooms are really nice with great view on the beautiful lake of Annecy!
The bartender was really friendly as the manager we met!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#9 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#3 of 12 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#5 of 12 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#6 of 12 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 4 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 12 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palace de Menthon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palace de Menthon

Address: 665 route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Palace de Menthon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Palace de Menthon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palace De Menthon Hotel Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palace de Menthon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.