We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Restaurant

Guangzhou Restaurant
17 Main St, Gore 9700, New Zealand
(03) 208 7790
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 16 Restaurants in Gore
Restaurant details
1 review
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I cant rate this place enough!! When I am home this is my place of dining with my friends - great meal for a great price and the choies are fantastic!! Yes the decor hasn't changed for a while but who cares??? It doesn't change how the food tastes (which is amazing!!) sweet and sour pork = delectable!! Definitely recommend!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not good food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Typical Chinese food plus some American dishes. Old worn decor. Just not good food. I have eaten Chinese food all over the world and is second only to a now defunct restaurant in Helena in terms of bad Chinese food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take Care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cheap and cheerful maybe but avoid the roast bbq pork with rice, and the curried spring roll. Chow mein was better.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down south
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well that was misleading...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pay no attention to the photograph above showing a rather classy looking establishment because Guangzhou Restaurant is NOT classy nor is that photo a real one of the actual TAKEAWAY shop. All you have to do is check out Google street view in Gore to see what it really looks like. Cunningly yellow thing to do there in order to entice people in to have a meal huh? Rude staff, average food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good predictable chineese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I go on a semi regulalar basis and have done so for several years. The food as in take aways is consistant and compared to other chineese compares very favourably. We will continue to patronise the Guangzhou as long as we continue to stay in Gore. The lunch time self service is very well recommended. I like to see value for money and it will be found here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guangzhou Restaurant also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 
Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to Guangzhou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.