We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little rough around the edges, but great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windjammer Inn
Save
You added Windjammer Inn to your Saves list
103 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little rough around the edges, but great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights and booked at the last minute. It's off season so very quiet. The best thing going is the amazing view. We were on the top floor on the end. Wonderful! Although too cold to use the pool, the hot tub was a bonus. Weaknesses: thin towels, water tastes funny, room smelled a bit like a former smoking room. But did I mention the view???

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
66
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. We had a room overlooking the ocean that was furnished very nicely. The only thing we didn't have that I would prefer to have was a coffee maker. They have coffee in the lobby every morning anyway so that's not a great problem. These people are very friendly and helpful in every way. We have stayed here several times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was an unexpected highlight of a week touring the outer banks and crystal coast. The pool and hot tub were steps from the dunes. Off-season (week of Oct 1) we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Morehead City is just minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a small, relaxed, casual place with updated furnishings that worked perfectly for us: Morning coffee, microwave and frig for anything else from the grocery store nearby, luggage carts for the elevator, sparkling pool and hot tub at just the right temperature, and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Grab hotel beach towels and ice from the machine on the way out the door to the private beach with umbrellas and chairs to do some body surfing and watch the sunset. The hotel was full for the 4 nights we were there in Sept, but we felt like we were alone in a lovely, quiet paradise. The indoor shower by the pool was perfect for a farewell dip in the ocean after checkout. Reasonable rates and friendly folks -- what could be better? A little vacation well worth the drive from Atlanta!

Room Tip: Enjoy the abundance of fresh seafood: Try the Clamdigger down the road. Biking and hiking are grea...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Jammer from Sept. 9TH through the14TH...Only wish we could have stayed longer!!!...We have been coming here several years..in May and Sept...Always have a wonderful time and can't wait for May 2013 to come!!...The staff is wonderful...Many thanks to MaryAnn for putting up with my hubbie and looking for his fish sandwich jokes and to Mark for helping with booking our rooms and also for the super fast service when our tv wasn't working (the plug was pulled out)) lol .We also like to thank the cleaning staff for leaving extra towels and the extra nice touch in the way they fold them...It is very much appreciated....We highly recommend the Windjammer...You all take care till we see in again in May 2013!..Nick and Arlene

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was not our first choice of places to stay and we ended up booking two rooms the night before our stay. We were very pleasantly surprised. The lobby isn't elegant or spacious and it isn't a 5-star resort, but it certainly is very nice for the money. The rooms were very pleasant, the views were lovely, and shower we had was great! They provide complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas. We were up early the next day and saw them sweeping all around the pool, outdoor shower, and boardwalk going to the beach. Overall, it was very nice stay and I'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from another pleasant stay at the Windjammer Inn. Been staying here every summer for nearly 10 years now, and always happy. The Windjammer is a family-friendly oceanfront hotel. Nothing fancy, just a real comfy beach hotel.
My title reflects an unpleasant moment this visit. The Windjammer provides a limited number of umbrellas and beach chairs for no charge - a bonus for families on a budget. The chairs are meant to share, not to hog. This year, for the first time, I found guests going out early in the morning, claiming a set of chairs and an umbrella by posting towels and other assorted paraphenalia, then leaving the beach for hours at a time - then claiming 'this is my chair' on return. Not friendly.
So do go, enjoy, and please share.

Room Tip: I like the 3rd floor. Great view of the ocean. A little sound sometimes from the pool area, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Inn

Address: 103 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Windjammer Bed Breakfast
Windjammer Hotel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.