We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Beach, Large Clean, New Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NC Aquarium Package
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Beach, Large Clean, New Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 3 days over an August weekend. Had a great time, very relaxing. Nice large, clean, new-looking rooms. The staff was very nice, pleasant, even though the hotel was full with a wedding group.
The beach is across the street, an easy 6-8 min walk. Have to cross the highway which can require a few minutes of patience at busy times.
Very family-oriented area, beach. No crowds at all.
The A/C unit short-cycled a lot at night, on/off every few minutes.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not really "ocean front", it's across the road. But still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    70
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
113
74
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed from Monday to Friday in August 2012. The room is clean with no signs of unwanted creatures. The room we stayed in (King, ocean view) had a microwave, "wet bar" sink and refrigerator, which was nice. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were terribly soft and unsupportive. The air conditioner was loud, but I'd seen/heard worse. It did its job and kept the room comfortable. We didn't use the sofabed, so I can't say how it was. There was no noise from outside, we could glimpse ocean from our room, and you could get to the beach just by walking off the property and across the street. I'd say it was about 500 feet away- definitely not a long walk!! Breakfasts were nice with a good selection of hot and cold items, plus there were bagged breakfasts consisting of a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar, bottle of water and mints for those who didn't have time to eat. They also kept coffee available all day. The front desk staff were nice and friendly.

The not so great things- they make very tiny towels available by the pool but some days they were gone by noon. It did not seem that they were replenished throughout the day. The touted "water pik" massaging showerhead was stuck on one position and could not be moved. The water must be extra soft or desalinated whereas the towels were rough. The worst was the housekeeping schedule. Housekeeping starts sometime around 8 a.m. One morning, we were up at 5 for a dive trip that got cancelled. We returned to the room and went back to bed. We left around noon- housekeeping carts were still on the floor. When we returned late that afternoon, the room had not been refreshed. When I inquired at the front desk, I was told that although housekeeping works until 3 p.m., if they pass your room while the Do Not Disturb sign is out, they won't come back. I have never heard of such a thing and was not impressed. So if you want to make sure your room is cleaned, leave early and stay out all afternoon.

There is no restaurant on site, but plenty of dining options within driving distance. Try the Blue Moon in Beafort and Mythos in Morehead City!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand that getting your room cleaned was an area of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to stay here for 3 nights after reading some nice reviews here. We are a bit disapointed. We are used to stay in Hilton hotels and this was our first time in an Hampton Inn. Well, breakfast is OK, not as good as in other hotels; the air conditioner didn't work well: much noise, and everything was always "wet" (clothes); it wasn't very clean: pop corn was everywhere on the foor. Well, people is nice, the room was big and you can have coffee or tea anytime. It is not at the beach; you have to cross the street to go to the beach and the hotel doesn't provide you anything for it. We decided to stay there because we waned to visit Beaufort and to see the lighthouse in Capelookout, but if we go again, we would stay in another place. When we left we drove in Emerald island and it looks nicer there.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwade88, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We have worked with our maintenance team to ensure that our air conditioning units are up to standard. I again apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July. It is located across from beach access on Hwy 58. No driving to the beach access. Walk out of the hotel, cross the road and there is public access right there. Plus, the beach was not crowded at all and it was clean.

We paid for ocean view and while we could see the ocean, keep in mind the hotel is not right on the beach. The hotel has an outdoor shower area by the pool. Hot breakfast every morning and a large lounge area to relax in. I hung out in the lounge area while the family napped.

It was a bit on the steep side in terms of price, but it was peak season and the other amenities were nice. We will go back!

Room Tip: ocean view may not be worth the price since you are actually about 1/4 mile from the water itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel kept popcorn for the guest but didn't really bother to keep it swept off the floor and out of the elevator. Rooms were fine but the air conditioner in our room was extremely loud. Did like the breakfast bags they kept on the front desk in the mornings that you could grab and go. Staff was friendly. Beach access to far away and it was just easier to drive 2 miles down the road and park at a nicer access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This a really nice Hampton Inn. The rooms are all suites with a small kitchen and sofa bed. The hotel is right acros the street from a beach access so the walk to the beach is fairly short. The beach is really nice and uncrowded. Great bed, very large TV, and a great exercise room. This is a great place to use your HiltonHonors points for a weekend at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great service, fantastic breakfast. Loved the furnishings, outside pool and service. Suites are great with refrigerators and microwaves. Nice work area with desk and office chair. Walk across the street to the beach. Beautiful views on the sound side.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach

Address: 118 Salter Path Road, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina is situated across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to the Country Club of the Crystal Coast. The central location of the property makes this hotel the perfect place for work, play or both. The area is affectionately known as the "Crystal Coast" due to its miles of sparkling, crystalline waters and white sandy beaches. We're one of the few south facing beaches along the east coast, which sets the stage to spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean.Everything you can possibly want out of a seaside vacation is here. The waters are full of fish, dolphins and other sea critters just waiting to be caught and explored. Pine Knoll Shores Hotel are also convenient to several historic towns and cities, museums and outdoor activities. While you're here you can also tour the fully restored Civil War Fort Macon, the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and Historic Beaufort and New Bern, NC. The Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach is four- stories and boast 109 well-appointed over-sized rooms. Tucked behind native Live Oaks, the property and guests can't be easily seen by passerby's. Each room features either one king or two double beds. Included in all rooms is a sleeper sofa, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar and work desk. The hotel also includes all the amenities and quality you've come to expect from Hampton, such as complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, complimentary local calls and no surcharge when using a calling card, complimentary premium movie channel and many other extras. Also, for our guest convenience we have an outdoor pool, fully-equipped on-site exercise room, business center and Suite Shop for those late night snack attacks. So come and enjoy the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach and see and experience all we have to offer. We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach in North Carolina! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach Hotel Pine Knoll Shores
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn Atlantic Beach
Amerisuites Indian Beach
Indian Beach Amerisuites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.