We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personalised wine tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours

Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours
Via Magellano, 19, 37024 Negrar, Italy
+39 3491579090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Negrar
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wine tours in Valpolicella, the Amarone Country, Soave, Bardolino and other Veronese wine regions with Pagus tour leaders and guides.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent personalised wine tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited two vineyards in the region. One larger distributer and one small family run vineyard. Both were great experiences with lovely wines and charming hosts. We were not pressured to buy the wine, but it was so good we could not resist. Davide is very knowledgable and great company and was able to maintain our interest from pick up to drop off, despite being pleasantly tipsy by the end. I would definitely make sure you have eaten first. We love our wine and found this tour to be at an excellent standard. Davide speaks great English and his tours are far more enjoyable than big group ones.

Worth every penny and an experience my partner and I will always remember. If you love Italy, culture and wine book this tour. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour, great people in a beautiful area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Davide was so responsive and willing to create a tour that met our needs. Alessandro, was our tour guide and extremely knowledgeable about wine and the area. This is such a great way to visit the area without the stress of driving. We were able to relax and go to places we might have never come upon. The information, company, food and wine experience was wonderful. We were welcomed and experienced great meals and wine from very passionate people from the area. It was an amazing experience and well worth the money.
Thank you to all those we encountered planning and on our tour! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible tour with great food, wine and company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Allesandro was our tour guide. He picked us up from the train station in Verona and showed us the beauty/history of the surrounding areas. He was very knowledgeable of the area and the manner the wines are produced in this region. He took us to a very good restaurant where the Chef catered to our table and fed us many delightful courses with wines from this region. We met several wine makers at smaller craft wineries and even had a few bottles shipped back to us in the States. I would highly recommend this wine tour as it was a great value for the level of service we received.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Charming with Davide and His Father”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel on time and we shared the afternoon with a Swedish couple, who were just great. Davide gave us the history of the area as we drove to the first winery, Tommasi. It was a large winery by the standards of the area, bottled in excess of 1 million bottles, with acreage of 330 acres of grapes. The winery was nice and clean and it was very nice to see all of what was being done through the process of making wine as the harvest of the grapes had just finished the day before and therefore each step of wine making was being done at the winery. The tour guide was a little curt at times, but for the most part enjoyable. The wines were nice and fruity for the most part. The 2nd winery was a small winery and I thought much more enjoyable, due to the more personal approach by our host. She was part of the family that owned the winery for the last 5 generations, very polite and charming. The wines werre also good and fruity, and she poured really as much as you wanted to taste for the price of the tasting. I suggested due to my enjoying the smaller winery to Davide to see the smaller wineries, not the more commercial ones. The setting of the smaller one was great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience in the calssic area of Valpolicella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

4 hours of pleasure! Davide and his father pick us up at the hotel on time and the tour to Valpolicella was to brief us about the area. Visits to two different cellars, Allegrini and San Rustico in the classic region was a pure delight. The history of the cellars and the winemaking gave us an understanding of what we had been drinking all these years :-). Now we know the difference between, "classico", "superiore", "ripasso", "amarone" and "reicioto" and the different combinations og these labels. We also know a lot more about the different grapes that make the wines so special. DOC, DOCG - and lot more - made us feel like wine experts after only 4 hours. Can you ask for more?
Jon and Anna

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Negrar, Province of Verona
 
San Pietro in Cariano, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tours to your Saves list