We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place this is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouxwil Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Save
You added Rouxwil Country House to your Saves list
Near turn off to Greyton and Helderstroom, Caledon 7230, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Caledon B&B and Inns
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“What a great place this is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Rouxwil Country House during our 3-week South African holiday this month and we thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

We'd strongly support all the positive reviews of the farm on Tripadvisor - this really is one of the top 2 or 3 B&Bs we've ever stayed in. This opinion has been endorsed by Thys and O'nel winning for the second consecutive year the 'Country House' section of the AA Travel Guides American Express Accommodation Awards in Durban in 2011 (O'nel returned from receiving the award during our stay!). Thoroughly well deserved in our opinion.

Thys and O'nel are charming and engaging company with encyclopaedic local knowledge and great commitment to giving their guests a top-quality stay. We particularly enjoyed the farm tour given by Thys, who explained how his seed-planting machines were working while driving us alongside them across the field in a 4x4, and we also learned rather more than we expected about the modern technology of sheep breeding!

The rooms are spacious and extremely well decorated and equipped, and the views across the rolling grasslands are stupendous; the farm is very peaceful at night. We recommend both breakfasts and dinners, and they have a good selection of very reasonably priced wines (especially we recommend the nearby Robertson Valley products).

Rouxwil is well situated for pleasant 30-40' drives to both Hermanus and Franshhoek, so this fitted perfectly with our intended itinerary between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

There are no TVs in the rooms, which we rather approved of (there is one in the guest sitting room), and there's no wifi internet. We did have good mobile phone reception, however.

Do go - we guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We will certainly be back for our third visit as soon as we can, we love it here. Thys and O'Nel are wonderful hosts and the farm has the most wonderful rooms with everything you could possibly ask for at a B & B. We stayed for 4 nights, including Valentines Day, and O'Nel made the evening very special with a superb dinner. The river trip was great fun, and very different from our trip round the farm the previous year, we will definitely be back and hope that we will be able to get a booking, because with all the praise this B & B is getting, it may well be difficult to book. M & A

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Just returned from our 3rd stay at Rouxwil and each stay, if possible, just gets better and better.What makes it so special is the welcome, care and friendliness given by O'Nel and Thys. It is a very special place - they gave us a magical last evening in SA by taking all the guests down the river for a bbq on their pontoon - we were surrounded by the noises of an african night with all the stars and the moon reflecting on the river - what a wonderful memory to go home with and it makes us long to return again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We have been staying here for a few years now, and think of Thys & O'nel as friends. They are a charming couple and will do everything possible to make your stay a happy one. The rooms a very spacious with A/C , double showers and washbasins. Also an outside shower.Breakfast and dinner are taken at the farmhouse, and all the food is delicious. The position is quite remote with superb views , so it is nice not to have to drive for dinner.
This is a working farm, and we find it very interesting to talk with Thys about his crops and sheep etc. He will also do a farm tour and sundowners on the nearby river. An absolute delight.
This is the ideal place to relax and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Everything was first class and Thys and O"nel were charming hosts. They looked after the four of us so well and we would recommend this lovely little piece of heaven to anyone looking for tranquility and friendship. A great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

If you are looking for a few days of total relaxation and comfort, enjoy exellent food and good company then I would not hesitate to recommend Rouxwil. O'Nel and Thys are everything good hosts should be. The accommodation is spacious and spotlessly clean. My wife and I have just returned from our second visit. We will definately return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

They don't crow about it, but Rouxwil have just been voted Best Farm Accomodation in South Africa. Its difficult to imagine how anwhere could possibly be better. This is the third time Maggie and I have stayed at Rouxwil, and everybody we have met there has been before. That says it all. Superlatives abound on these reviews, but believe them. This is THE place to stay in the Western Cape. Rouxwil is a haven of luxury and tranquility. The food that O'Nel produces every evening is top notch with a terrific selection of local wines, served by your other genial host Thys - who somehow finds time to take you on farm tours, boat trips and fire up your quad bike as well as running the farm. Its wonderful - we'll definitely be back next year

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Address: Near turn off to Greyton and Helderstroom, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rouxwil Country House Caledon, Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouxwil Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.