We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Time Share Week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrismith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Save
You added Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort to your Saves list
P.O Box 980, Harrismith 9880, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Time Share Week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The setting overlooking the reservoir and sandstone formations on the fringe of the geological formation known as the Clarens a Formation is breathtaking. The road leading to the Resort certainly needs some serious maintenance.

The amenities at the resort cater for all ages and cannot be faulted but the chalets are a bit tied and need refurbishment. A fantastic boma is opened at least twice a week for spectacular barbecues, a super swimming pool, minin golf, walks and tennis courts are available to residents.

As a fly fisherman I was blown away by what the dam has to offer by way of Flyfishing and I would recommend this location to anyone, world wide who would wish to sight fish to an amazing species of indigenous fish. Access to a boat is Essential to fully enjoy what this location has to offer during the warm water summer months. The water in the reservoir is crystal clear. The indigenous Yellow Fish are feisty and offer a fight second to none. Fishing dry fly's such as ants, beetles etc are the order of the day and if you are a first time visitor would consider a fishing guide essential. Enjoy!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Ronald D, Hope to see you again in the Summer. Fishing had really been good this year. Fly fishing in Sterkfontein is really becoming the prime site fishing destination in Africa. We have done some work work since the beginning of the year and I am sure that guests are enjoying all the uplifting changes. See you soon... QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been coming since 1996, before kids and now enjoying it all with our 2 kids. Wonderful family getaway in the Drakensberg moutains. Lots of luxury wihtout the stiffness of the more upmarket places. Friendly, helpful staff. The Christmas buffet was stunning. Real value for money. Boma evenings on Saturdays with the huge fires are lovely. The dam is so clean that you can drink the water out of your hands... Horse riding and hiking brings you back to nature.
There is even a on-site spa to sooth away the sore muscles.

Can,t wait for out 35th time!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for any of the Reedbuck chalets. It is closest to all the entertainment for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QwantaniManagement, Manager at Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Khaline W, We are pleased that you enjoy Qwantani so much. We are constantly striving to better everything on the Resort. 35 times it must be... Hope to see you soon, QwantaniManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed an awesome winter week-end break in this beautiful, peaceful resort just behind the northen drakensberg mountain range. Our 6 sleeper chalets were modern and fully equipped with bedding, linen and cooking utensils. We cooked our own dinner - braaivleis and potjie kos mmmmm. (tip - shop for your snacks, grocery and meat items before going to the resort, they do run a small store on site but it is a bit limited and a little pricey) I was really impressed with the rodent monitor, the fire blanket installed on the kitchen wall as well as the 2 candles set in a wall hanging should you need them. Our chalet was cleaned each day by the resort staff and we had fresh towels and good toilet rolls replaced. Our beds were oh so comfortable and very pretty. We did a hiking trail just after a good breakfast and walked ocross the mountains, on our way back we walked parallel to the beautiful beautiful Sterkfontein dam,passed the horse paddock, ducks and a family of buck. We enjoyed the adventure golf, tennis, spa and just chilling on the patio outside the bar area. We did not have enough time to try the barge cruise (next time, for sure). Kids will enjoy the mini jungle gym and swimming pool as well. The only not so great thing is the gravel road leading to the resort, however, the serenity of the place makes up for this. Lots of fresh air, beautiful large dam, comfortable accomodation, great breakfast, mountains and animals.lovely, lovely, lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort

Address: P.O Box 980, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Harrismith
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Sterkfontein Dam, 43km from Harrismith, Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort has 53 luxury self-catering chalets. Onsite conferencing and wedding facilities are available and many clients return time and time again to make use of this superb venue. The Martial Eagle Restaurant provides home-style meals, banqueting, sumptuous buffets and regular specials. There is a daily entertainment programme to amuse the whole family as well as fishing, horse-riding, barge cruises, adventure golf and a swimming pool. Qwantani is perfect for those looking to relax amidst breathtaking scenery, isolated from the hustle and bustle of suburbia. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.