We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience, loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Huize Yard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added De Oude Huize Yard to your Saves list
De Oude Huize Yard
17 A Stuart Street | Eastern Free State, Harrismith 9880, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely experience, loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wow!!! What an exceptional great stay and splendid time we had at De Oude Huize Yard, the owners, Hennie and Sandra, are such warm and friendly people and amazing hosts!! We highly recommend a stay at De Oude Huize Yard, it is a definite must see! All the beautiful and antique things make it even more special and we will definitely return again!! Well done and thank you so much for sharing it with us! Lots of love, Jan & Bernice Potgieter

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Manager at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bernice and Jan
Thank you taking the time to write the review and it was wonderful to have you here
Love
De Oude Huize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
74
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Real South African Hospitality! Not only does the establishment feel like we are back in time, the hospitality feels like it did in the days when hosts were still interested in people.
Also very special having the owners preparing and serving the food. We felt like kings!

Room Tip: Our outside room, had it's own door to the stoep which will be handy for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write this review. It was great to have you here.
Regards
De Oude Huize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

De Oude Huize gave us the comfort we needed after an exhausing day. Highly recommended to everybody, beautiful " old house style" and most friendly and caring owners. We loooove them! Reception was warm and welcoming, although it was already dark when we got there. Lamps were burning on the outside of the house on the grass, and created a atmosphere of calmness.The next morning an upper class breakfast was served, afterwards we were allowed to take pictures of the Guest house. The garden is lovely and surely something to be proud of.

Room Tip: Room to the East side, nice and warm in the evening with fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and review. It is much appreciated. Hope that you are all keeping well.
Regards Hennie & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I decided to break the drive back from Durban to Jo'burg with a overnight stay. Harrismith seemed like the perfect spot and when I saw the reviews for De Oude Huize I knew it had to be worth visiting. It was a fantastic stop-off and my camera is full of photos and memories from the 24 hours I spent there. The rooms are uniquely and beautifully decorated, and the whole place is full of the detailed metalwork of Hennie. They were not able to serve dinner in the evening, however they recommended a local restaurant in town that was absolutely delicious. Breakfast in De Oude Huize was again first-class, and I was then given a tour of the historical buildings of Harrismith in a vintage Chevrolet. I have mentioned place to everyone I have spoken to about my time in South Africa and I hope to return myself one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Wonderful to have you visiting our establishment. Thanks for your effort and writing a review. It is much appreciated.
Hennie & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Sandra & Hennie are excellent warm-hearted hosts with great attention to details. we just rang their door bell without prior notice of our arrival but within the shortest time Hennie lighted the fire in our room, Sandra served us a beautiful sherry to warm up from inside :-). the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was just awesome and we still enjoy Sandra's lovely marmalade in Uganda :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Sadly we stayed there only one night, but as soon as we entered we felt at home.
It is at the lovely and very tasteful renovated second oldest house in Harrismith. The hosts are great, simpatico, helpful, informative, attentive - best hosts you can imagine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stopped over in Harrismith on our way back from Bloemfontein to Mtubatuba. I found them on a website for accommodation. I loved the pictures and when I phoned Sandra, I knew this waste place to stay. She had warmth in her voice. We loved our room, with fire place and sherry. The girls both had a very quaint bed that made them feel very special. Electric blankets and water water bottles completed the perfect picture. The breakfast was scrumptious and the admosphere was relaxed and friendly. We were given a farewell present of preserved orange pieces. It is delicious. I am tempted to hide it in my cupboard and keep it all for myself. We left reluctantly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Oude Huize Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Huize Yard

Address: 17 A Stuart Street | Eastern Free State, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Oude Huize Yard is situated in a 150 year old building. It overlooks Platberg Mountain and is with-in easy access from the N3 and N5 highways. We are en-route between Johannesburg - or Thambo airport - and the Drakensberg. The house has been restored to its former glory and we offer a distinct olde world feel and hospitality. If you are looking for something different De Oude Huize Yard is for you. It's the place where time is standing still.We offer accommodation with a difference. Our furniture is historical - each with their own story but with modern amenities. We offer fire-places in the rooms, origan pine floors with the smell of wood, Sussex bath with soaps and pampers, toweling gowns, lots of books and chess set. Our rooms are en-suite with bath and separate shower. The suites do have private entrances. The stoep is equipped with Morris chairs for bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Oude Huize Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Huize Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.