We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis Lodge
Save
You added Atlantis Lodge to your Saves list
123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband booked the reservation based on Trip Advisor reviews. We planned to bring our nearly 80 lb German Shepherd with us for a late summer beach weekend. It is an older property but well maintained with clean rooms, lovely landscaping, great beach view, and everyone seems to have their dog! There is a dog washing station, water bowls and pooper scoopers and bags provided. Beach lounge chairs and umbrellas are provided. Nice pool but we didn't use. We will be back next fall!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I love the review title!!! With the cooler weather we do have a lot more dogs visiting and strutting their stuff! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    46
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
103
126
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I love that the hotel provides recycle bags and encourages people to reuse towels. I stayed at a home in Salter Path down the street and was so disappointed by the lack of eco-awareness and amenities (it was far more difficult to recycle than it should ever be) in that area, but Atlantic Beach and this hotel in particular seem to be on the up-and-up. I am very pleased.
The staff are also friendly, and the rooms are really cozy. Our pup loved it too!

Room Tip: Bottom level offers more of suite with a small kitchen and a divider in the room for optional sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are big nature lovers and its important for all of us to do our part here on the beach. Hope to see you and your precious pup again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swannanoa, nc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my first trip to the Outer Banks and I spent the last night at the Atlantis Lodge because I had read about it in the NC State Magazine and it was everything I thought it would be. My only regret is that I only got to stay one day. The room condition was immaculate with the cleanliness being apparent when you walked in. This lodge just glows with the hometown feeling of friendliness and family atmosphere. The grounds are gorgeous with everything well kept and arranged nicely. The only day I stayed I got the privilege of meeting the daughter Donna and had a long conversatation with her and her Dad's little puppy Bingo. She was very friendly and accomodating to my family and made every effort to make our stay the best it could be. What a great lodge. I absolutely loved it too if you love the beach, sunsets and
quiet time I have found the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Your comments made me smile while reading them! It is a fun gang that we have working here and we enjoy making you feel special. The next time you come visit you must stay longer! Everyone needs to feel the sand on their toes every once in a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Atantis Lodge is a hotel unlike any other I have stayed in. First, it accepts well-behaved dogs. Second, the suite style room I was given was more than large enough with a sitting area and full kitchen. It is not, however, luxurious. You will not find a bar kid-friendly activities, or a place to eat on the site. You will find over the top friendliness from all the staff, from the maid who has treats and a spare sheet for your pup, to the beach attendant who sets up your complimentary chair and umbrella. If you are looking to party, dine or be entertained on site, you will need to consider other locations elsewhere. If you are looking to relax, enjoy a fabulous view and beach access, then this is the place. But be aware that practically every guest will have a furry friend, so if you are not traveling with or don't care for dogs, or expect some of the other resort type amenities, you may be better off at the Doubletree less than a mile away.

Room Tip: All rooms have ample balconies; higher floors naturally have better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are unlink any other hotel is too true! Most pet owners enjoy a more relaxing stay for them and their furry friend. The Double Tree is also a wonderful hotel to visit and its close to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent two lovely nights at the Atlantis Lodge in August, 2013. It is very well maintained, charming and family oriented. It is older, as most properties are on the East coast, but our room was clean and comfortable and the grounds were appealing. From our balcony, we enjoyed watching families grilling and just enjoying time together on the beautiful lawn and patios overlooking the ocean. We talked to some folks who have been coming there for 20 years! Helpful staff position a beach chair and umbrella on the sand and graciously watch over children's shoes left on the boardwalk. Beach toys can be borrowed, and there is even a dog bath to get the sand off your pet.
We hope to return with family. Some rooms are adjoining, and many balconies have doors that can be opened to admit the neighbors.
A tremendous thunderstorm kept us from some activities, although we discovered the third floor space which has a large TV, books, game tables and space for groups.
The beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I think you just wrote our next add! I always enjoy watching families come together and friends catching up. Thunder storms are neat to watch as they head over the ocean and light up the sky! Hope to see you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Atlantis...always do. We love our dogs and are happy that this ONE hotel in Pine Knoll Shores offers our furry children a family vacation with us.

One mark of a clean hotel for me is the smell of bleach on the bedding linens, (not human smell). This place passed the sniff test for us. We always take our own quilted queen-sized covers for the bed and furniture out of respect, but they provide sheets for same.

They provide a great place to bathe your dog when coming in from the beach and even give complementary shampoo and conditioner. This was great.

Two negatives are that they need chained security on the entry door so that you feel safer while in your room, and can crack your door to visitors safely. It would be courteous also to allow at least one deck for smoking. The wind from the sea disperses any smoke smell, so it is unreasonable to prohibit smoking everywhere on all decks. For the price, one should be allowed to smoke AND have a protected sea view.

This is a lovely place that allows you to keep your dog family with you on vacations! Hopefully other businesses will evolve to such acceptance.

Room Tip: We like the first floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I love that you call it a "happy place"! This hotel is such a peaceful spot that we have never had to think about installing a chain for the door, but we understand the concern. With the smoking I know it can be an inconvenience at times. Our third floor lounge area has a smoking post and you can't beat the view from there! Come and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The property is beautifully maintained-the room was immaculate and had everything needed-the views were wonderful -the beach was so soft and very walkable and the "guests" ( canines) were extremely well behaved . Our dog Piper loved socializing.
Mike and Mary Beth at the front desk were very personable and helpful
We are relative "newbees" since we have now stayed here only 2 times. We are in agreement with the multiple positive previous reviews=what a hidden gem !!!!
We highly recommend Atlantis Lodge and have already made our reservation for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
A lot of love and care goes into the property and the staff is wonderful! Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Lodge

Address: 123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis is a special place created from a beautifully wooded, oceanfront site, unlike any other on the coast. Most of our units are suites with efficiency kitchens, dining, living and sleeping areas. All have patios or decks facing the surf, cable TV with remote, HBO, and all expected amenities including high-speed internet access. And yes, we do accept your pets in most units at a minimal fee. We are a very special place on the "Crystal Coast." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantis Motel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.