We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oceanfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis Lodge
Save
You added Atlantis Lodge to your Saves list
123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Oceanfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was our first stay at the Atlantis Lodge and we'll definitely be back. It was recommended to us as the ONLY dog-friendly oceanfront resort on the island. I read all of the reviews here and we were content with the good reviews. Their website is a VERY good representation of what you get. It's an older resort, but the efficiency we had was very clean, very quiet, and met every need. Extra furniture covers for our yellow lab, stove, frig, freezer, dishes, glasses, cookware, coffeepot. Great pool. Excellent beach attendants (no chair or umbrella rental fees), set-up and take-down is complimentary. Grills were provided outside although we didn't use them, DVD library, plentiful trash cans and scoops to clean up after pets throughout the property. Overall, an EXCELLENT long weekend. We'll be back, have no problem recommending this resort to any pet-owners who don't want to board their pet during a relaxing vacation! Just check out their website first...it's a "classic", it's not a spa, but it meets every need. Only down-side...wireless internet in the room was sporatic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantislodge, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Atlantis! We love it when our "first-timers" have such a good experience. Thanks for saying that our website is a "VERY good representation". I don't like surprises so I know our guests wouldn't like them! Please do come back and please tell others about us! I'm so sorry about the Wi-Fi. Our "Access Point" went out while you were here but we now have it fixed. Hope to see you soon! Donna Nally - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    47
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
106
128
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is the perfect place for a family vacation. Although we are not pet owners, this is a pet friendly place, however you wouldn't know it unless you actually saw the pets. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the amenities are everything you need for a vacation. There was a family next to us with a large dog, and he was very quiet. We only heard him bark a couple of times and that was at some sea gulls overhead.
The housekeeper we had, Sandra, was exceptionally nice. She provided us with everything we needed and was polite, courteous and cleaned our room quickly and perfectly. She went over and beyond to make sure our room was perfect for our stay.
The office personnel were very helpful with any need we had. They have free wifi but it was down for the first two days we were there. They were very apologetic and even let us use the office to get a signal for what we needed the computer for.
The rooms are spacious and the views are breathtaking!
The pool is really nice. If you don't like sun, there's plenty of places where the shade trees cover parts of the pool and the sitting areas, but there is also places where the sun shines directly on the pool too. It is a quiet and serene place, perfect for play or relaxation. The kiddie pool was also great! There is a waterfall from the main pool that goes into the kiddie pool.
I could go on and on! No complaints from us. We are planning a vacation there next year with both sides of our families!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Remember when hotels on the beach were comfortable, no-fuss places to rest and relax because they were owned by individuals and not corporate conglomerates? Atlantis Lodge fits the bill. It's not the spiffiest hotel, nor does it have the latest and greatest equipment (no Wi-FI). What it does have is a neighborly friendliness that is tough to replicate. In addition, the owners are dog lovers, so four-legged critters are always welcome (the only hotel on the beach that is dog-friendly). And it's a kick to stay in a hotel that looks like a set from Mad Men. Nothing fancy, nothing extraordinary. Just a decent place to hang your hat while you frolic on the beach and rest your weary bones.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantislodge, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Yikes! So sorry about the Wi-Fi! Our "Access Point" went out while you were here so we were without it in the rooms for about 6 days. We did have it available if you sat in the Lobby with your laptop. We have it fixed now! Thanks so much for your kind words! We pride ourselves in the fact that we are the ONLY ocean-front, pet-friendly hotel on the entire Crystal Coast! I don't remember "Mad Men" but I imagine it's from the 60's or 70's? I've had people tell me they felt like they were on the set of "Beach Blanket Bingo!" Does that make sense? Anyway, hope you come back and glad you loved it! We sure do! Donna Nally - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am fortunate to be part of the Mile of Hope weekend for kids with cancer we host in Atlantic Beach each May. We use the Atlantis as one of our host hotels, and Donna and her folks treat us like royalty! I was raised with an oceanfront hotel in the family, and know how much work it is to maintain a property like this. Don't expect this property to be a super plush five-star resort---It's family and pet-friendly. And I love that it's a time capsule with the retro furniture! Super clean, quiet, direct access to the beach with umbrellas and chairs available, and a staff that's working for you. If there's a problem, pick up the phone and it will be solved. And if you're a bird lover, bring your binoculars and sit on your balcony and watch them for hours in the plantings that help protect the hotel from the beach, or feeding at one of the many feeders replenished each day. I've stayed on the each of the floors, and the view depends on your location. Be sure and ask about your potential view when you book .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantislodge, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Oh.... How we LOVE our "Mile of Hope" families! We look forward to it every year. What a precious group of kids and families! I thank you from the bottom of my heart for loving us as much as we love you! Thanks for the great review and we'll see you next May if not before. Love you guys! Donna Nally - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Booked the reservation because of the great review that they had already received on here.Not knowing what to expect ,I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived.The property was well maintained and sits off the main road enough to keep the traffic from being annoying.The staff (Missy)at the office were very nice and we checked in within a few minutes.The rooms were very clean and the linens smelled like they should,CLEAN! We took our dog and even though this is a pet friendly place,there was no sign or smell of any pets being in the room.Even had a few dog treats for her on the bed when we arrived.Never even heard a dog bark at night the whole time because they have some guidelines that the guests all seemed to follow very well,and they were a lot of dogs there. If you are looking for a quiet place that accepts your pets with open arms,this is your place.From being able to walk out the door and down the walkway that is no more than a minutes walk from beach was icing on the cake for me.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorktown, va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

With direct access to the beach and beach amenities readily available at no cost, Atlantis lodge is a perfect setting. It is not for anyone who wants a luxurious room and quality accommodations. The rooms are old and the furniture may have seen a better time. But it is clean, very friendly and the staff helpful. A 3rd (top) floor room will give you a beautiful oceanview with your own little terrace/deck. There is also a ground floor "common" area with swings, grills and showers. A short walk puts you in the surf. There are pet receptacles conveniently loctaed and the gardens are lovely and well-loved. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our stay at the Atlantis was fantastic. Mike at the front desk was very helpful. The rooms are small basic clean but, plenty of space for 2 people and fur baby for a few days. The view was amazing to wake up to. Our only problem was the grass had fire ants. I found out the hard way. lol We would have liked to take our dog to the pool but, understood that it's a small space to have too many dogs.
We are looking forward to going back. It's nice area to visit and a great place to stay.
The Spouter Inn was a great place for dinner at sunset.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Lodge

Address: 123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis is a special place created from a beautifully wooded, oceanfront site, unlike any other on the coast. Most of our units are suites with efficiency kitchens, dining, living and sleeping areas. All have patios or decks facing the surf, cable TV with remote, HBO, and all expected amenities including high-speed internet access. And yes, we do accept your pets in most units at a minimal fee. We are a very special place on the "Crystal Coast." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantis Motel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.