We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Thomas Green

The Thomas Green
30 Medway Street, Gore, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Gore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just opened in December 2011
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had been wanting to try this restaurant for some time. Lovely place for a meal and the food was great once we got it. The service was very poor - so slow. They have gone to a lot trouble with the character and decor but unfortunately the service lets them down. The staff need to be trained in looking after their customers. Gore needs nice places to eat so if they improve on their service, they will do a lot better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good decor but the food not up to it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I went there for dinner. We were disappointed with the food given such lovely decor. My husband is an ex fisherman and had worked on scallop boats. He found the scallops unpalatable and didnt know why pickled onions were added to the recipe. I myself had lamb rack and absolutely enjoyed it. Delicious. I did not like the crispy duck that I had for entree as I felt the duck was undercooked which made it slimy. Not very nice at all. Overall, I believe that the price was a bit on the high side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loads of Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely decor with loads of character. Our visitors from the North Island were impressed with their lunch and would love to come back for Dinner in the near future. We have dined here many times and have always enjoyed our meals and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant and a great place to relax in a lovely setting. The food is slightly above average but very nice. I had a very nice cod meal and the others were very imressed with the desserts. Somewhere to go that is very nice and quiet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A cracking spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food, clean, tidy, we'll thought out der. We had lunch there a week go. What a great place. Fish was fresh as it comes. If you are stopping in Gore don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas Green also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to The Thomas Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thomas Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.