We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NC Aquarium Package
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“excellent location, mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property is located on the golf course and is about 1000ft from the beach (but is not a beachfront as is advertised). Otherwise this is a pretty standard Hampton Inn with few problems:
1. Windows are locked in majority of the rooms. This is especially offensive when you have a room with the ocean view. You come for a breeze and you get a room with locked windows - doesn't make sense. We asked the front desk to open windows but they refused giving us all kinds of ridiculous explanations from hurricane (nothing like that was in the forecast) to insurance reasons. We pointed out that we rent two rooms and in one of them windows open, still no effect. So we spend 3 nights in a room 308 with locked windows.
2. Staff is generally uninterested and not quite responsive: I have seen people turned down when they came for breakfast at 10:05 (breakfast ends at 10:00); One day we were in our room when they wanted to make it up, so we asked them to come back a little later - never happened even though we put out 'please, make up the room' tag.
3. It is in need of maintenance - floor lamp in our room didn't work, and shower head was leaking. Do not get me wrong - it isn’t bad, the place was renovated not long ago, but it needs attention which it isn't getting.

We booked it for a long weekend at the very last minute and still got a 20%+ discount, so for us it was acceptable. But generally I think it is way overpriced (rack rate in late August was $189 per night). Location however is excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    61
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
89
60
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Typically good H.I. Hotel. Located in Pine Knolls section of Emerald Isle. Very spacious room actuslly has a small sitting suite with s sectional couch , wtiting desk, and mini kitchen with wet sink microwave and fridge. Very comfortable for family of four over a long Labor Day weekend. Beach is only 50 yards away across the street. Excellent lication on a quiet strip if a very nice NC barrier island. A litle pricy in season. The $220 rate we had drops to only $110 tomorrow as summer season ends. It would be a BARGAIN at that price. Nice getaway and much more secluded than OBX we normally frequent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Clean non-moldy non smoking room, great breakfast, great pool, right across the road from the beach. We reserve a Q-Q-with a pull out couch -- these rooms have a mini fridge, sink and microwave which helps when the whole family is in one room. Shower/toilet is tight, but that is okay. Perfect place to stay when you are unsure of weather or time availability because you can cancel unlike a lot of the other hotels/motels on the beach. Depending on the type of reservation you have, you can reserve a room(s) with no worries -- and cancel if kids catch a cold, a school event conflicts, or the weather is wretched. We stay here often for this very reason, b/c more likely than not we do get to go to the beach as planned. Last time we stayed in a 4th floor room with an ocean view which may not be there much longer if they build across the way, but is terrific for now. Definitely recommend this hotel -- staff very nice, cookies in evening, popcorn in the afternoon and coffee/tea/hot cocoa all day. Nice holiday stay!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 3 days over an August weekend. Had a great time, very relaxing. Nice large, clean, new-looking rooms. The staff was very nice, pleasant, even though the hotel was full with a wedding group.
The beach is across the street, an easy 6-8 min walk. Have to cross the highway which can require a few minutes of patience at busy times.
Very family-oriented area, beach. No crowds at all.
The A/C unit short-cycled a lot at night, on/off every few minutes.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not really "ocean front", it's across the road. But still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed from Monday to Friday in August 2012. The room is clean with no signs of unwanted creatures. The room we stayed in (King, ocean view) had a microwave, "wet bar" sink and refrigerator, which was nice. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were terribly soft and unsupportive. The air conditioner was loud, but I'd seen/heard worse. It did its job and kept the room comfortable. We didn't use the sofabed, so I can't say how it was. There was no noise from outside, we could glimpse ocean from our room, and you could get to the beach just by walking off the property and across the street. I'd say it was about 500 feet away- definitely not a long walk!! Breakfasts were nice with a good selection of hot and cold items, plus there were bagged breakfasts consisting of a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar, bottle of water and mints for those who didn't have time to eat. They also kept coffee available all day. The front desk staff were nice and friendly.

The not so great things- they make very tiny towels available by the pool but some days they were gone by noon. It did not seem that they were replenished throughout the day. The touted "water pik" massaging showerhead was stuck on one position and could not be moved. The water must be extra soft or desalinated whereas the towels were rough. The worst was the housekeeping schedule. Housekeeping starts sometime around 8 a.m. One morning, we were up at 5 for a dive trip that got cancelled. We returned to the room and went back to bed. We left around noon- housekeeping carts were still on the floor. When we returned late that afternoon, the room had not been refreshed. When I inquired at the front desk, I was told that although housekeeping works until 3 p.m., if they pass your room while the Do Not Disturb sign is out, they won't come back. I have never heard of such a thing and was not impressed. So if you want to make sure your room is cleaned, leave early and stay out all afternoon.

There is no restaurant on site, but plenty of dining options within driving distance. Try the Blue Moon in Beafort and Mythos in Morehead City!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand that getting your room cleaned was an area of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to stay here for 3 nights after reading some nice reviews here. We are a bit disapointed. We are used to stay in Hilton hotels and this was our first time in an Hampton Inn. Well, breakfast is OK, not as good as in other hotels; the air conditioner didn't work well: much noise, and everything was always "wet" (clothes); it wasn't very clean: pop corn was everywhere on the foor. Well, people is nice, the room was big and you can have coffee or tea anytime. It is not at the beach; you have to cross the street to go to the beach and the hotel doesn't provide you anything for it. We decided to stay there because we waned to visit Beaufort and to see the lighthouse in Capelookout, but if we go again, we would stay in another place. When we left we drove in Emerald island and it looks nicer there.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We have worked with our maintenance team to ensure that our air conditioning units are up to standard. I again apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July. It is located across from beach access on Hwy 58. No driving to the beach access. Walk out of the hotel, cross the road and there is public access right there. Plus, the beach was not crowded at all and it was clean.

We paid for ocean view and while we could see the ocean, keep in mind the hotel is not right on the beach. The hotel has an outdoor shower area by the pool. Hot breakfast every morning and a large lounge area to relax in. I hung out in the lounge area while the family napped.

It was a bit on the steep side in terms of price, but it was peak season and the other amenities were nice. We will go back!

Room Tip: ocean view may not be worth the price since you are actually about 1/4 mile from the water itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel Pine Knoll Shores
Hampton Inn Atlantic Beach
Amerisuites Indian Beach
Indian Beach Amerisuites
Address: 118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina is situated across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to the Country Club of the Crystal Coast. The central location of the property makes this hotel the perfect place for work, play or both. The area is affectionately known as the "Crystal Coast" due to its miles of sparkling, crystalline waters and white sandy beaches. We're one of the few south facing beaches along the east coast, which sets the stage to spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean.Everything you can possibly want out of a seaside vacation is here. The waters are full of fish, dolphins and other sea critters just waiting to be caught and explored. Pine Knoll Shores Hotel are also convenient to several historic towns and cities, museums and outdoor activities. While you're here you can also tour the fully restored Civil War Fort Macon, the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and Historic Beaufort and New Bern, NC. The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach is four- stories and boast 109 well-appointed over-sized rooms. Tucked behind native Live Oaks, the property and guests can't be easily seen by passerby's. Each room features either one king or two double beds. Included in all rooms is a sleeper sofa, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar and work desk. The hotel also includes all the amenities and quality you've come to expect from Hampton, such as complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, complimentary local calls and no surcharge when using a calling card, complimentary premium movie channel and many other extras. Also, for our guest convenience we have an outdoor pool, fully-equipped on-site exercise room, business center and Suite Shop for those late night snack attacks. So come and enjoy the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach and see and experience all we have to offer. We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.