We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season packages are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Digger Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clam Digger Inn
Save
You added Clam Digger Inn to your Saves list
511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
SE USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Off-season packages are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We live nearby and always wanted to try one of their room/meal off-season deals. This weekend we finally did. And it was fun. First of all, the rooms have great ocean views--it feels almost like being on a boat. Watching the sea change colors and all the activities n the beach beats TV! Our room was fine, the bed comfy and the linens soft. Even the pillows were nice--the the usual rocks they give you.

For our two dinners, we went for the steak and it was fine...the micro-waved taters were the usual limp ones you expect, the house salad was nice. But the restaurant shines at breakfast. Our ham and cheese omelets tasted home-made, the taters ditto, nice and crisp, the biscuits almost floated off the plate they were so light--and the coffee was good and strong and our sweet waitress kept our cups topped off.

It was fun to play tourist in our own backyard...we got in two long beach walks, some reading on the supplied chaise lounges, a walk in the maritime forest behind the nearby aquarium (no fee required), a visit to Fort Macon--don't miss the new visitors center displays and film--and had a superb lunch at nearby Crab's Claw.

I must commend each staff person we came in contact with--all were friendly, out-going, helpful and just downright nice folks. We'll come back next year for a winter ocean getaway. I like The Clam Digger Inn...it's the way beach hotels used to be before they got all slick and corporate...down home friendly rules here.

Room Tip: We had a two-bed double on the fifth floor and were happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    34
    25
    17
See reviews for
81
102
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I attended a conference at the Clam Digger Inn. The hotel was incredibly accommodating to the needs and special requests of the conference attendees. I was very impressed by that. We had a very unique group. The rooms and facilities were clean but extremely dated. The beach access and views were perfect. Overall, our stay was good. The hotel itself was quiet. The staff was friendly. The restaurant was good for breakfast, but the other meals were hit or miss (we ate off property the rest of the time). However, the location to other area attractions was perfect. It was a decent stay for the amount of money we paid for our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansboro, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Clamdigger in Atlantic Beach NC. 1st time was in October 2011 and now March 2013. Our son is stationed at Cherry Point NC so we vacation with a purpose. We love that all rooms have ocean views and direct access to the beach. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are small but we really don't spend a lot of time in the room. Every room has a balcony which we love sitting and watching the ocean. Off season prices are great. Restuarant is okay little over priced. Location is great for beach lovers but a small drive to shopping and restuarants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This little treasure will forever be a favorite of ours. No matter how many times we go back we are always welcomed with courteous friendly staff. The rooms are clean and comfy, and the ocean view the every room offers is simply breath taking! I will come here always to get away from the real world fr a night or two. The peace and tranquility offered here is unavailable at most places!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Well here we are again at our annual winter weekend getaway trip. Nothing's changed and we like it that way! We got the Friday /Saturday package which included food. Best bargin anywhere! The views are GREAT and the staff is better than some 5 star hotels.I needed a extra pillow which they brought up and wouldn't take my tip that I tried to give.This place is like a time capsule from the 70's. I expected to see Kitty,Eric,Hyde, Donna, and the rest of the cast from the 70's SHOW pop up at any time! Only thing I can say is ..slip on the BELLBOTTOMS head to the lounge and dance the night away! A good time at a great price, during hard economic times!
Booking Summer Trip before we leave, maybe we'll meet the Foreman's during that stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The outside of the hotel resembles a prison so we didn't know what to expect.
We were pleasantly surprised that the interior was more inviting in a kind of old school way.
We enjoyed a breathtaking ocean view, friendly staff, clean room and pretty good dining.
We hope to return again and spend more time at the Clam Digger.

Room Tip: We had an excellent view of the ocean from the 6th floor. We spotted dolphins close to shore and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just got home from spending 2 weeks off and on at the Clam Digger. We were visiting from Calif. in order to greet our incoming US Marine after deployment. Needless to say our schedule needed to be very flexible not knowing for sure when he would return. Doug at the front desk went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. The Thanksgiving buffet is amazing, so much wonderful food. Our waitress Lisa made sure that our Marine had a thanksgiving meal when he finally returned. All of the waitresses were very personable and greeted us each day like we were family. I think it was Bernice, who is in charge in the restuarant and Pam, who served us breakfast each day, both of these ladies made us feel welcome. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms over the course of the two weeks and all of them were clean and very comfortable beds. We will defitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Knoll Shores
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
5.9 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Silver Creek Inn
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 6 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clam Digger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clam Digger Inn

Address: 511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms with small refrigerators, microwaves and private balconies. Full Service Restaurant open daily 6:30 am - 9 pm. Lounge open nightly with DJ on weekends. Meeting space available for groups from 15 to 120 persons. Only 1 mile to the Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium. Six miles to Ft Macon State Park. We are a family oriented resort - children and young adults under 21 must be with parents. We do not accept pets. We do not accept reservations over the internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clam Digger Hotel Atlantic Beach
Ramada Atlantic Beach
Clamdigger Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Digger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.