We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Digger Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clam Digger Inn
Save
You added Clam Digger Inn to your Saves list
511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Clam Digger Inn. It is not a chain hotel with granite counter tops in the bathrooms, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant located in the hotel. The beach was very nice. Chairs and umbrellas were available for rent. In the pool area there was a snack bar with drinks that were very reasonably priced. You can't beat the ocean view rooms with the private balconies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    34
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
102
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a military funeral so the hotel was nice enough to let us check in early. Upon arrival we checked into our room which was a disaster. It was not clean and there was blood and used condoms on the sheets on both beds. We asked the front to change the sheets and they never did. The staff was rude and acted as though everything was our fault. I contacted the hotel about my stay and all the general manager offered to do was refund $25.00 after I paid over $100. When I checked out I was told I would not be paying for my room but looks like this hotel is full of liars as staff. Do not waste your money here. I hope the health department shuts this place down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stay here a couple of times a year - Dora, the front desk manager, is a Saint! A much better value than the Doubletree. My only complaint is that they have very uncomfortable beach chairs (for rent) and the BEACH MASTER IS A REAL CURMUDGEON!!!!!

Very clean and well equipped rooms with a balcony facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at this resort. It's not a very large property but has all the amenities one would desire in a beach 'getaway'. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. I wasn't overly impressed with the food, but there are restaurants close by. The beach location is fantastic! All rooms have are ocean front. Comfortable beds, spacious balconies, and the BEST views. The pool was very nice, and we thoroughly enjoyed the poolside cocktails. I will be staying here again next month. I was SHOCKED at the low price. They even have table/chair/umbrella combos to rent (only $25 a day). I'm looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love staying here for our first few days before getting into our beachfront rental. Take full advantage of the pool and jacuzzi with full service poolside bar. Can't beat all oceanfront rooms. We have stayed here for years when it was even call the Ramada. Downstairs restaurant has great food at a reasonable price. Well worth the stay. Would prefer smoking on the balconies though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an older hotel and not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination, but it is very clean and has a stunning view of the ocean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The Clam Digger has everything you could possibly want, all under one roof. Pool, hot tub, pool bar, restaurant and lounge. For an additional cost they also provide a chair and umbrella rental and set up. We used this service and it was wonderful to not have to lug our own chairs down to the beach each day. The only time we used the restaurant was for lunch one day and it was very good. The pool was nice and is a welcomed alternative when it is just too hot on the beach. I found the mattress to be a little too firm so I did mark them down a little on sleep quality.
This trip was a get away for just my husband and me, but we will be back again with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. This was exactly what we wanted. The king room on the 7th floor was great. A nice room with microwave and refrigerator and a table for two. The bed was comfortable and wifi was available. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. At low tide the beach is great for walking. The chairs on the balcony are comfortable and the table had built in cup holders. The bathroom is very small but adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Knoll Shores
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
5.9 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Silver Creek Inn
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clam Digger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clam Digger Inn

Address: 511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms with small refrigerators, microwaves and private balconies. Full Service Restaurant open daily 6:30 am - 9 pm. Lounge open nightly with DJ on weekends. Meeting space available for groups from 15 to 120 persons. Only 1 mile to the Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium. Six miles to Ft Macon State Park. We are a family oriented resort - children and young adults under 21 must be with parents. We do not accept pets. We do not accept reservations over the internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clam Digger Hotel Atlantic Beach
Ramada Atlantic Beach
Clamdigger Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Digger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.