We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Science Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misawa Aviation & Science Museum

Misawa Aviation & Science Museum
158 Kitayama, Misawa, Misawa, Aomori Prefecture 033-0022 , Japan
+81 176-50-7777
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Misawa
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Bath, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Science Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a positively top-tier science museum. It has hands on and well crafted exhibits so that the concepts are incredibly understandable. It is a must-see! It has many simulators and so much to do. Perfect for teens, and teens are free. 500 yen for adults is a real steal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went by myself by hitch hiking a ride. Walking in i have to say it is very well kept and very modern looking. There are a lot of hands on exhibits that teach you science. The kids for sure would love it with all the hands on experiments you can try.

When i was there they had a special exhibit with a Japanese Zero and a salvage aircraft that was submerged in water (another Japanese WWII plane, didn't get the model). Definitely a must if you are in Misawa.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Misawa Aviation & Science Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This museum is huge. So many hands-on exhibits and tons to see and play with. Of particular interest to my two-year-old was the actual airplane cabin that you can go inside. I found the experiment section upstairs to be the most interesting. There was a platform you can stand on that holds your weight using super strong magnets! Very cool place for a rainy day, or even a nice one - there is a playground and some aircraft you can walk around outside!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Had a great time with our young daughters (aged 2 and 4), we enjoyed the variety of the science exhibits, rides, simulators, and the opportunity to sit in the cockpits of the airplanes (especially the old UP-3) outside. The airplane park outside was free of charge but was just as exciting as the museum. The indoor and outdoor playgrounds were also fun for the little ones.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to take your little ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

On a cold snowy day in Misawa, I recommend you take your kids to the aviation and space museum. It's a lot of fun for all ages. The older kids will like playing with the hands on science toys and the little ones will enjoy the children's playroom. If it's a pretty day, you can also take the kids outside at the little park. Fun day for everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misawa Aviation & Science Museum also viewed

 
Misawa, Aomori Prefecture
Misawa, Aomori Prefecture
 

Been to Misawa Aviation & Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misawa Aviation & Science Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Misawa Aviation & Science Museum to your Saves list