We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4th of July weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaler Inn Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whaler Inn Beach Club
Save
You added Whaler Inn Beach Club to your Saves list
323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Eastern North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good 4th of July weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront efficiency on the top floor, and other family members stayed in an oceanfront two bedroom on the first floor. We have stayed here many times over the years, but it has been a few years since our last visit. The updated tile floors are a nice change (they used to be carpeted and got wet and mildewed often). Both rooms were comfy, quiet and mostly clean. When we arrived, our AC unit wasn't working very well. I mentioned it to the front desk, and while I was at the water boggan with my kids on the 4th of July holiday, maintenance came and replaced the whole unit! The tiny kitchen in my room was stocked better than I expected, and I was able to cook a meal for 4 adults in there. My almost 12 year old slept on the pull-out sofa and said he was comfortable, and I shared the double (wish it were bigger) bed with my 6 year old. If my husband had joined us, we would have been cramped. Our bed did not have the plastic zipped cover on it mentioned in another review, but it did have a soft removable mattress cover. The mattress was very firm and the pillows were pleasantly plump. The pool was not as clean as I would have liked, but we went swimming anyway. The beach was fabulous. It was really nice to finish off the day in the swing facing the ocean, although our view was blocked by other guests leaving their sun tents out overnight. Overall, it was a good weekend.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way to go. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wish I had known the following information before booking a stay at Whaler Inn Beach Club. The "motel rooms" only have one full sized bed. Might be ok for some, not for us. No desk or table either. The mattress itself was inside a zipped plastic cover that we could feel and hear every time we moved. A manager told me that all of the mattresses in the hotel had the same covering, so if the idea of spending your vacation sleeping on a crib pad doesn't sound appealing, you might want to consider elsewhere altogether. Also, the day that we left I discovered about a dozen red, itchy bites on my arms and legs. Sand fleas or something worse, you be the judge. We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pine Knoll Shores hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned from our spring trip to the Whaler Inn Beach Club in Atlantic Beach, NC, or Pine Knoll Shores, and it was fantastic! The weather was superb all week, with only one day of rain; sunshine and warm temps otherwise. The facility is recently renovated with new furniture, tiled floors, new kitchen cabinets, and granite counter tops--beautiful! With our 2BR/2BA unit, and full kitchen, we had all the comforts and conveniences of home. With the laundry room in the unit, no need to do laundry when back home. From our oceanfront balcony, we were able to watch the dolphins feed and even caught a glimpse of the Iron Steamer wreckage at low tide. Another wonderful week during the "off-season" that we love because there are no lines and not scorching hot. Highly recommended to check out!

Room Tip: higher floors provide a great view of the ocean, however, lower level provides immediate access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situated perfectly mid-island right on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, the Whaler Inn though not new, is newly refurbished inside and out! It is the best rental or buy on the beach with tile floors,granite counter tops in new kitchens. The Whaler layout includes 2 BR & 2BA units or 1BR& 2BA units with laundry room included. There are accomodations for 6 in all units except efficiencies.
Hospitality, management and maintentance all are A+. The enclosed pool,jacuzzi,and small game room are user friendly.
The Whaler location offers easy access to the Public Libraby,Fire and Police Dept.. NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and a variety of food services and shopping. A Movie Theater, Fort Macon Historic Site, Crystal Coast Theater for performing arts in Morehead City and water sports and fishing, right off the patio are enticements for all age groups.
The linens are freshly hung, the beds are made and the ocean view calls our names everytime we arrive.
If looking for ownershio in Time Share or Interval Trade, you can not beat the Whaler Inn prices. Even " Winter Weeks" at the Whaler Inn are great vacation or"Time Share" weeks.
Having owned for 20 years, my family and I are "Cheer Leaders" for N.C.'s best possible getaway.
Try it,you'll like it!!!

E. Lawrence
Mebane, NC

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.... Great views from top to bottom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an excellent vacation in February 2013 at the Whaler Inn.Everyone was friendly,helpful, and newly refurnished.We look forward to our next visit...well worth the comfort of home...we had great beds, nice shower,lovely kitchen,all the accommodations of home.the beach is right at your finger tips..children would love it.. Timeshares are excellent prices...

Room Tip: Oceanfront is extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane,NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Love the Whaler Inn Beach Club.....many new upgrades....new kitchen countertops and cabinets....new ceramic tile throughout. Very comfortable. Great any time of the year...heated pool and hot tub. The staff are all very accommodating and always go out of their way to be helpful! Right on the beach......nothing like the view!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Love this place! Great family atmosphere. I feel comfortable sending my 12yo and 5yo together down to the beach while I watch from my third floor balcony. Decent wifi means I can choose between cable or my Hulu or Netflix accounts. The kitchens are in the process of being updated and the new ones are wonderful! They have moved the frig so there's enough counter space now. Plus having the washer and dryer in unit is great to keep up with sandy and chlorinated clothes.
My family has been coming here for years. And I'm seriously considering be a third generation owner of one of these time shares!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean front unit. Totally worth it to sit and watch the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Knoll Shores
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
4.8 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantis Lodge
Atlantis Lodge
#1 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
4.4 mi away
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaler Inn Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaler Inn Beach Club

Address: 323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Whaler Inn Beach Club Hotel Atlantic Beach
Whaler Hotel Beach
Whaler Inn Beach Club Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing