We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but issues with my room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Package
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but issues with my room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel that is up to contemporary standards (large flat screen tv, spacious room, nice outdoor pool, etc). It is about 3 miles down from the Atlantic Beach causeway and is pretty quiet. Very difficult to see the hotel sign however, any time the sun is setting. It is across the street from the beach, but a public access boardwalk is right across the street. The included breakfast was nice and the staff friendly. Room was kept fairly clean (tho I could tell the floor around the toilet had not been mopped - eeww.). My one main complaint was that the room I was given sat next to a small roof holding satellite dishes and a very bright floodlight pointed directly at the room window. The light seeped through the blackout curtain at night and was very annoying - especially if you'd like to sleep with ambient light from outside and be able to enjoy a sunrise or sunset from your room window. I asked for a room change but was told nothing was available. All the floodlight does is to spotlight part of the front wall of the hotel along a stretch of road that has almost no traffic at night. So, I must question why Hampton Inns would choose to spotlight their hotel for no reason over the comfort of its guests? BTW, the room was 222, so 322 and 422 are probably equally affected.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    84
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
143
103
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights for a work function. Room was spacious and comfortable - my room had two double beds with a large sectional sofa and desk in the living area - it could have easily accommodated my family of five if they had been traveling with me. The bathroom was a tight squeeze - it had a full size tub/shower combo and toilet, but was very narrow - someone with limited mobility might have had trouble with the bathroom, but it worked fine for me. The sink was located outside the bathroom area and had plenty of counter space. The bed was very comfortable and had nice linens.

One negative was the noise. The air conditioner was quite loud and made restful sleep difficult. However, when I shut it off, I could hear every word spoken by other guests in the hallways and adjoining rooms. They were not speaking loudly, there was just no soundproofing. I ended up settling for the noisy air conditioner because it drowned out the random noise from the hallway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property is located on the golf course and is about 1000ft from the beach (but is not a beachfront as is advertised). Otherwise this is a pretty standard Hampton Inn with few problems:
1. Windows are locked in majority of the rooms. This is especially offensive when you have a room with the ocean view. You come for a breeze and you get a room with locked windows - doesn't make sense. We asked the front desk to open windows but they refused giving us all kinds of ridiculous explanations from hurricane (nothing like that was in the forecast) to insurance reasons. We pointed out that we rent two rooms and in one of them windows open, still no effect. So we spend 3 nights in a room 308 with locked windows.
2. Staff is generally uninterested and not quite responsive: I have seen people turned down when they came for breakfast at 10:05 (breakfast ends at 10:00); One day we were in our room when they wanted to make it up, so we asked them to come back a little later - never happened even though we put out 'please, make up the room' tag.
3. It is in need of maintenance - floor lamp in our room didn't work, and shower head was leaking. Do not get me wrong - it isn’t bad, the place was renovated not long ago, but it needs attention which it isn't getting.

We booked it for a long weekend at the very last minute and still got a 20%+ discount, so for us it was acceptable. But generally I think it is way overpriced (rack rate in late August was $189 per night). Location however is excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Typically good H.I. Hotel. Located in Pine Knolls section of Emerald Isle. Very spacious room actuslly has a small sitting suite with s sectional couch , wtiting desk, and mini kitchen with wet sink microwave and fridge. Very comfortable for family of four over a long Labor Day weekend. Beach is only 50 yards away across the street. Excellent lication on a quiet strip if a very nice NC barrier island. A litle pricy in season. The $220 rate we had drops to only $110 tomorrow as summer season ends. It would be a BARGAIN at that price. Nice getaway and much more secluded than OBX we normally frequent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Clean non-moldy non smoking room, great breakfast, great pool, right across the road from the beach. We reserve a Q-Q-with a pull out couch -- these rooms have a mini fridge, sink and microwave which helps when the whole family is in one room. Shower/toilet is tight, but that is okay. Perfect place to stay when you are unsure of weather or time availability because you can cancel unlike a lot of the other hotels/motels on the beach. Depending on the type of reservation you have, you can reserve a room(s) with no worries -- and cancel if kids catch a cold, a school event conflicts, or the weather is wretched. We stay here often for this very reason, b/c more likely than not we do get to go to the beach as planned. Last time we stayed in a 4th floor room with an ocean view which may not be there much longer if they build across the way, but is terrific for now. Definitely recommend this hotel -- staff very nice, cookies in evening, popcorn in the afternoon and coffee/tea/hot cocoa all day. Nice holiday stay!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 3 days over an August weekend. Had a great time, very relaxing. Nice large, clean, new-looking rooms. The staff was very nice, pleasant, even though the hotel was full with a wedding group.
The beach is across the street, an easy 6-8 min walk. Have to cross the highway which can require a few minutes of patience at busy times.
Very family-oriented area, beach. No crowds at all.
The A/C unit short-cycled a lot at night, on/off every few minutes.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not really "ocean front", it's across the road. But still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed from Monday to Friday in August 2012. The room is clean with no signs of unwanted creatures. The room we stayed in (King, ocean view) had a microwave, "wet bar" sink and refrigerator, which was nice. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were terribly soft and unsupportive. The air conditioner was loud, but I'd seen/heard worse. It did its job and kept the room comfortable. We didn't use the sofabed, so I can't say how it was. There was no noise from outside, we could glimpse ocean from our room, and you could get to the beach just by walking off the property and across the street. I'd say it was about 500 feet away- definitely not a long walk!! Breakfasts were nice with a good selection of hot and cold items, plus there were bagged breakfasts consisting of a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar, bottle of water and mints for those who didn't have time to eat. They also kept coffee available all day. The front desk staff were nice and friendly.

The not so great things- they make very tiny towels available by the pool but some days they were gone by noon. It did not seem that they were replenished throughout the day. The touted "water pik" massaging showerhead was stuck on one position and could not be moved. The water must be extra soft or desalinated whereas the towels were rough. The worst was the housekeeping schedule. Housekeeping starts sometime around 8 a.m. One morning, we were up at 5 for a dive trip that got cancelled. We returned to the room and went back to bed. We left around noon- housekeeping carts were still on the floor. When we returned late that afternoon, the room had not been refreshed. When I inquired at the front desk, I was told that although housekeeping works until 3 p.m., if they pass your room while the Do Not Disturb sign is out, they won't come back. I have never heard of such a thing and was not impressed. So if you want to make sure your room is cleaned, leave early and stay out all afternoon.

There is no restaurant on site, but plenty of dining options within driving distance. Try the Blue Moon in Beafort and Mythos in Morehead City!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand that getting your room cleaned was an area of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Address: 118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina is situated across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to the Country Club of the Crystal Coast. The central location of the property makes this hotel the perfect place for work, play or both. The area is affectionately known as the "Crystal Coast" due to its miles of sparkling, crystalline waters and white sandy beaches. We're one of the few south facing beaches along the east coast, which sets the stage to spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean.Everything you can possibly want out of a seaside vacation is here. The waters are full of fish, dolphins and other sea critters just waiting to be caught and explored. Pine Knoll Shores Hotel are also convenient to several historic towns and cities, museums and outdoor activities. While you're here you can also tour the fully restored Civil War Fort Macon, the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and Historic Beaufort and New Bern, NC. The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach is four- stories and boast 109 well-appointed over-sized rooms. Tucked behind native Live Oaks, the property and guests can't be easily seen by passerby's. Each room features either one king or two double beds. Included in all rooms is a sleeper sofa, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar and work desk. The hotel also includes all the amenities and quality you've come to expect from Hampton, such as complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, complimentary local calls and no surcharge when using a calling card, complimentary premium movie channel and many other extras. Also, for our guest convenience we have an outdoor pool, fully-equipped on-site exercise room, business center and Suite Shop for those late night snack attacks. So come and enjoy the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach and see and experience all we have to offer. We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel Pine Knoll Shores
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn Atlantic Beach
Amerisuites Indian Beach
Indian Beach Amerisuites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.