We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaler Inn Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whaler Inn Beach Club
Save
You added Whaler Inn Beach Club to your Saves list
323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Willis, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Whaler Inn several times. We have always had a pleasant experience. Our rooms have been clean and comfortable and the staff works hard to make everything enjoyable. The ocean view is awesome and the short walk to the beach is so nice. We did have an unwanted visitor on our last trip in July but the staff sent someone immediately to set mouse traps and they were so understanding when we decided to cut our vacation short by one day. I am somewhat of a wimp concerning mice. Upon arriving home we received the nicest letter from the Whaler apologizing and assuring us that they had pest control in the next day to take care of the matter and I am sure they did. We plan to go back and stay at the Whaler Inn next year and our daughter and her family will be joining us. Great job guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
31
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perris, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Each year I visit NC and always stay at the Whaler Inn. I highly recommend, the staff and the rooms are wonderful. They make me feel at home during every visit. The visiting cats on the balcony are also another nice thing. Can't wait for my next visit in January!

Room Tip: Oceanfront are great , but sideview 3rd floor rooms also have great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The lack of a stable wifi connection prompted us to write this review. Even the Super8 we stayed in on the way had wifi, a pool, breakfast, and better furnishings. Can't believe we paid so much for what we got. The beach access was nice, as was the semi-enclosed pool and hot tub. Bring your own towels. The fact that the roaches were as large as my thumb was not appealing. The staff wasn't at all helpful in solving our concern over wifi. One said she doesn't use it, and can't see why others have to. The only positives that we should share are that it is across from the library and Aquarium, and you don't need to stay a full week. That was nice. The library and Aquarium had free wifi, as did the McDonalds 20 minutes up the road. Bathroom sink wouldn't drain. No corkscrew to use, and had to ask another guest. Bring your own covers it...including a smartphone for communication.

Room Tip: A tip for choosing a room might best be solved by staying elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pine Knoll Shores hotels

Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Decided to do a very last minute trip to Emerald Isle, almost everything was booked up. After reading some trip advisor reviews decided to take a chance on the Whaler. As a previous reviewer stated the facility was built before zoning and is very close to the beach. We had a room on the side and the view was incredible, pelicans were flying right by the balcony. Actually preferred the side room, the walled in balcony was very private, more so than direct oceanfront. Loved Salter Path, very quiet, beach was uncrowded. The room was reasonable at 165. a night, but it was dirty. There was a mouse in the bathroom, he disappeared into a large hole behind the toilet. The sliding glass door did not lock properly and was about to come off the track. The room was accessed by a wooden door onto the balcony, then the glass door with the lock. So it was not a problem once we were in the room, but not safe when a person was out and about. Several of the hallways were completely without light fixtures making walking around at night uncomfortable. I enjoyed my stay but was not impressed.

Room Tip: Check room cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in unit A3 which has a side view (no view of beach). But that was OK, a short walk up a grass yard and you were at the ocean. Our unit offered 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen & living area. There was a privacy curtain between the 2 queen beds. The kitchen needed some updating, but served us well. It was nice to be able to pack a small cooler, walk a short distance to the beach. This is a family friendly place, you could leave your chairs, boogie boards, etc on our small patio with no worries of anyone taking anything. People even left there umbrellas, chairs on the beach overnight and nothing was bothered. We did a couple of low country boils while there and there was not a pot large enough in the kitchen to accompolish this...so we went to the office and were able to borrow one...no worries. Beds were very firm but comfortable. The grassey area facing the ocean was wonderful. Since we didn't have ocean view, it was nice to walk out, sit in the swing and drink my morning coffee or evening wine. Great place, I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are accustomed to staying at a Ritz Hotel - this is not the place for you. What you get here is the best beach access anywhere on the island. This is an older building built before any dune laws. That makes it closer to the beach than any other building on the island. You are really yards away from the ocean. The building is old - but they have done a lot of renovations to the rooms. This is a time share facility. The rooms are comfortable and clean. If you want to cook in your room - there is everything there. Also - there are outside grills. If you need anything else, it is available in the office area. There is a weather protected pool for the rainy days. We have spent many vacation days here and have always been pleased. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront efficiency on the top floor, and other family members stayed in an oceanfront two bedroom on the first floor. We have stayed here many times over the years, but it has been a few years since our last visit. The updated tile floors are a nice change (they used to be carpeted and got wet and mildewed often). Both rooms were comfy, quiet and mostly clean. When we arrived, our AC unit wasn't working very well. I mentioned it to the front desk, and while I was at the water boggan with my kids on the 4th of July holiday, maintenance came and replaced the whole unit! The tiny kitchen in my room was stocked better than I expected, and I was able to cook a meal for 4 adults in there. My almost 12 year old slept on the pull-out sofa and said he was comfortable, and I shared the double (wish it were bigger) bed with my 6 year old. If my husband had joined us, we would have been cramped. Our bed did not have the plastic zipped cover on it mentioned in another review, but it did have a soft removable mattress cover. The mattress was very firm and the pillows were pleasantly plump. The pool was not as clean as I would have liked, but we went swimming anyway. The beach was fabulous. It was really nice to finish off the day in the swing facing the ocean, although our view was blocked by other guests leaving their sun tents out overnight. Overall, it was a good weekend.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way to go. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Knoll Shores
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Silver Creek Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaler Inn Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaler Inn Beach Club

Address: 323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Whaler Inn Beach Club Hotel Atlantic Beach
Whaler Hotel Beach
Whaler Inn Beach Club Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaler Inn Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.