We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful 60s era pet-friendly beachfront hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pine Knoll Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis Lodge
Save
You added Atlantis Lodge to your Saves list
123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truth or Consequences, NM
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delightful 60s era pet-friendly beachfront hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantis for two nights and had a wonderful time. It has an exclusive feeling but with reasonable prices. All the rooms are beachfront, and one can sleep with the balcony door open to listen to the ocean music all night long. Our room was spotless, kitchenette was well-stocked. Although rooms aren't modern, the authentic mid-century look is fabulous! This hotel has been well-loved and cared for by three generations of the same family which is obvious to the guests. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had only planned on staying one night, but couldn't resist staying a second!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Looks like you fell into our little trap...make the place so charming you extend your stay :) So happy you decided to stay with us longer than expected and hopefully we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    47
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
105
128
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice resort on the Atlantic. We had a very nice size king room. We were offered and upgrade when we arrived if we wanted cooking facilities. We kept our room, but greatly appreciated the offer. This is a very pet friendly hotel. The staff is excellent and the guests were also very kind. Jackie was wonderful at the front desk. Very kind. We watched the bunnies play in the grassy area and also all the pretty birds that were nesting. The beach was very nice. Lots of beach chairs and umbrellas for the guests. Very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor, ocean front. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and like so many others loved the wildlife :) Maybe next time we will be able to convince you to take the free upgrade, we think you will love the extra space. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently went to stay at Atlantis with our daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter. They had stayed there last fall and wanted to visit again. None of us were diappointed. It is not a "fancy" hotel-motel, but it is a very clean, comfortable place to stay with a great view and location! The grounds and beach are awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are so happy you all had a nice stay. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Atlantis is unique(where else can you watch bunnies hop outside your door at the beach?), beautiful, clean, comfortable, friendly, and welcomes pets.
Views from the upper floors are expansive of the ocean and beach, with the Cape Lookout light blinking in the distance.
We've been going there for about 6 or 7 years and always see many of the same staff members. The owners live onsite and their daughter is the manager. This makes for a very special place where everyone bends over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. There is always maintenance and grounds work going on and even though it is an older place, it is well taken care of.
I much prefer this to the "corporate feel" of a high rise hotel or condo.
We hope to return many years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. It's so nice to know that our guests love the bunnies and birds as much as we do. Also, thanks for coming back again and again...Our guests are what make the Atlantis special to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We traveled to our oldest son's Marine Corp Combat Training Graduation in Camp Geiger. Decided since we were taking the trip that we would make the best of it, only about 35 miles from the base, we found Atlantis online, and it will definitely be a place we return!!! Clean rooms, comfy beds, great views, and wonderful people! Love that they allow pets. We went in February, but hope to return for some warmer weather. I can definitely imagine sleeping with the patio door open and listening to the ocean! The only thing I would change would be to add a calendar showing open dates online, so you know what is available and at what time of the year before you call. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon during warmer weather. You suggestion for an availability calendar is a great one and we will see if it is something that is possible on our web site. Thanks again and spring is here so it's time to come back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Friendly family hotel right on the beach. The garden area is charming, and a wonderful habitat for birds and other small creatures. The view is lovely. We were there in the off-season, and enjoyed the peaceful, cozy retreat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the kind words on the birds and grounds and are so happy you had a peaceful and relaxing stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location makes this place worth the stay if you want to bring your dog to the beach. All rooms are ocean view and the balconies are huge! We loved that we were right on the beach. The dog friendly beach was clean and it appeared that everyone picked up After their pet. The rooms were very clean but could use some updating. Beds were comfy and the room set up worked. The location is worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the cleanliness and convenience of the beach. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Lodge

Address: 123 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis is a special place created from a beautifully wooded, oceanfront site, unlike any other on the coast. Most of our units are suites with efficiency kitchens, dining, living and sleeping areas. All have patios or decks facing the surf, cable TV with remote, HBO, and all expected amenities including high-speed internet access. And yes, we do accept your pets in most units at a minimal fee. We are a very special place on the "Crystal Coast." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantis Motel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.