We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Onsen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoshino Resort Aomoriya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hoshino Resort Aomoriya to your Saves list
Hoshino Resort Aomoriya
Ryokan
  |   56 Furumakiyama, Misawa, Aomori Prefecture 033-0044, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels / Ryokan in Misawa
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Onsen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Aomoriya Komaki-Onsen showcases a truly Japanese culture of bathing and relaxing in hot springs. (Onsens are a big domestic tourism destination, but for a foreigner, this practice can be intimidating at first.) With enough courage though, I was able to overcome hesitation and soon after I started to enjoy the total relaxing feeling of skinny dipping in the indoor 42-degree hot spring. Then, I dipped in the outdoor onsen and experienced the soothing feeling of mixed cold airon my face and hot bath on my body.

Aomoriya facilities are highlighted by luxurious space (approx 12 tatami size) of the bedroom and fantastic view outside the window of a small lake and tall trees. Landscaping is simply adorable. The outdoor onsen provides a very nice view of the surroundings while maintaining a certain privacy for the guests. It looks much better at night with beautiful colored lighting that accentuates the beauty of the landscape.

I enjoyed the delicious meals provided by the resort especially the full-course dinner of sukiyaki, mixed sushi, sashimi, tempura and miso soup with salmon and prawns. Rich Japanese traditions can be witnessed by guests at the 1st floor where a cultural show of drum-beating and singing is regular shown. I was able to taste the famed Hachinohe Ramen with seafood-based soup, and I must say it is one of the better tasting ramens I have tried during my last trip - light thin soup with tender and tasty chashu and nori.

Given a chance to return to Misawa, I would like to visit this resort again. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the lake and small forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    99
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
98
35
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Interior decor: Japanese culturally stylish lobby featuring local arts. Guest room was average. Decor in onsen area was superb!!
Exterior appearance: A major resort and huge real estate in city of Misawa. Instantly recognizable. Rich Japanese gardens with plenty to explore by foot. Not as maintained as what I would expect from such luxurious settings.
View from the room I stayed: Residential areas of Misawa - average
Onsen: Excellent - both indoor and outdoor baths for the water quality, the mood, the landscape, and amenities like hair tonic, aftershave, high quality shampoo and conditioner. There is actually another great quality onsen called "Motoyu" about 5 minutes walk from the main building of the hotel - that one was also superb!
Services: Excellent - These staffs know how to treat guests personally! Very culturally rich shamisen entertainment at night! Courtesy van ride from the Misawa train station.
Room size: Average
Room quality: Plain and not exciting. Didn't sleep well as I would have liked to.
Price value: Adequate pricing.
Bed: Plain and average.

Request to the hotel management: If you could take care and manicure all the land surrounding the hotel buildings such as pavement of the roadways, gardens, and vacant buildings for more beautification, then I would rate this property as "5" excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were in Misawa for a week and decided to explore the are. If you're trying to do the same thing, you know it's such a hassle finding places and things to do through all the Japanese websites and maps. I would definitely recommend this place. It's located right behind the Misawa train station. We didn't stay there so this review is just for the Onsen part.

The onsen is open daily 9:00 to 24:00. No mixed gender baths (if you want one of those, drive for a couple of hours to Sukayu). There was a 1,200yen entrance fee. they have towels, shampoo, conditioner, soap, face cream, cue-tips and hair brushes inside for free. The washing room is definitely the most relaxing part. For me it was the first time I washed myself sitting down looking in a mirror! There's a little chair and a bowl at each stand. You can adjust the water temperature. Read onsen guides if you're a first timer like I was.

They have an indoor bath which is all wooden and the room has high ceiling and very low lit so it's very calming. The outdoor bath is separated from the men's side by a wooden fence so it's completely private. You have a nice view of a waterfall and beautiful foliage and if you go to the edge of the pool you can watch the colorful koi fish swimming in the lake.

Take your time, relax and maybe get a massage when you come out.

We didn't try any of the restaurants there. They have a shop right outside that sells all sorts of souvenir, and food as well as hair and face products.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

(This review is for the onsen itself, though the hotel was beautiful, well-kept, and the staff were exceedingly helpful in assisting lost tourists to the onsen!)

First off, location to finding the onsen was a little tricky. directions to the general area were easy enough (just past the misawa train station), but that general area (other than the komaki resort) was a bit confusing. there was an area for onsen parking, but no distinguishable markings to lead you to an onsen entrance. My husband and I walked further to the right of the resort and found the onsen symbol on a building that looked fairly run-down and out of commission, which it sure enough was. We finally decided to go to the hotel lobby, where they quickly directed us to a down escalator.

The "foyer" to the onsen was beautiful - the floats and little shops/restaurants in the hotel's lower level (where the onsen is located via escalator) are bright, inviting, and colorful. The cashier to the onsen was very helpful - our japanese was terrible so thankfully his english was good. We payed our money, got our towels (btw, towels are extra, though he didn't charge us this first time), and went our separate ways: men to the left, women to the right.

The changing/locker room was SO clean, well-kept, organized. there were lockers to one wall, aisles with large wicker baskets for your goods, and a wall of sinks and mirrors. You take your shoes off as soon as you get to the entrance, and proceed on in. After undressing, you head into the bath area, where you're welcomed by two large bathing pools, one clearly labeled Hot Water (42º), the other Tepid Water (39º, if memory serves me correctly). High ceilings, and to the edge of the pools (which lay side by side) are floor to ceiling windows opened part-way on each side to allow steam out/fresh cool air in. You have a beautiful view of their secluded koi pond and the open air hot bath area outside with a little fountain, and the entire area is secluded in it's own private garden.

The rest of the interior is comprised of an ample amount of bathing stations (soap, shampoo, and water buckets provided), where you wash up prior to entering the baths. It IS important to note that women should tie up long hair into a bun, so as not to get their hair into the baths. Shower caps are also available (free). The water is fantastic, and to each his/her own comfortable water temperature.

As you step outside, you'll see a walking shallow entrance to the outdoor open air hot bath. The combination of cool crisp air and hot water was perfect, as was the sound of the water fountain and the vista and koi fish. Privacy is no issue - the men's baths are adjacent but completely separated by privacy fences. Aside from the three hot baths, there is also a smaller, bathtub size area for cold water (it IS cold!), and it felt nice switching back and forth across the three temperatures. There's also an entrance to a sauna, very nice, very hot, but not really my thing.

After you're done (there's no time limits, you could stay till closing if you wanted), you wash up again, dry off, return to the changing room, and get dressed. Hair dryers are available, and I was told by my husband that they do have razors on the men's side. Lotion and other goodies are also there (my husband was raving about their hair oil, lol).

Overall this was an excellent and relaxing first-time experience with an onsen. I definitely enjoyed it (as soon as I got over my own personal hesitations about running around in the nude amongst other nude women). I recommend it for a nice, no-pressure first experience for any onsen!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Bright and impressed reception and lobby area. Hotel has 4 towers of guest rooms and a big park with beautiful lake. The outdoor onsen is fantastic and the local buffet dinner is great too. I also enjoyed their performance at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoshino Resort Aomoriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoshino Resort Aomoriya

Address: 56 Furumakiyama, Misawa, Aomori Prefecture 033-0044, Japan
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Aomori Prefecture > Misawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels / Ryokan in Misawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Rakuten so you can book your Hoshino Resort Aomoriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoshino Resort Aomoriya Hotel Misawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoshino Resort Aomoriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.