We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverlea Motel

Riverlea Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverlea Motel
46-48 Hokonui Drive, Gore, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gore
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed three nights for a combined business and pleasure trip. My husband and I found our stay enhanced by Marian's friendliness and helpfulness.
The continental breakfasts were delivered to our room the night before and the relevant items put in the fridge if we weren't there.
We had a one bedroom unit. The rooms were big and well equipped. I thought the make-up remover with the other standard toiletries a good idea.
In the kitchen I particularly liked the addition of the orange squash fruit mix packets in with the tea and coffee sachets.
Although the one wall heater in the lounge looked small it quickly headed up both the lounge and bedroom and we found we did not need any heating on at all during the nights.
The motel is in walking distance to quite a few eating places. We also found many places of interest we did not expect to find in a town of this size.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a good one!
We arrived late into the night and we still welcomed by the staff and escorted to our rooms, which has plenty of space and were very very clean
June in Gore generally isn't very warm, but the heater in the unit had been turned on before we got there. In the morning I turned the heater off, but again when we returned later that afternoon it had been turned on again and the room was nice and warm for the evening. Thank you!!
Plenty of hot water for showering and reasonably priced laundry facilities as well.
Well done to all those responsible for the Riverlea Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very clean and tidy. And the staff were amazingly friendly. Rebooked for Queens Birthday Weekend 2013

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

After being checked in by a friendly pleasant host we were shown to a very clean and spacious studio unit. Everything you could wish for was available in the roomy kitchen area and the remainder of the unit continued this theme. Well appointed bathroom, living/bed area had room to spread out and an oh so comfy bed. Two things that really impressed Cleanliness, (not a speck of dust anywhere) and helpful friendly operators. Handy to shops etc. My choice as the place to stay in Gore and surrounds. Good luck to these fairly new proprietors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I think one of the best extras a motel room can offer the traveller is sp-a-ce to relax and be comfortable. I hate small mingy rooms.

This place has sp-a-ce --a good lounge area with a well equipped kitchen, a seperate bedroom and bathroom. It was clean, light, neatly furnished and 130 bucks a night.

Also a friendly and helpful manager who I noticed took the trouble to seek feedback on the restuarant we'd been to, so she could keep abreast for recommendations.

Its on an attractive tree lined street, and I suspect its the closest motel to the town centre.

(It didn't look much from the street)

A word about Gore, a place which suprised me. I'd had the impression Gore was dullsville, but its actually a very pretty town. Amongst things to see is a very good public art gallery with a quite astonishing African collection, including huge wooden sculptures that are very imposing. Its in a building funded from the other side of the world by (this is true but hard to believe) - Andrew Carnegie,the old time Scots American tycoon. How or why I've no idea. Just one of those strange things you stumble across while travelling - from Carnegie Hall on Broadway, to a Carnegie building in Gore, New Zealand..

Room Tip: Unasked, they offered to show a room. It's always worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Nice units with everything close and handy to walk to. The units were well presented. We used Gore as a base after flying in to Dunedin and then visiting relations in Lumsden, before travelling back to Dunedin.
Countdown and New World supermarkets in walking distance - and Liquorland just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent five nights at Riverlea Motel and have nothing but praise for the motel and its operators. Rooms are large, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The current operators would have to be the most helpful moteliers in the region. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
If you want value for money in pleasant surrounds in Gore, you would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than Riverlea.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverlea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlea Motel

Address: 46-48 Hokonui Drive, Gore, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverlea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverlea Motel to your Saves list