We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NC Aquarium Package
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While working in Atlantic Beach, NC last week, the project took longer than expected so I had to stay overnight. There are a lot of chaoces in this beach area. This Hampton Inn is directly accross from the Atlantic Ocean and had the best rates, by over $15.00 less per night, versus all the other hotels I checked online that were not even close to the beach.
The front desk person was very cheerful and professional when making the reservation over the phone and when I got there, she made the check-in very smooth and fast.Choose this versus other hotels if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay where the staff are friendly.
The rooms are fantastic and the free breakfast each morning is very good as well. They also have popcorn, coffee and fresh baked cookies in the lobby pretty much all the time.

Room Tip: No views as this hotel is hidden behind large trees, but that is what is required by the City of Pin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    79
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
128
87
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My second floor room was TINY and cramped. The so called "water view" was nonexistent. There was nothing but AC units, gravel and a wall. (see photograph) The AC unit was soooo loud and cut on every 15 min. I didn't sleep at all. I could also hear people in the halls like they were in my room. This was possibly the worst stay of my life. I have never given a bad review before on Trip Advisor. I was VERY disappointed in the whole experience. I have stayed at a lot of Hampton Inns and never had a bad experience, until now. Next time I will go back to the one in Morehead, NC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I’m so sorry you experienced some noise with your air conditioning unit during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent condition and we are sorry to hear you didn’t experience that. However, I would also like to apologize for the room that you received. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience you’ve ever had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. The room was spacious and clean, and had a small kitchen, which was really nice. The front desk staff were very professional and helpful, as were the housekeeping staff. There is complimentary breakfast, which is your typical American (unhealthy except for the fruit) fare, but nice to have included in the price of the room. A really nice place to stay in the area. Quiet and close to the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel for business. The hotel is across the street from the ocean. Even on the second floor you can see the ocean from your room without an obstructed view. The front desk staff were courteous and professional. The room was fresh and clean. The breakfast bar was well stocked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel that is up to contemporary standards (large flat screen tv, spacious room, nice outdoor pool, etc). It is about 3 miles down from the Atlantic Beach causeway and is pretty quiet. Very difficult to see the hotel sign however, any time the sun is setting. It is across the street from the beach, but a public access boardwalk is right across the street. The included breakfast was nice and the staff friendly. Room was kept fairly clean (tho I could tell the floor around the toilet had not been mopped - eeww.). My one main complaint was that the room I was given sat next to a small roof holding satellite dishes and a very bright floodlight pointed directly at the room window. The light seeped through the blackout curtain at night and was very annoying - especially if you'd like to sleep with ambient light from outside and be able to enjoy a sunrise or sunset from your room window. I asked for a room change but was told nothing was available. All the floodlight does is to spotlight part of the front wall of the hotel along a stretch of road that has almost no traffic at night. So, I must question why Hampton Inns would choose to spotlight their hotel for no reason over the comfort of its guests? BTW, the room was 222, so 322 and 422 are probably equally affected.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights for a work function. Room was spacious and comfortable - my room had two double beds with a large sectional sofa and desk in the living area - it could have easily accommodated my family of five if they had been traveling with me. The bathroom was a tight squeeze - it had a full size tub/shower combo and toilet, but was very narrow - someone with limited mobility might have had trouble with the bathroom, but it worked fine for me. The sink was located outside the bathroom area and had plenty of counter space. The bed was very comfortable and had nice linens.

One negative was the noise. The air conditioner was quite loud and made restful sleep difficult. However, when I shut it off, I could hear every word spoken by other guests in the hallways and adjoining rooms. They were not speaking loudly, there was just no soundproofing. I ended up settling for the noisy air conditioner because it drowned out the random noise from the hallway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property is located on the golf course and is about 1000ft from the beach (but is not a beachfront as is advertised). Otherwise this is a pretty standard Hampton Inn with few problems:
1. Windows are locked in majority of the rooms. This is especially offensive when you have a room with the ocean view. You come for a breeze and you get a room with locked windows - doesn't make sense. We asked the front desk to open windows but they refused giving us all kinds of ridiculous explanations from hurricane (nothing like that was in the forecast) to insurance reasons. We pointed out that we rent two rooms and in one of them windows open, still no effect. So we spend 3 nights in a room 308 with locked windows.
2. Staff is generally uninterested and not quite responsive: I have seen people turned down when they came for breakfast at 10:05 (breakfast ends at 10:00); One day we were in our room when they wanted to make it up, so we asked them to come back a little later - never happened even though we put out 'please, make up the room' tag.
3. It is in need of maintenance - floor lamp in our room didn't work, and shower head was leaking. Do not get me wrong - it isn’t bad, the place was renovated not long ago, but it needs attention which it isn't getting.

We booked it for a long weekend at the very last minute and still got a 20%+ discount, so for us it was acceptable. But generally I think it is way overpriced (rack rate in late August was $189 per night). Location however is excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Address: 118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina is situated across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to the Country Club of the Crystal Coast. The central location of the property makes this hotel the perfect place for work, play or both. The area is affectionately known as the "Crystal Coast" due to its miles of sparkling, crystalline waters and white sandy beaches. We're one of the few south facing beaches along the east coast, which sets the stage to spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean.Everything you can possibly want out of a seaside vacation is here. The waters are full of fish, dolphins and other sea critters just waiting to be caught and explored. Pine Knoll Shores Hotel are also convenient to several historic towns and cities, museums and outdoor activities. While you're here you can also tour the fully restored Civil War Fort Macon, the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and Historic Beaufort and New Bern, NC. The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach is four- stories and boast 109 well-appointed over-sized rooms. Tucked behind native Live Oaks, the property and guests can't be easily seen by passerby's. Each room features either one king or two double beds. Included in all rooms is a sleeper sofa, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar and work desk. The hotel also includes all the amenities and quality you've come to expect from Hampton, such as complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, complimentary local calls and no surcharge when using a calling card, complimentary premium movie channel and many other extras. Also, for our guest convenience we have an outdoor pool, fully-equipped on-site exercise room, business center and Suite Shop for those late night snack attacks. So come and enjoy the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach and see and experience all we have to offer. We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel Pine Knoll Shores
Hampton Inn Atlantic Beach
Amerisuites Indian Beach
Indian Beach Amerisuites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.