We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Has Slipped Badly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gore District Memorial RSA

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gore District Memorial RSA
12 Civic Avenue | Post code 9710, Gore, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Gore
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: RSA = returned service association which are through out New Zealand. Part of the Chartered Clubs of New Zealand.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Standard Has Slipped Badly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I, have on a weekly or more often basis, dined at the Gore RSA. We have been well pleased with the value for money fare in the restaurant. How ever this has changed for the worse.
Tonight I had the bangers and mash with "salad" with no option of self serve from the salad bar, as it used to be. My salad was a sprig of parsley. This was a half meal incidentally.
My wife had the half chicken schnitzel which was one piece of chicken and a handful of wedges,
previously it used to be two pieces of chicken............. All at the same price basically as it was last month.
Ambiguous signage in small print stating that all light meals (half) shall be served with a green salad needs to be readdressed.
My wife and I in the very near future will be patronizing the Gore Town and Country Club restaurant instead of here unless there is a definite change for the better. I think management needs a make over and more experience making meals nutritionally.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temuka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family dining at great family prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Awesome food, dance floor with live music on select nights. And just a great atmosphere. Very affordable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good honest value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As non members we were treated to a rather hostile interrogation on entering the club and warned that we could not order alcohol with our meal. The dining area itself is large and impersonal with long rows of tables. Orders are placed at the servery and a pager advises when your meal is ready. There is an excellent childrens area with toys and computer games and the wait for food was acceptable.

Food was of the "No frills" school - ribs, nachos, steaks, chips, wedges, etc., all hot and fresh and excllent value. Half a dozen strighforward deserts and free tea and coffee rounded off the experience.

Not the sort of place for a romantic dinner for two - but excellent value for a family meal out - if only the welcome could have been a little more enthusiastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A few of us went to the RSA for tea and we all have a fantastic meal. Heaps to choose from, something for all tastes and a huge choice of salads and service was very quick. A lovely big room and very friendly and helpful staff, will definetly go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quck service but very limited gluten free choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A mix of cafeteria-style service and cooked (or microwaved) to order food. The menu was quite varied and reasonably priced but gluten free options were limited. I only wanted a snack so I had a baked potato and salad which was OK but nothing special for $10. Having said that, I will go back and try one of the gluten free full meal choices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gore District Memorial RSA also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to Gore District Memorial RSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gore District Memorial RSA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.