We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carleton Green Country House B & B

Save Saved
You added Carleton Green Country House B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carleton Green Country House B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carleton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YX , England   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our third visit to Carleton Green and this time we took 10 friends and family to walk our last .wainwright. Alan and Alison made us all so welcome with so much tea and cake , sloe gin and fabulous cooked breakfasts. It really felt like our own home for the weekend nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back again but strongly recommend Carleton Green if you fancy a family or group gathering in this gorgeous part of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms great ,we know we took them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are just back from a lovely little stay at Carleton Green B&B. It occupies a very scenic spot. The B&B itself is a large Georgian house with an interesting history.
Alan and Alison are a super couple who went out of their way to be helpful and obliging. Our room, with its four poster bed, was immaculate. And the bathroom was gorgeous! Much nicer than most hotel bathrooms, with a stand alone slipper bath and big fluffy towels. We had robes too, and home made cake awaiting our arrival... It really did feel like a sweet little boutique hotel.
Breakfast was yummy, we are vegi but Alan made sure we had a hearty meal that set us up for the full day.
As for evening meals, there isn't really anywhere near enough to walk to, but there is a local taxi service. Check out the a Wild Olive in Gosforth a few miles up the road - really delicious. And the next night we went to Nether Wasdale, there are a couple of pubs there that do food, surrounded by marvellous scenery.
Would definitely recommend Carleton Green, can't imagine finding a better spot for such great value. Thank you, Alan and Alison, for such a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want a stunning hotel in a stunning location, for a romantic weekend away, I completely recommend the Carleton Green Hotel. It is a little hard to spot from the road but once you're there it is just the best. You have the beautiful Lakes, with all their walks, and the fantastic nearby pubs. I'm looking forward to going back again!

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed and ensuite bathroom is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 4-day stay at Carleton Green. Alan and Alison run a welcoming and friendly, beautiful bed and breakfast which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

As previous reviewers have commented, the whole house is decorated and furnished to a high standard, with a lovely ambiance throughout.

The bedroom was spotlessly clean and a good size, the bed large and comfy. We had spectacular views of open countryside and Muncaster Fell from our room at the front of the house. The tea tray was accompanied by slices of homemade cake each day. The breakfast selection is delicious, if it's not home-made it's locally sourced where possible.

Alan and Alison have a good local knowledge and if you want to have a nice meal out they'll point you in the right direction.

The location is ideal for those that want a mix of mountains and coast, as Scafell Pike can be climbed from nearby Wasdale Head and St Bees, which is a lovely seaside location is just a few miles further up north where there's also a RSPB reserve on the cliff top for birdwatchers. Wasdale Head boasts of Wastwater - Britain's favourite view.

Another place to visit is Ravenglass, just a couple of miles down the coast. This is a beautiful estuary where the sunsets are magnificent. The 15" gauge heritage steam railway runs from here, inland through the Eskdale valley to Dalegarth Station near Boot. The journey itself was one of Wainwright’s favorites, crossing seven miles of spectacular scenery to the foot of England’s highest mountains.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K, Owner at Carleton Green Country House B & B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review, you were super guests. You really made the most of this beautiful area and all it offers. We hope the lawn was well behaved on your return and are looking forward to seeing you both again, especially if your going to do our mowing too!
Once again it was really lovely to meet you both and look forward to your return.
Warmest regards

Alan and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thank you Alison & Alan for a lovely comfortable two night stay at your guest house. A warm welcome from Alan and very tasty breakfasts from Alison, we didnt need lunch as these saw us through to dinner. rooms extremely comfortable especially the beds, dont be put off by the room with bathroom across the landing as this was the room we had and it was very private and a bit cheaper , fluffy robes and towels , the usual nice extras in the bathroom . they also catered for our mum and dad as they cannot go upstairs easily and they were put in the room downstairs as requested, very comfortable for them and nice views out to the garden, mum now wants a sleigh bed ! they especially enjoyed the cake and the sherry!!. lots of info from Alan about the area and where to eat. I would definately book this guest house again. see you again hopefully from the Haywards (& the old duffers) :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K, Owner at Carleton Green Country House B & B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you all so much for this super review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope that the sleigh bed shopping is successful!!, if not you can alway come back again. Once again it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of you trip around the country. We hope 'the old duffers' are still hitting the sherry and that we have started a trend!!
With our warmest regards.

Alan and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful, quality B&B, off the beaten track, then this is the place for you. We were greeted very informally by Alan and Alison (no checking in). They explained the layout of the lounge, garden etc then showed us to our room.
We had a 4 poster bed in a decent size room plus a large bathroom with roll-top bath and shower cubicle. Only quibble there was no dressing table which we think most ladies like. The bed proved to be very comfy and the well-stocked tea tray was very welcome.
Breakfast was fresh and tasty (we had full English), and there was fresh fruit and juice. Although eggs and smoked salmon were advertised online you would have to ask in advance in order for the salmon to be prepared from store. There were printed directions available to a lovely little bistro (The Wild Olive) in Gosforth, 4 miles further up the A595, and we had a meal there on our 2nd night. (Our wedding anniversary)
We stayed 2 nights and although we like peace and quiet we never saw another person staying there which made things rather short on atmosphere. Very handily placed for Ravenglass railway, Muncaster Castle & gardens, Wastwater lake.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms which all face towards distant fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K, Owner at Carleton Green Country House B & B, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your midweek stay with us, we would just like to respond to a couple of items mentioned in it. We were actually full during your visit, mainly with regular guests some on business and some up to do specific walks, they were on this occasion out early and in late. We do offer alternatives at breakfast which usually do not need to be pre-ordered, we had unfortunatly run out of smoked salmon. Muncaster fell is approximately 1 mile away. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for the high score given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have to say a fantastic thank you to Alan and Alison for making our stay so nice.
It is a fantastic place, off the main road and everything about it is beautiful.
My husband and I are 6ft 8 and 6ft 3 respectively, and it is the first time ever we have managed to get both of us into the very glamorous four poster bed. All of the rooms boast 6ft 6 mattresses and the whole experience was great. Extra bonus is the sloe and damson gin on arrival in the sitting room, and cakes in the bedroom for an extra treat.
We cannot wait until we have another opportunity to come back and see you both.
The breakfast was gorgeous, and chatting with Alan afterwards, well it was like we have known him for ages. THANK-YOU

Room Tip: They are all equipped with extra long beds and the whole place is quiet due to the location off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K, Owner at Carleton Green Country House B & B, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review, we hope to see you both again soon, and thank you for including us in your Tall People newsletter,! warmest regards Alan and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carleton Green Country House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Green Country House B & B

Address: Carleton, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1YX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carleton Green Country House B & B 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Green Country House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carleton Green Country House B & B Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carleton Green Country House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.